We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
Ranked #59 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The only bad thing I have to say about this hotel is that they don't give free WIFI, which is pretty much standard in hotels these days.. especially for the price we paid per night. It was in a really good location though. Just 5 minutes away is Promenade des Anglais, the beach, the shopping street Jean-Medicin, and all popular downtown areas. Vieux-Nice is 15 minutes away by foot. The rooms were clean and a decent size...Breakfast isn't included but there are many cheap restaurants all around.. or markets if you want to make your own food (there is a fridge in the room). Nice is a really beautiful place and this is a good place to stay when you're there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantharaesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us. I was delighted to know you enjoyed our city and our hotel !
Breakfast is complimentary providing you book directly with us by email or on our official website and you stay at least 3 nights
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future
have a splendid evening

michel Tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    233
    66
    22
    9
See reviews for
80
233
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in Nice at the hotel Gounod for a price which I must admit did the placer justice. with use of the facilities (and I personally used the sporting plage via the hotel - 18 euros a stop) it was a prime location take a right when leaving the hotel and head down the road and you hit the beach.
Excellent restaurants in the local area, the hotel splendid, not everyones cup of tea but, i enjoyed it. but my favourite restaurant was Don Coreleone's which is right around the corner from the hotel on the opposite side of the road to the Splendide

If you feel like relaxing or realise that the beach is not good for too long a stay, plenty of things happen to pique your interest. But the hotel staff are always friendly and welcoming to anyone who visits. I say go for it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfootinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others - and ourselves - know about your stay with us. It was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the Gounod...and our area which indeed has a lot to offer and not only the beaches
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
have a splendid day

michel Tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked a holiday to nice for a short getaway and mainly booked this hotel to use the pool facilities but we were pleasantly suprised by hotel Gounod

Our room was on the ground floor but was safe, spotless and perfectly in keeping with nice and it's French history

Could not fault the hotel or it's staff - friendly and helpful at any hour

Would definately visit again!

Thank you hotel Gounod for an extremely enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others...and ourselves, know about your stay with us
I was delighted you enjoyed the hotel and your stay in Nice; it is indeed a big added value for Gounod's clients to be able to enjoy the pool and heated whirlpool bath on top of our next door sister hotel, the Splendid Hotel & Spa
Again thank you very much for your kind comments; we all look forward to welcoming you again

have a splendid evening

michel Tschann - gm shinhotels@hotmail.fr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Gounod in two rooms for 7 nights. The building facade and entrance is beautiful. The rooms were rather spacious and charming, though they could need some renovation. One of our rooms had two bathrooms and a sleeping sofa in addition to a double bed, suitable for two adults and a child. The room was quiet facing a small backyard, but had no view. The other room had a lovely french balcony towards the street. The staff was helpful and friendly, especially the lady in the breakfast room. We also appreciated the outdoor swimming pool and roof restaurant at Hotel Splendid. We really enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us. We were all delighted that you appreciated your stay and that you also used the facilities of our sister hotel the Splendid Hotel & Spa NIce with its wonderful swimming pool
I hope you also enjoyed our city and our French Riviera
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and thank you again for your comments
have a NICE evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a good price for what was provided. Standard rooms and breakfast. Good walking distance to the train station and the promenade for those not wanting to take a taxi. Staff was accomodating. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNMS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us and I was delighted to know you enjoyed our hotel and our city.. and that you intended to stay again with us
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Gounod and our city
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#40 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Hotel Aria
#21 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel les Cigales
#43 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
La Malmaison Nice
#61 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Property: Hotel Gounod Nice
Address: 3 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tv. Gounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing