We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel in centre of Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Ranked #24 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel in centre of Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I enjoyed staying somewhere independent, with friendly staff, quaint and spacious rooms.
Thought the breakfast was great, although it's a small room so did get rather busy at peak times...they could do with a few more tables! But, nice fresh croissants, breaks, nice jams etc. Not a plain boring contintental breakfast.
You can easily walk to nearby mall, to the trams, to the pedestrian streets for restaurants and then down to Promenade des Anglais.
My room was nice and quiet overlooking their inner courtyard.
I booked with BA this hotel for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktraveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    374
    150
    45
    20
See reviews for
127
501
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Read the other reviews and you'll get a pretty good overall picture of this hotel, its pros and cons. It certainly did the job for an "overnighter". Parking not great in Nice, and this hotel has no parking facilities, just a drop off point outside, once the staff move the chains directly outside on the narrow, one-way street. Then parking is in nearby public car park, at cost. Our experience was that staff were helpful, when at their desk. We bought breads/pastries at the recommended Moultari Boulangerie for a delicious portable breakfast on Sunday.

Room Tip: Superior double (ie twin mattresses) High ceiling, settee, desk, TV, small fridge with bottle of wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank thanks08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumbull, ct
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at Le Grimaldi last week for 3 nights. We rented 2 rooms; one for our 2 sons and the other for my wife and myself. We had requested rooms close to each other but were given one room on the 2nd floor and the other on the 5th floor. It would not be noteworthy other than the fact that I reserved the rooms 10 months ago.

Overall, the hotel is clean and well appointed. Very decent location. Rooms are rather large and comfortable. My only room complaint would be some mold in the shower.

We were consistently disappointed with the staff throughout our stay. It started upon arrival, we drove to the hotel and had no place to park. As the street was lined with cars except for 2 cones with a rope that was placed in front of the hotel lobby. So I had to stop in the middle of the street to let my wife and children out of the car so we could unload our luggage. The folks at the desk just watched us as we unloaded our car. As we entered the lobby with our bags (car still parked in the middle of the road), I asked the woman at the front desk where I could park. Before she would answer me, she insisted that we check in. After a quick check-in, she proceeded to walk outside and remove the cones to tell me that I could temporarily park there. Why bother after we unloaded the car?

After our check-in and settling into our rooms, we went to the lobby for suggestions on where to eat. There was no one at either lobby desk. I had to search for the staff and found them eating their dinner in an office. They were completely oblivious to the situation and continued to eat while I asked them questions. I have not experienced such unprofessional behavior in my travels, so it was a disappointing start to our stay at this hotel.

Anyway, the service of the staff never got better during our stay. There were different morning and evening staff but they were consistently mediocre. They would answer questions with the bare minimal response. I even speak some french so it wasn't like I was expecting them to accommodate my language. It really seemed like none of the staff enjoy their jobs. We have traveled a lot over the years and I rarely give such negative feedback. As we had earlier in this trip been in Barcelona and Carcassone France with very positive hotel experiences.

That being said, a stay at this hotel would be ok assuming you don't have high expectations of the staff.

I would recommend that management review their internal culture. They are in a service industry and need staff that understand that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hoffland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel is is relatively small but this is what makes it a really great stay. The staff we dealt with were are without fail helpfell and courteous and appear to genuinely want to help you.
The location is excellent with a 5 minute stroll to the beach and numerous restuarants are located within a stone throw of the hotel.
Breakfast was adequate but nothing special and the hotel could do with a lick of paint in some places. The lift was small (max 2 people) and really doesn't fit a four star hotel but other than these minor flaws we loved our 3 nights there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spongejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

A nicely decorated small hotel within walking distance of the beach (even using a cane). We booked this based on the recommendation of a relative who has booked small tours to Europe for years. We had a top floor room overlooking a small church and park. The elevator is very small (3 people) with exposed iron grills and cage, like the elevator in Hitchcock's Charade (and worked fine). Very clean and tasteful, if basic, room decor. Very large bathroom with separate tub and shower and two sinks overlooking a courtyard. Plenty of storage space in the room and bath. Wifi worked fine. Good air conditioning.
The front desk personnel we're extremely courteous and helpful with restaurants, etc., and one of the biggest assets of the hotel. And generally spoke excellent English.
We thought the breakfast price was a bit high (15 euros each) considering it was an expanded continental style with limited choices compared to other hotels on our trip, so we walked to the rue de France area and had breakfast for about half the price.
Other than the limited breakfast, the hotel was a perfect choice and would recommend highly. And check out the little restaurant Chez Davia right next door, which was our favorite restaurant of all the places in Nice and a bargain to boot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IQ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here during a very warm jaz festival week in July. The ac was excellent you forgot how warm it was outside. The room was average. Lovely clean sheets and bath towels and l'occitane products replenished daily. Cold bottle of rose and sweets on our arrival were lovely touches. Breakfasts were good, however, not enough tables and people had to wait to be seated, which is not a good start to the day.

The hotel is in a perfect situation for exploring Nice, close to the main shopping areas and restaurants, but lovely and peaceful on a night. The train station is close by and the beach a 10 minute walk.

Most of the staff are very friendly, and very helpful..

The ceiling up the staircase to the first floor is in desparate need of attention, don't look up !!!

Probably would not stay here again. as felt it was more 3* than 4*

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May during the Grand Prix weekend - because of this the price was far higher than normal & maybe as we were late booking we got a very small room. I'm not sure if all the rooms are this size - although the en suite bathroom had a very efficient large shower it was a really small space but did have nice Occitane products. It was not a room you would want to spend too long in - the wardrobe & fittings were of a poor quality.The corridor/lift area was so small & not of a high standard - the facilities were pretty basic & there was no restaurant. I do not rate this hotel at all as a 4* more like a 3*. The location was good close to a large pedestrianised area full of restaurants

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#22 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture

Property: Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Address: 15 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the famous Promenade des Anglais and the beach of Nice in the heart of downtown, Le Grimaldi is ideally located for your stay in Nice. The hotel is the perfect illustration of our taste for the Provence and the Azur Coast. You will find a colourful, a warm atmosphere and allude to with modernity the eclectism of the Riviera. From 2pm until 7pm, be our guest at our HappyTime, enjoy one ice-cream tasting with original flavours of the Provence : lavander, amond milk, calisson and so many yummy and fresh others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grimaldi Nice
Le Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Grimaldi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing