We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Ranked #41 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    914
    308
    89
    45
See reviews for
239
1,097
119
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I recommend this hotel for its location on the Promenade and very near to Massena square in the hearth of Nice. Another pro is the direct access to parking Ruhel, necessary if you are traveling with your own car. Rooms are clean according to European standards (no bidet and with carpet).
Not satisfying the extra cost of breakfast if not included in any offer (in my case I booked the maximum rate with no conditions) and the inability of the hotel to reserve a place at the parking Ruhel at least for the arrival even if they have internal direct access!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falcolux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This older hotel is located on the Promenade de Anglais within walking distance of much of Nice. There is a lovely view of the Mediterranean from the breakfast room. Breakfast is generous, varied, and unhurried. We did not stay in an ocean view room, but ours was clean and comfortable. We had a safe, coffee set up, microwave, and minibar. The bath amenities were replenished daily. The staff was friendly and helpful. If I returned to Nice, I would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmd49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for your kind comment about our hotel and service on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your recommendation which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We are very grateful for having this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception.

Faithfully yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend and we found this hotel met all of our needs. The location is the best thing about this hotel! Right in the heart of the restaurant area so great for people watching. We caught the bus from the airport - much cheaper than a taxi. Luckily for us the bus driver knew where we were going so signalled to us when to get off.

Rooms are clean and tidy. We had a room that had a mezzanine floor where the bed was - that was great!

Train station is a 10 minute walk away.

We didn't have a fridge which we would have liked just to keep water and drinks cold but it was no big deal. And the hotel doesn't have an elevator so if you have heaps of luggage prepare to lift your bags up the steps!

Definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a safe, clean and central hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

o make this review balanced, let me start with the positives. The central location is excellent and you are in walking distance from the sights, shops, bars and restaurants. The room was very spacious and clean and the maid service was very good. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
There were, however, a number of contradictions. The facilities were limited. There is either no bar or restaurant or they are hidden away. There is a breakfast bar advertised on the first floor but nothing else. Furthermore; it is the first time that I have seen a four star hotel use paper takeaway cups for its room tea & coffee making facilities and plastic water fountain glasses in the bathroom. While it may technically qualify for four stars, it felt of much poorer quality. We will return to Nice but would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion T, Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, July 26, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is a pleasure to know you have appreciated our location in Mercure Promenade des Anglais.

We are taking note about your comment regarding your experience and will do our best to improve our guest service as from today.

Best regards,

Cindy Andujar
Marketing and Quality Intern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
506 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights. Based on advice, we booked a sea view room. Well worth the money. We got a corner room on second floor, with fantastic views of sea and park. The location is close to the old town and there were lots of Xmas celebrations going on while we were there. Got to watch people swimming and sunbathing. Very cold in the evenings.

The room was quite large, with a sort of wrap around balcony. You can wander around on it outside, but not enough room for a chair. There was double windows, which reduced the traffic noise, but still fairly noisy at night, since the hotel is located above the Casino. Not a problem, as we are used to traffic noise. Room well equipped with TV, coffee and kettle, plenty of wardrobe storage and good sized bathroom. As with other reviewers, the Wifi was a pain. I suspect because we were in a corner room, we were far away from the wifi hub, so we kept losing the signal. We had to stand near the room door to sign in and connect effectively. If we failed to use the internet for more than 5 minutes, we were logged out, so we spent a lot of frustrating time logging in.

Breakfast on first floor was perfectly adequate, if you don't want the eggs and bacon. These were cold and congealed in fat. We had cereals, muesli, fruit, croissants and bread, which were fine. Even the coffee tasted OK.

Staff were friendly and attentive. We would definitely return here, but ensure we got a sea view room.

Room Tip: Pay for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel and staff.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Reasonably nice and modern hotel located very centrally near the water in Nice. Lots of activities and dining (also Old Nice) within walking distance. Only major drawback is if you plan to drive. We came from the Avignon area by car and after driving for a couple of hours we spent another hour navigating the streets of Nice. The narrow and crowded one-way streets of Nice force you to approach this hotel while driving westbound. We missed the right hand turn onto the side street 2 times, once because we thought it was a sidewalk, the second because a bus was blocking it. Due to the street layout, each miss took about 20 minutes to navigate back and around. Once we arrived we were directed to pay parking a block away. It was full, so I spent another 30 minutes driving around the area to find an alternate parking garage. The hotel was fine, the location was good, the drive was awful. If you have to drive here, you might reconsider.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion T, Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this review, July 26, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank for taking your time to share your experience with us.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay in Mercure Promenade des Anglais and you have appreciated our location.

All the team hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Cindy Andujar
Marketing and Quality Intern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Nice
Le Meridien Nice
#75 of 205 in Nice
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
0.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Negresco
Hotel Negresco
#15 of 205 in Nice
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Property: Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#11 Green Hotel in Nice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#29 Family Hotel in Nice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing