We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Nearby Hotels
$176
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$256
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$281
$267
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$191
$181
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$330
$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo(Nice)(Great Value!)
$303
$288
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$397
$325
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$145
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveler rating
414
608
246
77
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
608
246
77
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townprivilege roommassena squareseparate toilettraditional roomgaleries lafayetterecommend this hotelnice carnivalthe buscentral locationbuffet breakfastgood sizeside streetcity breaktea and coffee making facilitiesreception desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is tired and could do with a little tender loving care. the rooms are small and functional and although the bedding is clean the marks on the walls and tiles make it feel a little grubby, but to be honest if you are on a sightseeing holiday and not spending much time in your room then the location makes up for it - close to the square, near to shops, old Venice and a reasonably short stroll to the beach it doesn't take long to get anywhere ........ By the way wifi is hit and miss.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
For your information, we will renovated the furnitures in our rooms this winter in order to give you the best comfort and service. the breakfast room, the hall and corridor have been renovated a short time ago.
We hope to welcome you again and that you can appreciate our renovated rooms.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location only 10 min walk to beach.

Room a bit noisy and very cramped. Noise to be expected due to location. Also dated decor and furnishings, also only 1 working socket!

Bathroom small and little space for hanging clothes

Reception staff efficient

Didn't eat in so cannot comment, too many lovely restaurants in the old town

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment about the Hotel Massena. We will not fail to share it with all our teams and take note.
We are sorry for the noise in the street but it's true that it is very difficult to control the sounds of our environment in Nice.
For information, our differnets categories of rooms benefits of constant renovations in order to match with guests' expectations. We look forward to welcoming you in the Hotel Massena on your next stay in Nice.
Sincerely,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel! We were happy with our stay. Breakfast was good...one of the best we had on our trip. The location is pretty good but a good 5 to 10 minute walk to the beach. But it's close to cafes, restaurants, and shopping. We walked everywhere. The rooms were nice, clean, but quite small. (not abnormal for Europe hotel rooms though).
We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19,842,011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur Général adjoint at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel was good and the staff very friendly and helpfull. We enjoyed the breakfast, which was fantastic. (fresh fruit cocktail not every morning available) Good coffee. I loved the espresso.
Our room was good (with airconditioning), but we have seen other, much smaller rooms. Perfect location, (only a few steps from Galerie Lafayette next door) you can easily walk to the see and the old town. At one side of the hotel is a little supermarket. And the public transport bus for a day trip is cheap: for only 1,50 E you can go to Menton via Monaco.Transport from the airport to the hotel is easy (bus 98) and costs 6 E (more expensive than a normal ticket, special rate; taxi asks 35 E for only 7 kilometers !) so you don't need a special shuttle for a transfer.
We stayed for a week and it was great.

Room Tip: Our room at the court was quiet. Nevertheless, some guests have their television very loud so you can hear it a bit. Luckely, only for one night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geesje v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel met our needs for a 4 day city break in Nice very well. The public areas are very modern and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had plenty of choice for all tastes. I enjoyed the fresh fruit, yoghurt and croissants whereas my husband preferred the scrambled eggs, sausages and toast. The coffee was great and no one hurried you.
Our room was on the first floor and although not large was more than adequate, clean and had coffee making facilities. The bed was comfortable and large. There was wifi and a flat screen tv.
It can get a little loud at weekends with noise from the street below at the front of the hotel.
Reception provided us with maps we requested, extra milk for the coffee in the room and also helped by calling our private airport shuttle company for us when they were running late to pick us up.
The location was very good with easy walking distance to the old town and Promenade des Anglais. It was also easy to get to the main shopping areas and the railway station. This made our trip to Monaco quite easy.

Room Tip: Higher floors may get less street noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews