We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice
Ranked #25 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel! We were happy with our stay. Breakfast was good...one of the best we had on our trip. The location is pretty good but a good 5 to 10 minute walk to the beach. But it's close to cafes, restaurants, and shopping. We walked everywhere. The rooms were nice, clean, but quite small. (not abnormal for Europe hotel rooms though).
We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19842011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur Général adjoint at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    511
    204
    65
    37
See reviews for
130
608
47
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel was good and the staff very friendly and helpfull. We enjoyed the breakfast, which was fantastic. (fresh fruit cocktail not every morning available) Good coffee. I loved the espresso.
Our room was good (with airconditioning), but we have seen other, much smaller rooms. Perfect location, (only a few steps from Galerie Lafayette next door) you can easily walk to the see and the old town. At one side of the hotel is a little supermarket. And the public transport bus for a day trip is cheap: for only 1,50 E you can go to Menton via Monaco.Transport from the airport to the hotel is easy (bus 98) and costs 6 E (more expensive than a normal ticket, special rate; taxi asks 35 E for only 7 kilometers !) so you don't need a special shuttle for a transfer.
We stayed for a week and it was great.

Room Tip: Our room at the court was quiet. Nevertheless, some guests have their television very loud so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geesje v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel met our needs for a 4 day city break in Nice very well. The public areas are very modern and clean. The staff were helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had plenty of choice for all tastes. I enjoyed the fresh fruit, yoghurt and croissants whereas my husband preferred the scrambled eggs, sausages and toast. The coffee was great and no one hurried you.
Our room was on the first floor and although not large was more than adequate, clean and had coffee making facilities. The bed was comfortable and large. There was wifi and a flat screen tv.
It can get a little loud at weekends with noise from the street below at the front of the hotel.
Reception provided us with maps we requested, extra milk for the coffee in the room and also helped by calling our private airport shuttle company for us when they were running late to pick us up.
The location was very good with easy walking distance to the old town and Promenade des Anglais. It was also easy to get to the main shopping areas and the railway station. This made our trip to Monaco quite easy.

Room Tip: Higher floors may get less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife & I along with another couple had a long weekend here at the end of June
The hotel provides good value for it's central location and offers comfortable accommodation and very helpful & pleasant staff.
Breakfasts are plentiful and are well presented.
Overall a most enjoyable stay and would most certainly rebook this for our next trip

Room Tip: Room 515 on the 5th floor has a corner aspect & two balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valpraiso
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Have to agree with previous reviews that there is a mix on offer here. Lovely, mod, public areas - though not an enormous amount of space. These have been renovated and are really in contrast to what is available in the rooms. We had a room on the 4th floor - large bathroom and separate toilet that were all more than adequate. However for an hotel of this ranking pretty weak in the bathroom provisions. The bedroom was roomy but narrow; one could barely move between the dresser/desk and the bed to reach the other side of the room and one certainly had NO space to fit a chair at the desk! Also, this hotel could really do with some sound-proofing; both the windows AND the walls. All that being said - Hotel Massena is in a fantastic location at the heart of Nice, only a block from Place Messena and 5 minutes walk to Rue de L'Anglaise and the beach. Big stars to Emma at the front desk also for charm and great service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2traveloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deouty General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

It would appear that whomever rated this hotel 4* didn't bother to venture into the bedrooms. The lobby and public areas are modern, stylish and could pass as a 4* (minus the luke-warm reception). Even the hallways leading to the rooms appear to have been renovated, but once you get into the room they are very dated, small, poorly lit and as basic as it gets. Clean, but very basic. If you are a traveler who literally ONLY sleeps and showers in your room, this hotel will likely suit you just fine. If the hotel is part of your travel experience, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations.
Just for your information, we constantly make some renovations and for example this next winter, the furniture of the rooms will be changed.... all our bathrooms are renovated and we actually change the shower curtains by walls of glass shower for your comfort.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#23 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice
Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly L'Hotel Massena)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Boutique Hotel in Nice with a character and its famous Belle Epoque facade of the early century, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice welcomes you in a friendly atmosphere. 4 Star hotel with all the comforts in the heart of Nice, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice is the perfect place to stay in Nice for all shopping enthusiasts. All the fashion and luxury within walking distance from the hotel: Galeries Lafayette, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Dior, etc. On the services side, the hotel has a private garage with valet service, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, room service in partnership with Brasseries Gioffredo, and more. Many restaurants are also close to the hotel. Recent renovations have been made to provide a better quality of services. The 110 rooms and suites of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice, fully equipped with new high-end luxury bedding, invite the client to relax between two different activities in the capital city of the French Riviera. On the business side, the hotel has a conference room for up to 45 people. And for Incentives up to 150 delegates for reward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing