We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A character hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Ranked #18 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Le Grimaldi for 2 nights while vacationing in Nice. The hotel was in a good location, easy walking distance to the beach, promenade de anglais, and all the restaurants and shops. Our room was very large, with a separate shower and bathtub and 2 sinks. The remainder of the interior was clean, with a sofa bed and bar fridge. As we went in high season, the room was quite expensive.

Our only surprise was the one staff member asked us to leave our keys with the front desk when we left the hotel. We were not advised of this upon check-in, and nobody had asked us for the 1st two days, but on our last day the front desk lady insisted that this was hotel policy and she wasn't sure why her colleagues hadn't enforced this rule. As one can imagine, my wife and I were uneasy leaving the hotel with no key and returned early from our outing to ensure everything was okay.

Overall, a character hotel in a good location, but I think we might try something else next time we're in Nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed at Le Grimaldi for 9 nights, from 1 August to 10 August for our honeymoon.
We came by car from the airport. Instructions to reach the hotel were excellent and the welcome from the staff very nice and cosy. We had a surpise in the room, a bottle of champaigne, which we were later told is a habit.
Room was stylish and nice, however a bit worn out, this was the feeling. Bathroom very small, barely fitting 2 persons and lacking ventilation, we immediately noticed mould on the bath tub walls.
The room was kept clean, but the cleaning persons were very scarce with changing towels, soap, shower gel, etc.
The overall impression was also that the the cleaningness was only on surface, the bed cover was smelly and the iron furniture was rusty.
Otherwise, the hotel staff is very frienfly and helpful and the hotel location is excellent, just a few steps from Promenade.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocsBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked through Airmiles and therefore the cost of this hotel was subsidised with our mileage, although this limited the choice of hotels. However, before booking Le Grimaldi we had researched previous reviews and decided to ahead and book. What a good decision! The hotel is situated very close the Nice Ville train station (approx 15 mins) and even closer to the many restaurants and bars in Rue Massena (approx 3-4 mins). The Promenade Des Anglais is approx. 8 mins stroll away as well. All the staff at this hotel were very friendly, effiicient and created a relaxed and informal evironment. The room was spacious enough for the 2 of us and was beautifully decorated. We were grateful of the fridge, which we stocked from the nearby Spar. Breakfast was typically continental e.g. boiled egg, cold meats, croissants, bread etc. I can understand that some may find this is not value for the 15 euro's charged. However, for us it was included in the cost of the hotel and to be honest, we felt it was right for the style of the hotel - bacon and eggs just wouldn't have been right! There are many bars close by which can cater for the more traditional English breakfast should you need one. The hotel is located on Rue Grimaldi, which is not a main road, but can get quite noisy at times, with the dustman particularly around midnight! However, we accepted this as part of the French way and just closed the window! Most of the time, you could just hear the day to day hum drum of everyday French life, which we found appealing. Le Grimaldi, does not have a restaurant on site, although there is a small restaurant next door. We would recommend that you walk to Rue Massena where there are more than you will know what to do with! We loved the hotel, we loved Nice and would recommend both to you unreservedly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PompeyGirls07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Ideally located near the beach, Promenade des Anglais, restaurants, shopping, and bus line to the airport. Lovely interior (go for the larger slightly more expensive rooms - huge showers and more room overall), and lovely staff. Overall, a perfect hotel for Nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Advised by fellow travellers on Tripadvisor we decided to book a superior room at Le Grimaldi for our 7 days vacation in Nice. And we were not disappointed.
On arrival we were welcomed, got our key and a message that we would have a drink brought to our room after a few minutes. Indeed we did! A bottle of champagne in an icebucket and two glasses together with local olives.
What a welcome.
We loved the room. It was big with a sofa and table, bed, desk with chair, small flatscreen, walk-in closet. The room was on the topfloor facing Rue Maccarini. Bathroom was huge with seperate shower cabin, bathtub. Toilet in a seperate room.
We had breakfast there every morning and even though the hotel was fully booked we had no problems getting a table. We found breakfast sufficient and a good start before exploring Nice.
Staff was very friendly and smiling and the room was cleaned perfectly everyday.
Only positive words about Le Grimaldi from me. It was the perfect place to stay for us in Nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My wife and myself stayed here for 3 nights from 7th August.

We had booked a spa package, and requested a quiet room on a higher floor. We got a room overlooking the courtyard, which was pretty quiet.

Both myself and my wife had a massage as part of the spa package, which was good.

Breakfast was nice, typically continental, good quality. Included cereals, croissants, french bread, jams & preserves, 1 type of ham, a salami, and a cheese, and some pastries. There was also yogurts and a couple of different juices.

The hotel is a very traditional french hotel, and not contemporary, nor does it have a huge range of facilities.

We did have a problem with our room, but they did manage to move us for the second and third nights, as all the other rooms were full on the night we arrived.

The manager was extremely helpful about the problem, and she did everything possible to help us, which we were appreciative of. All the staff were very polite and very helpful, and we felt like we had a very personal service.

I have only rated this as 3 stars based on our experience and due the problem and inconvenience we had, but we were very happy with how the manager dealt with the problem and the solutions we were given to resolve it. It was just unfortunate that the hotel was so busy, so we were unable to change rooms on the night of arrival.

Overall we were happy with the hotel and the level of service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonPJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The check in was a breeze! Extremely friendly front hotel staff with lots of knowledge of the area, more than willing to help make the trip wonderful with their suggestions and willingness to book reservations! Great breakfast with excellent coffee!
The only suggestion I would have is to improve the AC on the 6th floor. Other than that, the room was comfortable with a lovely bottle of wine and olives brought to us on check in. What a great way to be welcomed to such a friendly hotel! The note and the service accompanying it was also wonderful! Thank you for making our stay so fantastic and relaxing!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#10 of 203 in Nice
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture

Address: 15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $75 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Promenade des Anglais and the beach of Nice in the heart of downtown, Le Grimaldi is ideally located for your stay in Nice. The hotel is the perfect illustration of our taste for the Provence and the Azur Coast. You will find a colourful, a warm atmosphere and allude to with modernity the eclectism of the Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grimaldi Nice
Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Grimaldi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing