We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When location does not help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture
Ranked #42 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Sandnes, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“When location does not help”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel de Flores popularity is based on its location, a few hundred meters from the beach and close to super touristic area with low-budget shopping and restaurants. However, we experienced small rooms, ineeffective a/c, heavy noice from ventilation-fans outside, carpets that had not seen a hoover lately and bath that could be cleaner...Coming back late night one had to pass a selection of Nice homeless who dug through wastecontainers looking for food that was disposed of from nerby shops. Anyway, the staff was very kind and helpful wich made us all somewhat satisfied. Will not return though...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAVEILLAN, Directeur général at Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much to let us know your feeling regarding our property.
We are pleased to be informed that you found our team helpful. Thank you for them.
We are disappointed that we were not totally satisfied with your stay in Nice.
We would like to inform you that we are the new owners of Hotel De Flore which is called now
Quality Hotel Flore Nice Promenade. Regardiing the points which you mentioned, we are happy to let you know that some works have been planned and will start at the end of the high season : carpet will be changed, air conditioning will be fixed and more will be done for our guests' comfort.
Regarding the homeless, as you said, this situation is not pleasant but for some people the bad economic situation is extremely difficult. We willl check with the City if something could be done.

We are staying at your disposal for any more information you may need.
Best regards

Nicole SAY
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    260
    118
    44
    11
See reviews for
124
307
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Awful!!! This is my 4th of 7 nights and am yet to sleep! You can hear every single noise going on in and out of the hotel. The doors all slam any time anyone walks in or out. You can hear people talking in the next room. The wifi cuts out frequently! You can't even Skype! DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. If I had more money available to me I would find somewhere else to stay. Also, rooms are tiny and dated. Only good thing about the hotel is the location and there are plenty of other choices- so choose another one!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAVEILLAN, Directeur général at Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hello from Nice,

Thank you for your comments.

We would like to inform that we are the new owners of the Hotel De Flore and as soon as the high seasion is over, we will start some renovation works. We hope that a lot of the inconveniences which you mentioned will be solved.

With our best regards

Nicole SAY
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Hotel De flore is in a great location, shops and restraunts just at your door step. 5 minute walk to the beach.
We paid 160 euro a night for 2 nights. Breakfast wasn't included it was an extra 12 euro per person which is quiet steep. Rooms were tiny, could ear everyone talking in the rooms next to you and even hear when they go to the toilet. Beds were shocking, they were so soft you just sunk into the mattress.
Like I said great location but that's what you only pay for and 160 euro a night was no where near it.
Wouldn't stay here again. Better off in a private hostel room and saving 50-80 euro a night

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebackpackers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAVEILLAN, Directeur général at Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our property.
We are pleased to be informed that you did like the location of the hotel and of course disappointed concerrning the inconveniences you encountered.
Please do accept our apologies.
You may be interested to learn as new owners of the hotel, as soon as the high is over, we will stard to do some works for our guests comfort :
we will change our beds and some works will be done in order to soften the noice which you mentioned.
Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly if you would like to come back to Nice, I will personally take care of your next stay.
With our best regards

Nicole SAY
Manager

Nicole SAY
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

situated in a busy street, close to the Boulevard Anglais, shops, tram and Vieille Nice. The receptionist we met were friendly and helpful. They speak English and French.You could get lost when you're looking for your room. We had a room at the end of a hallway with view to a dirty courtyard, but it was quiet. Why the irritating blue light outside the rooms? Thanks for the airco. We really needed it and it was working full speed during our stay. Shower was ok and size of the bathroom was good. Beds were a bit soft for our taste. Our first morning at the breakfast room shocked us: too many people. There weren't seats enough for everyone to sit down. so peopole were more or less pressed to eat fast and leave. The 2nd morning was better, but we ate outside. It was small and people were smoking there. Breakfast was very basic. If it's not included I would go somewhere else for my breakfast. Quite expensive for what they offer. The supermarket is next door. Very convenient!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasduivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAVEILLAN, Directeur général at Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Customers,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
We would like to inform you that since your departure, we have greatly improved our breakfast, because as you mentioned, it was basic t. Now our customers can take a full hot and cold buffet.
Regarding beds, we will change before the end of 'em this year.
Perhaps, we would welcome you again in our hotel.





Dear Guests,

Thank you very for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel and thank you for your compliments regarding our team.
We would like to inform you that since your departure, we have imporved our breakfast , now our guests can take a full hot and cold buffet breakfast..
Also for your information, by the end of the year, beds will be changed for a better comfort for our guests.
Perhaps, we would have the pleasure to welcome you again to the Quality Hotel Flore Nice Promenade.
Sincerely yours

Nicole SAY
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just arrived back. Hotel in ideal position. In the middle of everthing you could possibly want. Staff really helpful and all speak English. Room small bed very comfortable. Will definitely go back there gain.

Room Tip: Higher floor less sound and more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffordshireRayray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is in a good location being relatively close to the beach, shops, hop-on hop-off bus and many restaurants. We had a problem on arrival as, although we had booked a superior room, it was not available and we were put into a tiny matchbox. We asked to be transferred to the class of room we had specifically booked we were told there were none available for that night. We were offered free breakfast the next morning and were moved the next day into a much larger room. In the first room (called a 'Classic' we think) there was no room for suitcases and you had to place them on the bed to unpack. They then had to be piled up in the doorway so you could manoeuvre around in the room and open the bathroom door. Our larger room had an unfortunate aroma of septic. Breakfast was very modest and as it's not included we would recommend that you go around the corner to the small patisserie and eat there. One young woman on the front desk was very helpful but the man who assisted us was not particularly interested in our room problem. We were particularly annoyed about the room problem as I had emailed them twice, once in English and once in French, and had phoned to double check that the room was o.k.

Room Tip: Do not book the cheapest rooms unless you only have a backpack and are extremely thin!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 261624Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Of all the hotels we stayed at in France, this staff was the friendliest, the most helpful, the most courteous. We would stay again for the level of service alone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#54 of 204 in Nice
501 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#46 of 204 in Nice
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture
Address: 2 rue Maccarani, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Flore Nice Promenade)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#23 Family Hotel in Nice
#24 Business Hotel in Nice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Flore Nice Promenade is a 4-star hotel ideally situated in the centre of Nice. The hotel offers 65 rooms that have been carefully thought out and designed for your well-being with a refined, warm Provençal decor. From 6pm, let's enjoy of our HappyTime with Provençal savors in our living room or in the patio : drinks, wines, apetizers... let be tempted yourself ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flore Hotel
De Flore Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing