We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A NICE place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
Ranked #61 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A NICE place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

The hotel has the total French feel about it. It's not posh but clean and you are cared for by the very pleasant staff. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was very enjoyable. Our break in June was made all the better for staying here, compared to other hotels we have used. The saying 'You get what you pay for' is true and this place is a bargain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
bonjour thanks a lot for your kind comments; we were delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again
When you come again, please do not hesitate to let me know personnally
have a wonderful day and a very happy new year

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    236
    70
    22
    9
See reviews for
82
238
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Hotel Gounod was the right choice for the right price. Our stay at the end of November was the off-season, thus making it very affordable for the location a 4 blocks from the sea. Keep in mind that you get what you pay for, so keep your expectations reasonable as you likely look for this hotel in search of a mid-priced option.

We had a 2 bedroom suite to accommodate our family of 4, something that seemed to be particularly challenging in Nice. Room 209 had 4 single beds in 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, and small kitchenette (mini-fridge, sink and stove-top). The lobby and breakfast room were welcoming, but the guest rooms showed their age with considerable wear and tear. Our room on the Rue Gounoud was not as quiet as some other reviews mentioned, but others may have been off the street. On-site parking was a bonus, at an additiona charge, but the street parking was extremely limited. The hotel is within walking distance to the train station.

The breakfast was OK, standard offering of cereals, yogurt, cheese, ham & salami, canned fruit, and a choice of croissant or another pastry. Frankly, it was not too much and not exactly memorable. Staff was helpful upon request and provided solid recommendations for dinners that met our needs very well. Interestingly enough, they did not recommend their supposedly more luxurious sister hotel, The Splendid, and I understand why. The Splendid hotel restaurant was OK, but nothing special aside from a panoramic view.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
bonjour thanks a lot for your kind comments; we were delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate the value/price ratio, and look forward to welcoming you again
When you come again, please do not hesitate to let me know personnally
have a wonderful day and a very happy new year

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights room had tv shower ac balcony & a mini fridge which was good to keep a few beers in because going out was a rip off .staff were friendly & helpful .breakfast room got busy and ran out of food one morning .the train station is nearby but you are a bit of a walk frm the old town

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was our first stay at the Gounod and having read recent reviews for this hotel, we were not disappointed. The room was large on the fifth floor and very quiet, which was important to us. We were able to sit on the balcony enjoying a glass of wine on most days of our stay in the beginning of October. The weather was excellent and as all guest are able to use the facilities at the adjacent hotel, all needs are catered for. The hotel staff were very helpful and comminicated well in English. The rooms may be slightly tired but does not detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: The street outside the hotel is not busy, but room at the back will be quiet. Some balconies are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tregde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Our room (208) in this hotel was very small, no room to unpack properly as wardrobe was very small. Ceiling was peeling, paintwork on wood was in need of updating, the paint on the shutters was flaking off and in dire need of renovation.

Bathroom was nice but lacked shower curtain and bath mats so water went on floor making it very slippy.

Staff were ok generally but did not engage very much with guests unless you asked them questions. There was no real bar in reception where you could get a drink apart from a machine.

Breakfast room was freqeuntly cramped and on one occasion nearly ran out of food (3/9/11).

Although breakfast was continental style, some sausages and srambled eggs were available but would not reccomend either. Croisants were ok as were selections of jams, fruit cheeses and coffeee was ok.

Location to centre was good and only a short walk (uphill) to railway station.

Would not stay here again as felt very cramped and stay in hotel was only downside to our holiday, have seen better and cheaaper hotels close by so will try next time round.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the outside wall facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrzejtadeusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Located in good and quiet location Nice -- easy to walk to many destinations. Roooms are straight forward and clean andcompletely reasonable rates for what you get. Very nice hotel staff -- helpful, especially Andre. Would recommend for anyone looking for a mid range hotel in Nice, great city.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting on a top floor facing out, but there is only one elevator, so sometimes have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CowSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
553 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We enjoyed the Gounod. It was friendly (some staff did not speak English [my problem, of course, not theirs]) good breakfast. The rooms was, perhaps, a little tired, but we've stayed in much worse for much more money.
The location is a short walk from everywhere and has the benefit of being quiet in the evening/night.
Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#53 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#8 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Aria
#20 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Hotel les Cigales
#51 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Property: Hotel Gounod Nice
Address: 3 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tv. Gounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing