We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard and good price”
Review of NH Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Nice
Ranked #30 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've just returned from a 3 night stay at the NH Nice, and on the whole it was a very pleasant experience.

Arrival to the hotel was easy - got the 98 bus from the airport for 6 euros to Riquer station, from where it was a 10 minute walk. Reception at the hotel was friendly and they spoke perfect English (which considering I speak terrible French was a godsend!)

The room itself was clean, modern, came with a safe, and was very quiet (had a twin room on the 4th floor). The roof terrace was lovely with a nice bar with a great view of the city. Didn't have time to test out the swimming pool unfortunately though.

As for getting around the city, I couldn't think of a better location. Whilst it wasn't in the old town itself, it was actually closer to a nicer area for restaurants. 10 minute walk brings you to the most amazing wine bar (Vinovore) which served charcutie plates for 13 Euros alongside organic wine. Also L'atelier du port, a great Italian restaurant on Rue Bonaparte. To get into town you can use the tram outside the hotel, but we got a 10 journey ticket for 10 Euros, and only used 8 journeys (4 each) for the whole trip. It's a very walkable city with only places like the Russian church and parts of the Promenade a bit further out.

Also worthwhile is a trip to Monaco - accessible on a quick train trip from Riquer station. This was a highlight of my trip and fun to see how 'the other half' live.

Why isn't it a 5 star rating? Well, the water pressure in the shower is very bad, but there is a bath which is unusual for most chain hotels. Also, the bar on the rooftop states it's open until 10, but on 2 occasions we went on (once around 8pm, where we thought it would be nice to end the day, and once at 3pm) it was closed. Would be good to advertise 'proper' opening times.

But small points really relative to the good time I had. Can't wait to revisit the Cote d'Azur!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellernick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

This definitely not a 4* hotel. When arriving they did not have confirmation of our stay from Alpharooms. They said they would try and sort this out the same afternoon and they did have a 'spare'room but did say that if they couldn't find the booking they would have to charge us for the room. This was despite me handing them my receipt and accommodation voucher. I had to telephone alpharooms back in the Uk and they confirmed my booking and said they would look at sorting it out. Had several visits to reception on our first day and despite having been told that the hotel had received an email they still would not confirm our reservation was paid for. At times some of the reception staff were very rude and unhelpful. It actually took the hotel over 48 hours before they confirmed our reservation. What would have happened if they had not had a spare room? Rooms had been partly modernised, creaky laminate flooring in the bedroom but the bathroom was in dire need of updated with paint peeling off and mould, leaking shower screen. One day we did not receive any replacement towels. Breakfast was average not a lot of choice only bacon and scrambled egg as warm option. They did offer to cook eggs to order , we ordered an omelette but did not get this with the fillings we had requested. Hotel was right near tram station and only a 15 minute walk to the centre and seafront.Would never consider this hotel again or any NH hotel in any other location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel is located a 40euro taxi ride from the airport and a 10-15 minute walk to the old town and the beach.

The rooms are large and the bedroom is modern. The bathrooms are full, but haven't been given the modern upgrade the rooms have been.

The roof top pool was too cold to swim in when we were there, in fact it was warmer to swim in the sea! There was also no towels to hand up on the roof. The views through are very nice.

The thing that impressed us most was the pre- arrivals service. We had been given a restaurant recommendation and due to limited French we asked the hotel to book us a table. They tried ringing for a week before successfully getting through - they even contacted the tourist information office to check the details. This was great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D&D_Holiday_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our second stay at an NH hotel during our trip. The first one was at the NH Calderon in Barcelona. The location on the NH Nice is quite convenient close enough to the old part of the city where you can walk. The rooms are nice but there is a lack of attention to service. We were unloading our bags and a front desk employee walk pass us and didn't even greeted us or offered to help with the bags. The next morning we missed the breakfast by 2 minutes and they would not allow us in even though we were paying for it. The Sous chef at the restaurant his cloth was filthy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very good hotel, great location. Tasty breakfast, huge choice! Location is good, 10 min walk to the centre and the beach. The pool on the roof is very nice so as the bar. Gym and sauna is very handy to. There nothing negative i would find.
I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We found this hotel very nice for the price. Room was fully renovated and very clean. Roof top bar is wonderful. A short walk to Garibaldi square. The light rail system virtually outside the hotel front door gets you anywhere in minutes. Les Hussards across road always open for drink on way home. Had all we could want and can find nothing to complain about. Really enjoyed our stay. Kerry and Dean

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fabulous location, and the makings of a great hotel. Bit rough round the edges, but nothing majorly wrong with it.

Dirty skirting boards, over flowing bins on the roof bar, unstable tiles round the pool area, cracked bathroom floor tiles that needed grouting. Minor details that wouldn't cost a lot to fix.

Couldn't sleep with the window open because of the excessive traffic noise (I know this can't be changed, but the air conditioning made it a lot bearable sleeping with the window shut).

Fabulous beds. Extremely comfy. Didn't want to get up in the morning!

Breakfast was amazing. Put on a bit of weight over the 6 days we were there.

Staff were very friendly and very professional, especially the English guy from the roof top bar.

Would stay again without hesitation.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#10 of 203 in Nice
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Nice

Address: 2-4 Parvis de l'Europe, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Cimiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nice
#10 Green Hotel in Nice
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $85 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Nice hotel offers an exceptionally practical and accessible location, providing guests with the perfect starting point to take advantage of the rich historical heritage of Nice and the French Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Nice Hotel Nice
Nh Hotels Nice
Nh Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing