We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good modern hotel well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Ranked #38 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had an enjoyable stay in a sea view room which had a great view and was very well appointed, safe coffe maker kettle hairdryer and with some quirky pottery (mock plastic cups!!). Breakfast had a good selection of things bread fruit juices cereals to suit all tastes.

Downsides - though they need teaching how to cook bacon some burnt to a crisp and some hardly cooked. No baths in the sea view rooms but there are some in the patio view. Watch the shower its very slippery. Balcony Ok for standing only.

Staff Very friendly and helpful. Probably the best place we have stayed in Nice. It forms the lower two floors of the Meridien - a five star hotel one of the highest building on the promenade and one the best locations you could wish..

Room Tip: The sea view is great we upgraded for 70 euros per night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdenhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,964)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,964 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of October and loved the hotel and Nice itself. The staff are very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. The hotel situation is great, right on the sea front and a short walk from a whole host of restaurants. Prices are a little high for breakfast but that's normal in Nice where everything is expensive! The maids were excellent and the rooms were immaculate. Room prices are quite high but when you look around you'll notice that's the same throughout Nice.
Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A good business hotel, centrally located on the gorgeous Promenade des Anglais. Excellent breakfast and a good base for exploring the City. Would certainly go back again for a holiday. Room was comfortable and only thing lacking for me was a view....

Room Tip: Try for a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManxMountaineers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

5 pals and I stayed in 3 adjoining twin rooms for a girlie weekend. We booked the Mercure here, one of several in Nice primarily due to its proximity to the beach which was gorgeous. We were just around the corner from the main shopping area, galaria Lafayette etc. we were also on a fab street with some excellent restaurants which offered great service and good value menus. Delicious and varied menus and we all adored the huge local salads and seafood. We rented loungers and towels for a lazy morning which was fun. The wine bar opposite the hotel was good especially for people wAtching. Check in and out were quick and easy. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

The rooms were newly and innovativly decorated and whilst basic enough were perfect for what we needed with free safe and english tv and a minibar. Whilst we didn't have sea view rooms we slept soundly at the rear rooms and the beds were particularly comfy. For the price paid compared to other options we were happy. Staff were helpful and courteous and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was mostly good with some fresh fruit offered and. Lovely array of breads and continental items. The hot items, as always in France were fatty streaky oily bacon, small sausages and dreadful mass cooked scrambled egg which we avoided. The breakfast area was nice tho with lovely sea views in a bright And cheery area. Sundays had breakfast til 11 which was lovely and relaxing for us as was our check out day.

Would we stay again? We all said yes having stumbled across the other mercures on busier streets but would love a sea view room next time as we saw inside one of the rooms and it was lovely. We did the city open top bus tour which was lovely, we took the bus to monaco which was a lovely scenic journey and returned on the train which was very quick and then we sauntered right down through the main shopping area to our hotel.

Room Tip: We emailed hotel to ask for our groups rooms to beside each other on the same floor for safety and t...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valdi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for 3 nights last week, having booked a superior sea view double, we were upgraded to their Luxury class on arrival. Staff on the front desk were fantastic, very helpful, quick and efficient, lift to third floor..

Although there are a further 3-4 floors above this one, they seem to be part of the Meridien hotel accessed from the other end of the block. The rooms are typical of a central city location, not large, but well appointed and clean. A balcony view was great and the triple glazed doors ensured little noise from the busy coast road outside the hotel remained unintrusive.

Tea and coffee taken care of, in style actually for the coffee with a Nespresso machine and a variety of capsules, ensured a good start to the day! There's a small fridge with space in, so the local Spar shop 100 mfrs up the road is ideal to get real milk and avoid the awful 'creme' capsules.

A lovely shower with an adjustable rainfall head was excellent, slightly quirky was the sliding door to the loo, I suggest you stay with someone you know well.....

What makes this great is the location, 5 minutes to the old town on foot, bus stop outside to the airport (avoid expensive taxis, €4 each way on the bus and it takes 20 minutes and there are 3 an hour), the pedestrianised main street for shopping and restaurants is just 50 metres away.

If you can get a deal off rack rate (which is ludicrous), a comfortable stay in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of sea view rooms, the sound insulation is very good
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It's true what a number of other reviewers have said - there is a rather strange smell to this hotel. The room was nice (but pricey) and in good order - and the sea view great - but you don't get much else. No restaurant and no room service, there is breakfast which was ok. Without the smell it would have been fine - they need to sort it!
Nice is very nice - the old town and castle well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent four nights here recently and although rooms were a bit basic everything you needed was there apart from maybe a drawer or two. The room was freshly decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. A little discerning to have paper cups on the refreshments tray but at least milk was provided and decaff coffee which is sometimes hard to find in French hotels. After an early flight we arrived at the hotel about 11.00 am and our rooms were ready which was a bonus. The hotel was right on the seafront and ideally situated. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: We didn't have a sea view, however, if we went again would definitely pay extra for the stunning...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaMelksham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Nice
Le Meridien Nice
#81 of 204 in Nice
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Nice Marche aux Fleurs
0.3 mi away
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
0.3 mi away
Hotel West End
Hotel West End
#41 of 204 in Nice
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais

Address: 2 rue Halevy, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#11 Green Hotel in Nice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#29 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#29 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $113 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, at n°1 on the Promenade des Anglais,the hotel is located above the famous Ruhl Casino. In thevery heart of the city, you will enjoy Massena pedestriandistrict as well as the typical Old Nice. As far as practicalmatters are concerned, a car park with direct access islocated below the hotel (fee-paying service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Promenade Des Anglais Hotel Nice
Mercure Nice Promenade Hotel Des Anglais
Accor Nice Promenade Des Anglais
Mercure Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing