We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok-to-good hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Ranked #26 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

As far as French hotels go, this is not bad. Rooms are small, but comfortably furnished, windows are good so it keeps the noise out. Bathroom is a small, walk-in shower that stinks of drains, but as my French colleague says, "what do you expect, it's France and look how old the building is".

Staff are friendly and helpful, wifi is free but times out regularly meaning you have to input the code again, and again (ok on laptop, not on a phone).

Very well located for some of the major attractions in Nice.

Would I come back again? Yes. I've stayed in much worse hotels in Nice.

Room Tip: The 4th floor has a balcony room - great in the Summer, I hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InMyHumbleOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment.
I will just give more information, most of our rooms are renovated and fortunately are not dated from the age of the building (107 years old !). Wifi is free and for security reason is for 45 minutes non stop connection. We do have rooms with balcony on the 3rd and 5th floor and with terrace on the 6th floor.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Staying at the Massena was a pleasant experience, it was handily placed for the Carnival and seafront enjoying spacious and well appointed rooms. Breakfast was varied and plentiful with attentive and multi-lingual staff. It is worth noting that weekends are very busy and careful thought should be given as to the time you take breakfast as it seemed coach parties took over the breakfast area at regular periods. Well worth a visit especially if it can be obtained at a decent price.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room as these are better appointed than the older ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room was clean but even in February it was very hot at night. When we mentioned that the air-con was broken they said they did not switch it on in Feb. The buffet breakfast was very average and they have sausages in a tray next to the scrambled eggs which meant people were using the same spoon for the eggs and sausages. There are no "Do Not Disturb" signs and Housekeeping tried to walk in every morning. I worked late in my room on my laptop so I did not appreciate this.

Room Tip: Don't go for the lowest category. We had the next one up and that was just about ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
Just for information, in February the weatherforecast, doesn't allow us to put air-conditionning in use and the low temperature outside obliged us to use heating. The sytem is not an indiviudal system as at private home but a general system for air conditionning in summer and heating in winter as the large majority of the Hotel. We are sorry not to have met your expectations regarding the buffet breakfast even the larege range of goods proposed to our guests. Concerning the "do not disturb" sign, our Housekeeper would have been delighted to give you one if it was missing in your room.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Messena in February - the week leading uo the the Carnival. Great location, just a couple of minutes walk from Place Massena and therefore the Trams. Also only 5 minutes from the Old Town with it's lovely small and intimate restaurants. Staff very helpful and always greeted you with a broad smile! Buffet breakfast excellent with good choice available. The Gioffredo Bar across the road worth a visit. Very friendly staff and a great 'tapas' (free!) every evening with a drink. Food also very good.

Room Tip: We stayed on 6th Floor, at the back and room had plenty of space, very quiet and the bed was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckhmold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel is in a great location easy access to the main high street, old town and the promenade. We stayed in a standard room, very large comfortable bed. However I will say there was a very unpleasant smell in the bathroom - my partner said this was due to the french drain system so we didn't complain. Overall, would stay here again due to location and not bad price and comfortable bed. Just be warned if you are expecting great wifi the signal does drop in and out often.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Massena hotel was particularly well suited for the Nice Carnival, just a few minutes walk away. Also close to the old town where all the markets, opera and older restaurants are located. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the rooms airy and smartly decorated, there is a control that provided either heating or air conditioning and windows that opened. Our room was on the back of the hotel so very quiet, the bed mattress was firm and very comfortable, separate toilet from a nicely decorated and modern bathroom with good lighting. Breakfast was buffet style and plenty of fresh food coming into the restaurant even for the latecomers. Even though there is no evening restaurant facility this is not a problem as there are plenty of places to get really nice food just a few minutes walk away. Buses and trams were available just a few minutes away and for 1 Euro you can travel anywhere along the coast on a Nice bus, which makes travelling really easy and excellent value. I would highly recommend the Hotel Messena and we will definately return next time in Nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrislegrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I normally book an apartment in Nice but these can be very expensive and quality is sometimes lacking. We noticed a special offer for the Hotel Massena and decided to give it a try. It could not have been more convenient, situated close to the main retail area of the Place Massena. For a small fee the hotel was offering an upgrade to a larger executive room, which we took advantage of. The room was spotlessly clean with all the necessary facilties. Whilst the hotel did not have a dining room for evening meals it did nevertheless provide meals deliverd to your room. Again this was excellent and far better and cheaper than eating in many of the surrounding restaurants. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, particularly at reception.
No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Would recommend an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hywel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Aston La Scala
Hotel Aston La Scala
#51 of 203 in Nice
1,295 reviews
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 203 in Nice
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice

Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly L'Hotel Massena)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $83 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Boutique Hotel in Nice with a character and its famous Belle Epoque facade of the early century, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice welcomes you in a friendly atmosphere. 4 Star hotel with all the comforts in the heart of Nice, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice is the perfect place to stay in Nice for all shopping enthusiasts. All the fashion and luxury within walking distance from the hotel: Galeries Lafayette, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Dior, etc. On the services side, the hotel has a private garage with valet service, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, room service in partnership with a restaurant nearby, and more. Many restaurants are also close to the hotel. Recent renovations have been made to provide a better quality of services. The 110 rooms and suites of the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, fully equipped with new high-end luxury bedding, invite the client to relax between two different activities in the capital city of the French Riviera. On the business side, the hotel has a conference room for up to 45 people. And for Incentives up to 150 delegates for reward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing