We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at a very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Ranked #43 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent 4 night in the Mercure Promenades des Anglais Hotel. We were very satisfied with our stay and for the hotel we can summarize:
1. The location is great. There is very fast link with public transport bus 98 from and to the airport. The trip costs 6 EUR per direction. Some of the other town busses stop very close too. It took only 15 minutes to reach the central railroad station.
2. Our room was looking towards the backyard but there was a garden-like arrangement and the view was not a problem.
3. The room was quiet, but sometimes some of our neighbors were a little bit noisy. The beds were very comfortable, and there were all the required additions like safe box, 32” flat TV with more than 40 international programs and free WiFi.
4. The staff was very helpful and polite.
5. The breakfast was good and delicious (by our opinion). The breakfast time was from 6:30 to 11:00 and all the time there was all the served meals.
6. The wireless connections sometimes requires to agree again and again with the terms and conditions of the free usage but I think this was not a problem. The connection was fast and stable. However some limitations to the type of the traffic are applied for the free usage (as far as we remember there was no direct VoIP, but remote desktop was working pretty well).
7. There are some car rental offices very close to the hotel.

We can suggest this hotel if you plan a visit to Nice.

Room Tip: Rooms with the sea view seem to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tzokev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel and staff.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Plus points: Excellent location. Very clean. ALMOST all the staff were charming, friendly and very helpful. Lovely large room with a picture window and balcony overlooking the garden and a side sea view.
Minus points: There are no twin bedded rooms other than the very small courtyard rooms with no view or balcony. Bed unbelievably hard.
The breakfast was a very mixed event. Weekdays when the hotel was not too busy it was fine. The weekend was a chaotic disaster. Not enough staff to clear the tables or replenish the food although they tried very hard. On two occasions there were no croissants (in France!!!) No cheese, no cooked eggs, no bacon or sausages, no baguettes, no jams or marmalades, no fresh fruit, no yoghourt, no butter, no plates, no glasses, no cutlery, no orange juice, no English breakfast tea and the coffee machine was not working properly. On the days when there was food the grey scrambled egg and the bacon were inedible. In all it was a very hit and miss affair and you were lucky to get anything at all at times. I told reception on several occasions but whilst sympathetic they could do nothing.

Room Tip: It's a very long walk from the lift to some rooms. Garden rooms also have a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 938BrendaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved every minute. We upgraded room to an ocean view and it was worth it. The room was exactly what we hoped it would be. Great location for walking around the city. The front desk was helpful in recommending a tour company to take us to Monaco. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leegns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Room spacious and very clean. The breakfast was wonderful, very varied and items replenished frequently. The breakfast room is on the first floor and has a side sea view, so lovely way to start the day. Hotel directly on the seafront, but be aware that the Promenade des Anglais is a VERY busy route. We could not leave the window open at night as it was noisy at all hours. Otherwise, great location. Easy to get to and from airport by No.98 bus - 6 Euros each way. 15 minute walk to the station for a very easy journey to Monaco, a must-do if you are in the South of France! Loads of restaurants, cafés and bars in close proximity to the hotel. Would definitely stay here again should we ever return to Nice.

Room Tip: We booked a city view room but also had a great view of the sea and promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our first visit to Nice and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais Hotel. Having read many of the Tripadvisor reviews, we contacted the hotel prior to travelling and requested an upgrade to a Garden View Room. This was arranged for us and was well worth the upgrade cost (30 Euros per night).

The location of the hotel is perfect and travel in from Nice Airport took only about 20 minutes on the No 98 bus (6 Euros each way). The hotel is directly on the sea-front and is close by to a vast range of restaurants and cafes.

Our room was on the third floor and was spacious and clean, with contemporary furnishings. There was a small balcony overlooking the Albert Gardens which had a side view of the sea.

The breakfast restaurant is on the first floor and again has side sea views. There was an excellent selection of items from the continental buffet and a small number of cooked items (scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon).

The staff were all polite, friendly and helpful, and spoke good English.

We will certainly book this hotel again when we return to Nice.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for a room with a view of the Garden or Seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A great location as a base for your visit to Nice. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and a decent size. The breakfast was good value with a wide range of choice. great to step out of the hotel turn left and there is the Mediterranean

Room Tip: we did not have a sea view but the street view was fine .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thornbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a comfortable and nice decorated room with a possibilliy to make coffee or tea. The breakfast was good, but relatively expensive. Nearby are sufficient cheaper alternatives to have breakfast. The hotel is situated nearby the beach, many restaurants and the old town. The humidity in the room was very low.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hansvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno FELIX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
0.3 mi away
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
0 mi away
Le Meridien Nice
Le Meridien Nice
#82 of 203 in Nice
2,175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#9 of 203 in Nice
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#11 Green Hotel in Nice
#25 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#29 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $109 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing