We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel, free wine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Ranked #22 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel, free wine!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in October 2012. The weather was gorgeous and it was our first time in Nice so appreciated not being in the loudest part near all the bars and restaurants. The area is mixed in terms of small hotels like this one, restaurants (the one next door is fantastic, scary proprietor but lovely local food) and shops as well as residential property. You are 15-20 minutes from Nice Ville station so handy for trips to Monaco (not just glam but so clean, check out the local brewery), Cannes (a bit meh) and Grasse (don't do the perfume museum, do sit in a square and have lunch). We booked with BA so not sure whether this was why we seemed to have been given quite a nice room with balcony overlooking the internal courtyard but appreciated the seating area and yellow decor and free wine on our second night. We ate lots of wine and cheese from the local supermarket and spent too much time in Wayne's bar but it was good to come home to the Grimaldi.
Only gripe: breakfast sometimes got packed and there were no tables and the older French lady we waited behind did not comprend le queueing so not good. Staff were great though and breakfast plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pinklibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor about your recent trip at Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice Centre. The crew and I are very pleased to read your satisfaction.
We expect welcoming you again this year.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    393
    155
    46
    20
See reviews for
138
533
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was my girlfriend and my first trip away together, and because we only had 4 days to spare because of work we wanted to go somewhere close to the UK but with some sun. Nice itself is beautiful and everyday we went for long walks over to the harbour and through the streets. The weather was fantastic too and only on the day we left did we have a bit of drizzle.
We had researched hotels for a while before settling on Le Grimaldi, i have to say we made a great choice. We liked the fact it wasn't quite on the sea front but it only took 5-10mins to walk there, in between you have lovely shops and great restaurants. The hotel is very welcoming, the room we had looked out onto the street but there was never any noise, and it was decorated to a nice contemporary standard.
We never had an evening meal in the hotel but that's down to us wanting to explore the local resaurants instead. Breakfast though was very nice and the waiter who served us every day was lovely and would always let you try out your French...even if it's terrible.
For a short break this is definitely a good option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deano_SummerSun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. I'm really pleased to read your entire satisfaction and I expect receive you another time in our boutique hotel.
Don't hesitate to contact me for have a new good experience in Nice !
Best Greatings,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in mid-Nov. in a "superior" room on the first floor. When I saw the room, I was quite disappointed, because it didn't look anything like those pretty pictures on the website! It was very small and plain, everything beige. There were 2 small beds and 2 small desks with chairs. That was it - no other furniture, no table or any other surfaces to set things on. It was probably about what I might have expected of a standard room in a 3 star hotel in Europe, but this was supposed to be a "spacious superior" room with a "sitting area" in a 4-star hotel. It was definitely not spacious and there was no "sitting area." I had expected an easy chair or couch as in the pictures, but upon questioning it I was told that there were only a couple of rooms like that. Well, once I got over that disappointment, I did come to appreciate a lot of really good things about this hotel. It was very quiet, the temperature was comfortable, the bathroom was modern and big, it was very clean (except for a badly stained carpet,) there was a tiny fridge and the location was perfect. It was easy walking distance to everything and there was a big grocery store next door. All in all, I would recommend this hotel, as long as you have realistic expectations. I didn't see any of the other rooms, but I suspect from other reviews that there may be big differences from room to room. I did not get the breakfast, since there were lots of cafes nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmore9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your opinion about our recent stay at Le Grimaldi Nice Centre.
I'm really sorry that you don't have a really good souvenir of your stay. And I'm surprised because all our superior rooms have the same equipment with a sofa and not only one desk. The rooms have a size of 23m² minimum and normally our guests enjoy it because there are very spacious and comfortable. All the photos who are present on Internet are new photos taken in October 2012. So they have 2 months maximum when you have stayed in our hotel.
I apologize for don't have upgrade your desires.
You can contact me directly for have a new vision of Le Grimaldi with a further stay with us. We will make all for your pleasure and your entire satisfaction.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a pleasant hotel to stay - 10 - 15 minutes walk from Gare de Nice Ville and a short walk to the centre of the city and to public transport. It's an older hotel and therefore not flash but it was comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The petit dejeuner was very good, especially the baguette. I happily recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Room Tip: I was in one of the front rooms, facing rue Grimaldi. It was fine and I suspect quieter than the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm so happy to read your satisfaction here. Thank you having share your review of your recent stay at Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice Centre on the international website TripAdvisor. We are pleased welcoming our guest in our Boutique Hotel typically Provençal and refurbishing is previous but in respect of our style.
I'm looking forward welcoming you soon. Thanks a lot for your comment.
Sincerely,

Guillaume Neugnot
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at Le Grimaldi for four nights in a standard room. We were in the half of the hotel facing Rue Grimaldi and whilst our room appeared to be the smallest on that floor it was comfortably large enough for the two of us. Some of the furniture in the room was showing signs of wear but was all perfectly functional and the entire room, including the bathroom, was very clean.

All of the staff were very professional, helpful and spoke at least decent English at breakfast and good English on Reception. On arrival the receptionist pointed out the main sights in Nice on our map, recommended some of the local restaurants and reserved a table at one of them for us.

Breakfast was the usual continental offering and the Croissant and Pain au Chocolat were amazing. Free Wi-fi was available wherever we tried it in the hotel with good signal strength and an internet connection which was certainly fast enough for our needs.

Our only negative comment would be that the boiler in our half of the hotel appeared to struggle to supply the demand for hot water in the mornings which they tried to repair on one day but it was found that a new boiler was required. Unfortunately all of the rooms in the other half of the hotel had been filled so they were not able to move us but we could use one of a couple of showers in the basement which we did on one occasion before choosing simply to shower in the evening instead of the morning.

Overall, a really good stay and if we were ever in the area again I would have no hesitation in returning.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

We thank you a lot for having given your comments about your stay in our property.
We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel location and that you had a good stay in Nice.
I'm really Sorry for repair boiler during your stay. Normally you havn't to know that but it was more long repair that previous and I apologize for this desagreament.
Looking forward to having the pleasure to welcome you again, with hot water :-) and news in our refurbished rooms.
Best Regards,

Guillaume Neugnot
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Conveniently located near SNCF, shops, restaurants and old town. The junior suite was luxurious and big with two baths, situated on the top floor with great views. Breakfast was ok. Will gladly stay there again when in Nice.

Room Tip: Junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a real pleasure to read your satisfaction after your trip on Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice centre. All my staff and I are pleased to have happy guests and make our possible every day for your satisfaction.
I am at your disposal for a further stay in Nice.
Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor.
Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Nice Le Grimaldi is a centrally located hotel, within a 5-7 minute walk from the beach, (Promenade des Anglais). They are restaurants shops in very close vicinity. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or pool, but has free internet access and free wi-fi. These run very, very slowly though. The staff were ok, offering help if needed and were polite, but non smiling. The rooms are spacious and would accommodate, couples, friends or the business traveller. The railway station is about ten minutes’ walk away, offering options to other areas of the Côte d'Azur. The breakfast was a continental spread, which was adequate, offering rolls, croissants, tea, coffee, fruit, jam and cereal. They is no hot food available. The hotel is clean and well kept, the beds are slighly hard. With all considered, I would recommend this hotel, and intend to stay here again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nodnoltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionGrimaldi, Directeur général at Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm pleased to read your review on Trip Advisor , thank you to have sharing your experience at Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice. As the new manager of the hotel, I will really enjoyed to meet you during your further stay in our hotel, you will discover all the new amenities we offer for more pleasure of all our guests. Sincerely,

Guillaume NEUGNOT
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#9 of 204 in Nice
802 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#12 of 204 in Nice
594 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Address: 15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Promenade des Anglais and the beach of Nice in the heart of downtown, Le Grimaldi is ideally located for your stay in Nice. The hotel is the perfect illustration of our taste for the Provence and the Azur Coast. You will find a colourful, a warm atmosphere and allude to with modernity the eclectism of the Riviera. From 2pm until 7pm, be our guest at our HappyTime, enjoy one ice-cream tasting with original flavours of the Provence : lavander, amond milk, calisson and so many yummy and fresh others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grimaldi Nice
Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Grimaldi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing