We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
Ranked #63 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    242
    72
    22
    10
See reviews for
85
245
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Gounod in two rooms for 7 nights. The building facade and entrance is beautiful. The rooms were rather spacious and charming, though they could need some renovation. One of our rooms had two bathrooms and a sleeping sofa in addition to a double bed, suitable for two adults and a child. The room was quiet facing a small backyard, but had no view. The other room had a lovely french balcony towards the street. The staff was helpful and friendly, especially the lady in the breakfast room. We also appreciated the outdoor swimming pool and roof restaurant at Hotel Splendid. We really enjoyed our stay, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us. We were all delighted that you appreciated your stay and that you also used the facilities of our sister hotel the Splendid Hotel & Spa NIce with its wonderful swimming pool
I hope you also enjoyed our city and our French Riviera
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and thank you again for your comments
have a NICE evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a good price for what was provided. Standard rooms and breakfast. Good walking distance to the train station and the promenade for those not wanting to take a taxi. Staff was accomodating. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNMS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us and I was delighted to know you enjoyed our hotel and our city.. and that you intended to stay again with us
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Gounod and our city
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Location was decent, service was english speaking, friendly and efficient. Rooms were surprisingly acceptable and the wifi was fast and strong, although I had to pay for it (but it was provided by Orange France which meant I could use it across all their hotspots). For the price, I'd recommend this hotel for basic needs if you don't intend to spend much time in your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sting800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Gounod for two nights. We had the twin rooms near the reception with the most comfortable double beds I've had on my entire overseas trip :) The room was big, clean and recently refurbished although there was a minor repair needed in the bathroom and the shower is a bit awkward. Thankfully there are more than one door within the room which can be closed to block out the sounds of the busy reception area.

The location is easy to find and within walking distance of the train station or the beach. I didn't get to try the shared facilities of the Splendid Hotel but my friend mentioned that they were great. Staff were friendly as expected. I would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us
I was delighted to know you enjoyed that stay, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future
let me know if I can be of any further help
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is conveniently located between the train station and the seashore and only about 15 minutes from the airport by taxi.

The building looks nice from the outside and the receptionists were all very friendly and polite.
The room itself was quite old.
The bed was clean and comfortable but the bathroom is in need of renovation. However the bathroom was clean but just old with some rosty items.

If you look for a good bed to sleep at reasonable rates in Nice, I can recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Giappo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed at the Gounod for four days in may, and were pleased with the hotel in general. It is within 10 minutes walk to both the promenade and the train station. The hotel is quite old with very few services, but pleasant nonetheless. We had a triple room that had seen better days but was fine for our needs. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel on the Riviera then this is not for you. If on the other hand you are looking for a hotel with some comfort, a decent breakfast, and the ability to use the hotel Splendid next door for it's outdoor roof top pool, then this would be an okay choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#50 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Hotel les Cigales
#49 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#19 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Hotel Aria
#24 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#38 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Property: Hotel Gounod Nice
Address: 3 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tv. Gounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing