We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, nothing fancy”
Review of Hotel Nice Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nice Riviera
Ranked #51 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We selected this hotel for one night short stay in Nice for two reasons: it was close to the city center and it was reasonably priced. In reality it worked ok, the hotel really is within walking distance to main shopping area and old town, the price is reasonable but the property is a bit minimallistic.the rooms are quite small and air conditioning is not really effective. The place seems to be favoured by big tourist groups and therefore tends to be crowded. The service is also effective and reasonably friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceRiviera06, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment on our hotel.

As you pointed it out, we are right in the city center of Nice which is very convenient for walking around Nice and discover our beautiful city easily.

Concerning the rooms' size, it starts from 20m² and grows to 25m² between different room types. As the air condition is concerned I will check with the technician to see if there is something wrong with it. Because last few days were quite warm and the air condition is still very much appreciated.

Thank you again for having shared your experience of Nice Riviera on TripAdvisor.

Best Regards,

Simon PERLEIN
Guest Care Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nice Riviera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very pleasant staff, helpfull and flexible. Room we had (6th floor with balcony) was great. Water-pressure in shower could have been better. Balcony was superb and large (20 sq.m or so). Breakfast very un-french : fresh, rich and abundant. Location is top: 10 min. walk from beach, 5 minutes from shopping area, 10 minutes from old town. Good restaurants and wine bar in the vincinity

Room Tip: Try to get a 6th floor room with balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceRiviera06, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having left your comment regarding your recent stay in Nice Riviera. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel and that you recommend it.

I will ask the technician to have a look at the water pressure in order to check if there is something wrong because we did not get any complain about it.

Many thanks again for your comment we really hope that you will stay in Nice Riviera again shortly.

With kind regards,

Simon PERLEIN
Guest Care Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Me and my husband spent a week in this hotel in August 2013. It was easy to find, and location was just great. Everything was within walking distance. Rooms were spacious and clean, flat tv with number of channels, quiet surroundings and friendly staff. Breakfast was tough too expensive to us, so we don't know about that. Good choice!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner yard are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cikkis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceRiviera06, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having left your comment on your recent stay in Nice Riviera. We are glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us.

I would like to let you know that we offer to kind of breakfasts, the buffet one at 22€/person and also the express one served at the bar for 8€/person for the one who don't eat much or look for something cheaper.

We hope you had a safe way back home.

Best regards,

Simon PERLEIN
Guest Care Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I spent a few days in this hotel. The staff were friendly, professional, and very helpful with tips for getting around the city and visiting various venues and attractions. The beach promenade is very close by as well as key attractions in the city noting that Monaco is only a short train ride away. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed. The only drawback I would mention is that the mattresses were hard. I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling for business or vacation, particularly with a family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndavis001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceRiviera06, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comment on this website after your stay with us in Nice Riviera. It is nice to read that you and your family enjoyed staying with us.

As your remark on the mattresses is concerned, we have changed them recently so it is true that they can be a little bit hard at the beginning. I really hope that it will not prevent you from coming back.

Best regards,

Simon PERLEIN
Guest Care Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I spent 5 nights in this hotel at the end of July 2013. The best thing about this hotel is its location, as there are a number of local shops and restaurants and it is only a short walk to the beach front, Cours Saleya, Old town and other main attractions and night life. There are also a number of bus stops right next to the hotel for those that don't want to walk. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is reasonable. The rooms are ok, they are a reasonable size and include all of the standard amenities. The décor in the rooms, and in the hotel in general, felt slightly dated and could be improved. Overall a 3-4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the 6th floor have a great roof terrace, although avoid room 612 as it is right n...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceRiviera06, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having left your comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us.

Concerning the decoration that you judge outdated, we have been entirely renovated in the beginning of 2012 so I am a little bit surprised because we had great comments on it since then.

We hope that if you come back to Nice someday you will choose Nice Riviera again.

Best Regards,

Simon PERLEIN
Guest Care Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived on 30th July for 1week b/b. There was 3 of us. Myself, husband & adult son. On arrival at the hotel, we were told we had a SUPERIOR room. We had asked for a triple. We didn't know what to expect for superior. On entering our room which was 508, it looked like a normal double room with an extra bed. For superior I thought maybe there would be a balcony or even a fridge in the room? (I had read other reviews they did have it). We had a mini bar which we would have to pay for if we wanted to use it.
However the beds were very comfortable, air conditioning was perfect - not too cold or noisy, coffee/tea making facilities, a TV with about 3 English speaking channels. The bathroom was a bit of a concern because if you were standing up taking a shower, there was nothing on the wall that you could grab, like a handle or safety bar, should you slip. I have mentioned this to the manager & believe it will be considered. There were plenty of gel bottles. Towels changed daily, lovely thick towels.
The breakfast was EXCELLENT. Such a big choice from half a fresh juicy, ruby grapefruit to other fresh fruit, juice, cheese, cold meat, shredded lettuce, sliced tomato, choice of cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, French & sliced bread. Toast was another problem which I raised with the manager. There is only a 2slice pop-up toaster, so you can imagine if there are a lot of guests wanting toast, the wait etc. I have suggested they get a rotating toaster where guests can just slip it on the rack & it is much quicker (& more professional)! There is also a fresh coffee jug as well as a machine for different types of coffee or tea. Also a good supply of croissants & different pastries, & pancakes that you could heat in the microwave with syrup or honey to put on it. If you like boiled eggs, they had a boiler & egg timer that you could do how you liked them. All the staff were really friendly & helpful. They were always willing to fill my empty bottle with cold water to take out with me. Tap water in France is safe to drink.
We used the hot-tub, & pool once. We were given beautifully thick white towel dressing gowns & slippers to use.
We would definitely stay here again. You can walk from Nice stn in about 10mins or get the tram for 2 stops which is nearby. It costs E1.50.
If you are into designer shops or high class stores like Galeries Lafayette, they are all within walking distance dotted around nearby.

We gave up trying to find restaurants we had found on trip advisor as the streets on the maps didn't seem to be where the restaurants should be.

Another plus is if you are Jewish, there is a Sephardie synagogue across the road from the hotel. It is the OLDEST one in Nice. People are friendly.
Beware the beaches. They are very rocky, my husband would say pebbles, I would say mini boulders. All the way down to the water & in it as well. Can be dangerous if you have a fall, suggest you need beach shoes to protect your feet.
We went 2 times to Villefranche sur Mer - which is 2 stops down on the train, & also once to Cannes. Both have lovely sandy beaches. There are public beaches there next to private. Just take your own things or pay 15Euros per DAY if you want to hire a sunbed/parasol.

We found eating out quite expensive & drinks for even a lager or coke can be 4Euros. I found a small glass of white wine varied from about 3Euros upwards. You can get a FREE bottle of tap water as well at most restaurants which is chilled, but you might need to ask if it is not offered. What I didn't like was if you wandered into the busy squares of restaurants, you will be pounced upon by staff eager for you to eat there as they know you are a tourist. I want to take my time to look around & not be pressured. I do regret not eating at some of the fish restaurants who had some amazing selections.

The hotel met our requirements perfectly and would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody visiting the city.

I always believe that if you speak a few words of French, even Bonjour & Merci with a smile it goes a long way & is friendly.

So Mr. Manager, we hope if/when we return that there will be a rotating toaster in the restaurant, a safety grab rail on the wall in the shower, maybe a free small fridge in the room, but perhaps what is a superior room?

Many thanks from Heather, Martin, & Russell

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceRiviera06, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for having left such a nice comment following your stay in Nice Riviera. With such a recommandation, worldwide travellers planning to stay in our hotel will be well informed.

The manager would like to thank you personnally for your recommandation regarding the toaster and would like me to inform you that he will ask for an estimate about it.

Regarding the fridge commented by several guests, I would like to let you know that it is the same that you had, I agree with you it is a minibar and this is how we call it. It is empty upon your arrival and it's contents can be personnalised thanks to our minibar packages starting from 9.90€. But you can store your own things in it for free.

You did have a superior room, we have accomodated you in this one because it was written 3 adults and we thought that three separate beds would be more comfortable for you. As the balcony is concerned, only our Executive rooms have a private terrass, none of the superior one does.

May I suggest you to join our Facebook fan's community ? Like that you will stay informed about the last news of the Riviera and have access to exclusive offers.

We really hope that you will come back and that you had a safe way back home.

With kind regards,

Simon PERLEIN
Guest Care Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Really pleased with the hotel, spotlessly clean and the staff spoke fluent English. Nice rooms, adjacent as requested, with flat screen tv. Nice pool area with jacuzzi and some gym equipment. The breakfast was good, the fresh fruit salad was an especially good. The hotel is well situated 10 minutes from the beach, 20 minutes from the station and 2 minutes from the main shopping street. Dined one evening at the restaurant opposite La Baie D'Amalfi, which was very good. A must to visit is the Fenocchio ice cream shop in Nice Old Town, delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedbirdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceRiviera06, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Nice Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for commenting your recent stay in Nice Riviera. We are glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us and hope that you are planning to come back someday.

Best regards,

Simon PERLEIN
Guest Care Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#40 of 204 in Nice
1,021 reviews
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Aston La Scala
Hotel Aston La Scala
#45 of 204 in Nice
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nice Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nice Riviera

Address: 45 - 47 rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Nice
#29 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $103 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nice Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Nice Riviera Hotel places you in the heart of Nice on the French Riviera, only a few minutes from the glorious beach and a short walk from the renowned Promenade des Anglais; ideally placed whether you are visiting for pleasure or on business. The Nice Riviera Hotel's 120 attractive rooms welcome singles, couples and families. Guest rooms present a quality contemporary ambience with interiors of soft pastel tones, full-length window drapes and fabrics of warm rich colour on smooth bamboo parquet flooring and modern amenities for your comfort and convenience. A 65m² daylight conference room with A/V equipment can host 70 people. Each day starts with a rich buffet breakfast and you can find relaxation in the cafe lounge bar enjoying a free WiFi connection. The Wellness area includes an indoor heated pool, sauna, jacuzzi and a fitness corner to help you rejuvenate and revive the spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nice Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Nice
Nice Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing