We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in an excellent city centre location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Ranked #24 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Easy to find if travelling in by bus from the airport, located near the Galleries Lafayette dept. store, just off Place Massena - an excellent city centre location, very close to the beaches and convenient for buses and trams. Very friendly and efficient English-speaking staff, knowledgeable about their city. Were upgraded to a deluxe room, slightly larger than a traditional room with tea/coffee-making facilities, robes and decent toiletries. Bathroom was a little cramped and could do with updating; separate toilet. Free wifi but if you are in a corner room as we were signal is very difficult to get, so had to go down to bar area where there was no problem accessing Internet. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good choice of breads, fruit and cheeses etc. No facilities for evening meals but this is not a problem as there are so many restaurants nearby. Quiet bar available. Overall, a very good hotel, would recommend and would use again.

Room Tip: Avoid corner room if easy access to Internet is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ahne49uq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our 3 days in this hotel. It is in a great location, close to restaurants, bus stops, the tram, the beautiful Place Massena and not that far from the beach. We were so impressed with the staff. They were extremely affable and helpful. Our room was attractively decorated and a decent size, with a nice sized, comfortable bed. Breakfast was included in our rate and the breakfasts were very generous. The hotel has valet parking at 30 Euro a day, which was a huge convenience in a city where parking is not plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandiegoeater749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hotel Massena is a good choice in Nice. It is very well located on the Place Massena almost adjacent to the walking streets of downtown where there are a number of places to eat. It is also a very short walk over to the old quarter where there are countless shops inhabiting the qauint streets along with a large number of restaurant choices. The hotel is also central for the downtown shopping district and is near the light rail line. The rooms are comfortable but have not been recently redecorated. Breakfasts are excellent and the staff is very accomodating. Would repeat if in Nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doublfault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

After a few days in Provence, my wife and I opted to close out our southern France vacation by spending a night in Nice, both to tour the town itself, as well as use it as a base to make a day trip to Monaco. After researching our hotel options, we decided to spend that night at the Hotel Massena.

The previous reviews quite accurately portrayed what we encountered. It was a several minute, 13 Euro taxi ride from the train station to the hotel. We arrived at 1 pm, room not ready, but we found the reception staff to be quite nice about it, held our bags while we went out for lunch -- and they recommended Le Cenac for lunch, a great meal, totally local and non-touristy!. The hotel lobby is gorgeous. Our room, booked through Expedia, was as small as predicted, but not to an extent to induce claustrophobia. It was basic in furnishings. The king size bed was quite comfortable. Our room was not hot, but it wasn't particularly cool either, took basically all night with the air conditioning set at 15 degrees and fan on high to get the temperature the way we really wished it to be. The bathroom was spacious, double sinks, minimal shelf space, with the curious French fashion of having the toilet in a totally separate room to the right. The shower was of good temperature and strength. There were several bathroom amenities such as a nail file and shower cap, but no soap for the sink. There was some nice bath gel available via a wall mounted dispenser in the shower. With the windows closed, the room was as quiet as could be. The WiFi worked fine, nice speed, just annoyingly having to re-sign in every so often.

We had booked the room with breakfast included, and it was also as basic as others have noted, i.e. scrambled eggs, some cereals and breads, of course juice and coffee.

Again, have to give "props" to the front desk staff, as there was never a line to ask a question, and they consistently graciously gave us helpful information regarding restaurants, the buses to Monaco and the airport. I can get by in French, but was much easier on the brain to converse in English, in which most of the staff were quite fluent.

The convenient location is a definite plus. Walk out the door and two blocks to the right, past a very nice Galeries Lafayette, and there is the Place Messina and all its restaurants. Walk out the door a few yards to the left, then head south one block, east one block, and you are at the bus stand for those buses. Just as a hint, if you plan to use the buses, scope it out before you are carrying luggage, the signage is hard to locate. The Vieille Ville is just a couple blocks further south, just over the tram tracks.

Noting the positives and negatives, we found it difficult to grant the Massena a full five, and there is of course no 4.5 rating, thus the 4.0. It really is a fine place to stay in Nice and at pretty reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff .
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I did a lot of research on Trip Advisor before traveling to Nice to ensure we selected a nice AND affordable hotel. Upon arrival to Nice, we were delighted to realize our hotel was in a very central location- a block away from Place Massena (a big plaza with gelato, shops, etc. and right near the tramline) and about a 5 min walk from Vieux Nice (Old Town Nice) and the same distance from the water. After spending several days walking all over the city, we felt that our location was definitely perfect (for us) and the hotel a lot nicer (from the outside) than most we saw (with the exception of course of the 5 star resorts! :)

The Hotel Massena is very impressive upon entrance to the lobby and the hallways are all very modern in decor. However, when we got into our room, it was more than a bit outdated. It could have done with a facelift. However, we really only were in the room to sleep at nights, so it did the job. It was spacious (for Europe) and had a big bathroom with a shower and separate toilet area. Apparently there are other rooms that are decorated in a more modern fashion but sold at a higher cost. As we had booked through Hotels.com, we didn't know which type of room we were going to have (modern or older).

All in all, we were happy with the experience. The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and the location was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bucks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
I will certainly share your observations with the entire hotel staff and are sorry not to have met your expectations regarding the furniture in the room. We constantly make some renovations and will take care of your remark.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is in a fantastic location, straight out of the front door and into the beautiful square. Near to tram stops, the sea, train station it couldn't be better. We have a room on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel, it was nice & quiet, air con worked ok and it was very comfortable. Breakfast was good, plenty of fruit & cereals, and lovely French bread, my only complaint would be was there was no plain bread for toasting, only the sweet brioche type.
We took the train to both Antibes & Monaco, great service at a great price only 10 euros for the 2 of us and we could stop & get on and off as we pleased. The promenade is great for walking and those who wish to hire a bicycle only 1 euro for a day. I feel the UK could learn a lot from them as transport inc buses & trams are so cheap, regular & clean!! Can recommend restaurant Charlotte on Rue Alberti, just a short walk from the hotel, the food is superb.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel, there is no view but it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days in July / August 2012. It is very centrally located in side street off Place Massena. Close to both the old town and the shopping streets. To the beach it is 5 minutes to go. The hotel is a typically French 4 - stars, with a modern lobby and facade. But the standard room that we chose is far and away the expectation from a 4 star in Norway. But even though the room was small, it was clean here - and that's what matters. We have already booked again stay here - this time on the top floor / suite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eivind A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice

Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly L'Hotel Massena)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $87 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Boutique Hotel in Nice with a character and its famous Belle Epoque facade of the early century, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice welcomes you in a friendly atmosphere. 4 Star hotel with all the comforts in the heart of Nice, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice is the perfect place to stay in Nice for all shopping enthusiasts. All the fashion and luxury within walking distance from the hotel: Galeries Lafayette, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Dior, etc. On the services side, the hotel has a private garage with valet service, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, room service in partnership with a restaurant nearby, and more. Many restaurants are also close to the hotel. Recent renovations have been made to provide a better quality of services. The 110 rooms and suites of the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, fully equipped with new high-end luxury bedding, invite the client to relax between two different activities in the capital city of the French Riviera. On the business side, the hotel has a conference room for up to 45 people. And for Incentives up to 150 delegates for reward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing