We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,hotel is ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Ranked #25 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location,hotel is ok”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has great location,right by massena square, come out the hotel, walk to your right, pass massena square, the street is filled with restaurants and shops, the square is nice and safe at night, with police in sight all the time, tram stop is also nearby. The hotel is filled with tourist group, morning front desk staffs are courteous,friendly,and helpful.they helped me with maps and directions. I cannot say the same about their evening staff, the curly hair lady was not very knowledgeable, and not professional. I had a good size privilege room with 2 twins, even it stated on the website all the privilege rooms are renovated , they still look old. Stay here for the location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff, and the reception's team. For your information, our Hotel benefits of constant renovations, in example, this winter we will change the furnitures in our rooms in order to give you the best service.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    537
    212
    68
    38
See reviews for
143
640
48
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After spending three nights, we were quite satisfied with our stay at this hotel. The decor was pleasantly styled in a retro-modern look throughout and was clean. We asked for a quiet room which was located on the second floor with no view. Our standard room was fine and we did not find it cramped for the two of us. The bathroom was also roomy with a shower/tub and enclosed toilet.

At the time of booking we opted for the continental breakfast buttet which also exceeded our expectations. Scrambled & hard boiled eggs, sausages, three selections of cold cuts and cheeses, several types of breads and crossants with fresh jams/preserves, fruits, cereal, three fruit juices, yogurts and of course a nice coffe machine! Not sure why some of the other reviewers did not think the breakfast was good?

The staff and valets were all courteous and helpful.

Yes, we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Since we rented a car from the Nice Airport, finding the hotel was a challenge with the many narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Short stroll to beach . Next door to gallery Lafayette . Also ten second stroll to massena square and main restaurant location .rooms small but who cares as only sleeping there too much else Ti do !!!overall excellent

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaneybabydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We are just back from 5-day stay in this hotel. Very well situated nearby Place Massena in the middle of centre. Close to shopping streets, restaurants and 5 mins walk from beaches.
Hotel staff and especially reception very friendly and helpful. Clean room, small but we are not in Nice to stay in our hotelroom all day. Breakfast was all well, could be a bit more choice of bread.
Somewhat noisy during night because our room was situated on 1st floor at street side and lot of traffic. Overall very good and I would go back if I go next time to Nice.

Room Tip: Do not take room at first floor Rue Gioffredi side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice small hotel great location. Standard rooms are small and old but clean and fine for just 2-3 days. Breakfast was ok not much of a selection.
Good walking distance to shops and resturants very central

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolm37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
Nevertheless, we would like to point out the fact that our american breakfast is rich and varied.
It is made : especially coffee machines offering different kinds of coffee, tea. Several kinds of bread (cereals, complete, poppies, still ....), pastries, juices, cheeses, meats (hams, sausages ...), eggs (scrambled and hard), cereals, fruit salad , vegetables, cheese, fruit, yogurt, ...... and more. For information, our rooms benefit from a change of furniture this winter.
We are sorry not to have met your expectations and be sure we will take care of your comment.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is tired and could do with a little tender loving care. the rooms are small and functional and although the bedding is clean the marks on the walls and tiles make it feel a little grubby, but to be honest if you are on a sightseeing holiday and not spending much time in your room then the location makes up for it - close to the square, near to shops, old Venice and a reasonably short stroll to the beach it doesn't take long to get anywhere ........ By the way wifi is hit and miss.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
For your information, we will renovated the furnitures in our rooms this winter in order to give you the best comfort and service. the breakfast room, the hall and corridor have been renovated a short time ago.
We hope to welcome you again and that you can appreciate our renovated rooms.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location only 10 min walk to beach.

Room a bit noisy and very cramped. Noise to be expected due to location. Also dated decor and furnishings, also only 1 working socket!

Bathroom small and little space for hanging clothes

Reception staff efficient

Didn't eat in so cannot comment, too many lovely restaurants in the old town

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment about the Hotel Massena. We will not fail to share it with all our teams and take note.
We are sorry for the noise in the street but it's true that it is very difficult to control the sounds of our environment in Nice.
For information, our differnets categories of rooms benefits of constant renovations in order to match with guests' expectations. We look forward to welcoming you in the Hotel Massena on your next stay in Nice.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 205 in Nice
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly L'Hotel Massena)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Boutique Hotel in Nice with a character and its famous Belle Epoque facade of the early century, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice welcomes you in a friendly atmosphere. 4 Star hotel with all the comforts in the heart of Nice, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice is the perfect place to stay in Nice for all shopping enthusiasts. All the fashion and luxury within walking distance from the hotel: Galeries Lafayette, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Dior, etc. On the services side, the hotel has a private garage with valet service, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, room service in partnership with a restaurant nearby, and more. Many restaurants are also close to the hotel. Recent renovations have been made to provide a better quality of services. The 110 rooms and suites of the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, fully equipped with new high-end luxury bedding, invite the client to relax between two different activities in the capital city of the French Riviera. On the business side, the hotel has a conference room for up to 45 people. And for Incentives up to 150 delegates for reward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing