We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beds are slabs of Granite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Ranked #43 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a couple of major problems. Problems first:

1. The mattresses are basically slabs of Granite. I woke up the first morning and my back was in major pain. About as bad as camping with no pad. They offered to place a duvet on the mattress and that improved it from awful to poor. But they won't add a second duvet so you're left with a poor nights sleep.

2. The drop off is stop in the street, unload the car very fast, then go park it (which takes about 5 minutes). They don't have a bell hop or a valet. Either one would have made a big difference. Because they had neither my wife and 1 daughter had to wait in the lobby while my other daughter and I parked the car and climbed up 5 flights of stairs (the parking garage is very deep). Then we could all carry all of our luggage up to the rooms. Arriving by car is a chore.

3. If you are using your car while staying here (we did not), it's a long walk down to get the car and bring it up. It's a long walk upstairs at the end of the day when you come back with the car. Not fun.

Otherwise this is a great hotel. The people here are very nice. The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished, and clean. One warning, the hallways smell heavily of disinfectant (like a nursing home). But the rooms are fine. The view is really good.

The location is perfect. Stuff is spread out here but most everything is in walking distance from the hotel And the staff here has given us really good suggestions for restaurants.

If you're an avid camper who loves sleeping on the hard ground and finds a brisk run up 5 levels of stairs the perfect way to end a long day - this place is for you. 5 stars.

Me, never again. I like sleeping in a comfortable bed. Especially for what I'm paying here.

Room Tip: Request 3 duvet's placed on your mattress. You'll probably only get one, but it can't hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear David T ,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Mercure Promenade des Anglais during your stay in Nice. We are appreciated for having taken your time to post your serious comments on Trip advisor.

We are sorry to know that a part of service or equipments didn’t achieve some level of your expectation. We are regretted for the unsatisfactory situation that you met, and we promise that the service doesn’t represent the normal quality in our hotel. All of our staff would strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We still hope to give you a warm reception once again for your next stay in Nice.

Best regards,

Bruno Félix
General Manager
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

Location couldn't be better for the promenade, the beach, and only a short stroll from shopping/restaurants/cafes/bars.

The only draw back was that the curtains were only net curtains so from about 6am we were hiding from the sunshine breaking through the flimsy net curtain.

Otherwise, it was clean, clean room, clean en suite, very friendly and helpful staff.

Parking is a public underground car park at €23 per 24hr. They only offer a special deal on the parking if you stay for 3 nights+.

We didn't eat breakfast as we hadn't time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear EmmaBop,
Thank you for taking your time to post your serious comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.
We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel’s nice location and the surrounding’s facilities.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,
Bruno Félix
General Manager
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The real reason for staying here is Location, we come here to sleep for 5 days mostly twice a year. It is easy to get to by bus from the airport saving on Taxi fares. Firstly appearances externally, it is very much a 3 star look and distinctly under-whelming. We had a Superior Double Sea view and well worth it (especially as were there on Nice Iron Man day - Start and finish outside our room, though it was very very noisy from 0430 till 22.30 but you could have just shut the double windows!) Good bed, good linen, sqeaky clean good shower etc. lovely having Nespresso and a fridge _ great for your own water, lots of wee grocery shops within a few yards instead of paying silly hotel prices. WiFi mostly fine. Silly downs every day something was missing, no glasses, no espresso cups, no towels but easily resolved with call to reception and instantly dealt with.As has been said before this is a Business hotel for many people, there are no lounge areas, the breakfast area is distinctly plastic but largely the food is good (nobody could want the hot buffet stuff) great range of teas and coffees,breads jams and interestingly honeys, yoghurts and cereals but why some days tinned fruit ? thought that went out with the Ark. Absolutely fine for purpose though. if you stay doddle across to Galion Plage, of course you pay but if you book 5 days at once you get a seriously discounted rate and the staff recognise you and hold you whatever loungers you choose. Excellent lunch too. Oh one thing, not child friendly - there is no sand just very stony pebbles !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear usat4,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to post your kind comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.
We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel’s nice location and the surrounding’s facilities.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We appreciate your compliment which helps us to build a better e-reputation among hotels in Nice. We feel very grateful for having had this chance to receive you.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno Félix
General Manager
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located right on the promenade, the Mecure Nice is near everything you'd want to be close to when visiting Nice. We spent 3 days here and had it not been for the stellar location, this would have been a 3-star experience.

Across the street from the beach, if you pay for a beach facing room, you get treated to beautiful, unobstructed views, seeing throngs of people walking the promenade and street performers to about 2AM every day. Luckily, there were 2 sliding doors in the room that virtually eliminated all noise from the street.

Right outside the hotel, you're pretty much in what's considered the "Old Town" with innumerable eateries, bars and shops. If you go out to the Promenade des Anglais and turn left and follow the beach, you'll hit the Cours Saleya in about 10 minutes. Just make a left wherever you see a passageway and you'll enter a massive open air food and shopping extravaganza to put most others to shame. It's considered very touristy, but worth a visit and a dinner or two. My best guess is that their are several hundred restaurants over 10-15 sq. blocks. It just kept going on and on and nearly every seat at every eatery was taken.

Our room was clean, modern and had a powerful AC unit--a welcome relief as it was 100+ degrees for our entire stay. Now for the problem. Even though it is a non-smoking hotel, people smoke. On the balconies and in their rooms. We had the misfortune of being next to a disrespectful guest who pretty much chain smoked the first 2 days of our stay. What started as a questionable odor in our room because pretty unbearable by our second night. Our room literally smelled like an ashtray. It made sleeping difficult since the smell irritated our lungs.

On day 3, we asked if we could change rooms and since they were fully booked, we couldn't move. The staff didn't seem very sympathetic to our situation and said that fans had been put in the offending room. Needless to say, the following days, our room still smelled like an ashtray. By the time we left, all our clothes smelled like we'd just came back from Vegas.

This is a tough one because I don't want to fault the hotel for a guest smoking, but at the same time, the smoking was going on for more than just a day and anyone cleaning or going to that room would have smelled the smoke--which was also noticeable in the hallway upon exiting the elevator. Since it's a non-smoking hotel, something should have been done with that guest sooner rather than later.

Tip #1: If arriving by train and don't mind a 15 minute walk, this hotel is walking distance. Exit the hotel and head in the direction of the beach. Otherwise, pay a $30 cab fare.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the beach view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank templebar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear templebar8,

Thank you for taking your time to post your kind comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.
We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel’s nice location and the surrounding’s facilities.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service.

We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality. We will try to make some efforts to guarantee the quality in different factors: for example the “house-keeping” part you have mentioned.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception again.

Your faithfully,

Bruno Félix
General Manager
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were in Nice in February for only 3 days before heading to Paris and we thought we could not have picked a better hotel.

What we liked:
1. Superb location - Right on the main road across from the promenade, lovely atmosphere. We walked everywhere. The train station is about 8 minutes walk. Trams are only few minutes away. Airport express bus right outside the hotel. 5 minutes to Galeries Lafayette and new town. The old town is about 10 minutes along the promenade. Heaps of restaurants, cafes and shops around the vicinity.
2. Professional staffs - very friendly and helpful and helped us organised some of our dinner reservations prior to our arrival. They also lent us unbrellas when there was heavy rain one morning.
3. Room & bathroom - we had a Superior Double Room with Ocean View which was definitely worth the money. Having view of Promenade des Anglais and the Mediterranean Sea was amazing. Comfy room, very clean with simple modern deco. Nice comfy bed and pillows. Clean and decent size bathroom. Nespresso machine in the room was nice.
4. Free Wifi - very reliable through out.
6. Breakfast - great reasonable assortment of hot and cold dishes, fresh fruit and drinks. Staffs were friendly.

What we were not so keen about:
It is a business hotel so it has no charm and felt crowded most of the time. Small room. Breakfast was served in large restaurant, very business like, a bit too noisy for my liking. The casino next door could be a bit noisy sometimes.

Our verdict: Nice business hotel. We really like the location and the view of the Mediterranean Sea. Overall pretty good value. We would recommend this hotel for a short stay. Probably not so suitable for those who prefer peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room with ocean view - it will make your stay special and memorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheRookieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear TheRookieTraveller,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Mercure Promenade des Anglais during your stay in Nice. We are appreciated for having taken your time to share your experience on Trip advisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to help our hotel’s reputation building among the hotels in Nice. Also, our staff could get a lot of encouragement from clients’ good comments. All of our staff would strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are sorry to know that a part of service or equipments didn’t achieve some level of your expectation. We are regretted for the unsatisfactory situation that you met, and we promise that the service doesn’t represent the normal quality in our hotel. We still hope to give you a warm reception once again for your next stay in Nice.

Best regards,

Bruno Félix
General Manager
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to Nice to spend our last six night of our honeymoon . The staff was really friendly and helpful . My problem is the room . We paid a large sum of money and we were given a room that is for people with special needs . it looked like a hospital . nothing to compare with the one ones we had the 2 weeks before in Vienna , Salzburg and Munich . Although we had a balcony , we couldn't use it to put chairs in it as it is too narrow . The pictures online are much different than what you'll have in real life ! I have to say that I was very disappointed !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdeleMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear AdeleMalta ,
We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Mercure Promenade des Anglais during your stay in Nice. We are appreciated for having taken your time to share your experience on Trip advisor.

Your feedback is very important to help our hotel’s reputation building among the hotels in Nice. All of our staff would strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are sorry to know that a part of service or equipments didn’t achieve some level of your expectation. We are regretted for the unsatisfactory situation that you met. Our Reservation and Guest Relation department remain always availabe for listenning to guests' demands before their arrival.We welcome our clients to precise their booking details. We still hope to give you a warm reception once again for your next stay in Nice.

Best regards,

Bruno Félix
General Manager
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently and we loved it. We arrived at 9 am and although usual check in wasn't until 3pm they checked us in straight away. The room was as booked and was modern, clean & tidy and everything worked well. Breakfast is self service continental style but there is plenty of choice fruit, yogurt, cereal. They also had a good selections of pastries, pancakes, as well as sausage, bacon & eggs. All of the hotel staff are helpful, efficient & polite. The free Wi-Fi works well but you must log in every time you use it. There is an ice machine and ice buckets on the staircase one flight down towards reception towards from the breakfast room. This also is where the information leaflets are as well. The hotel is in the perfect location right on the beach and close to the old town which in my opinion is where you need to be. I look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtnsjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno F, Directeur général at Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear gtnsjn

Thank you for taking your time to post your kind comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.
We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel’s nice location and the surrounding’s facilities.
And all the breakfast-room team is appreciated about your recommendation.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Nice and it would be an honour for us to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,

Bruno Félix
General Manager
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
0.3 mi away
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
0 mi away
Le Meridien Nice
Le Meridien Nice
#81 of 203 in Nice
2,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#9 of 203 in Nice
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#11 Green Hotel in Nice
#25 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $109 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing