We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Ranked #28 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is in a fantastic location, straight out of the front door and into the beautiful square. Near to tram stops, the sea, train station it couldn't be better. We have a room on the 1st floor at the back of the hotel, it was nice & quiet, air con worked ok and it was very comfortable. Breakfast was good, plenty of fruit & cereals, and lovely French bread, my only complaint would be was there was no plain bread for toasting, only the sweet brioche type.
We took the train to both Antibes & Monaco, great service at a great price only 10 euros for the 2 of us and we could stop & get on and off as we pleased. The promenade is great for walking and those who wish to hire a bicycle only 1 euro for a day. I feel the UK could learn a lot from them as transport inc buses & trams are so cheap, regular & clean!! Can recommend restaurant Charlotte on Rue Alberti, just a short walk from the hotel, the food is superb.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel, there is no view but it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    552
    215
    68
    40
See reviews for
150
652
49
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lorenskog Municipality, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days in July / August 2012. It is very centrally located in side street off Place Massena. Close to both the old town and the shopping streets. To the beach it is 5 minutes to go. The hotel is a typically French 4 - stars, with a modern lobby and facade. But the standard room that we chose is far and away the expectation from a 4 star in Norway. But even though the room was small, it was clean here - and that's what matters. We have already booked again stay here - this time on the top floor / suite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eivind A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

this was a wonderful experience. The entire staff made you feel valued and at home. Everyone very helpful, easy walking distance to pretty much everything. Not really in a "hotel district". Lots of good dining options nearby. On same trip, had a terrible experience at Novotel in Paris, so this was a welcome change.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdubdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed from the 13th to the 18th September and have no complaints at all.The hotel is in a great location just a short stroll from the Massena square in fact we stayed on the 5th floor with a balcony and was able to see the square from there.Our room was fine, a bit small but had everything you need.The balcony made a great difference. Breakfast was very good again everything you need ,lovely fresh breads beautiful slices of ham and a very nice selection of cheeses.They have large flasks of coffee which was very mild and on my last day I realised that you can ask for an espresso at the counter.I found the staff at the front desk really very nice as were the breakfast staff.I would stay in this hotel again, hopefully next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor with a balcony and had a great sleep.no noise from the traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a very nice location and the rooms have been updated. The personnel are pleasant, but do nothing they promise. First day our room was very hot. They sent up the housekeeper who cranked the temperature to the lowest setting and the fan to the highest. She did not even know where the air was supposed to come out. An hour later, still hot. (Thank God this wasn't the middle of the summer.) A call to the front desk produced the bell hop. "Oh no, you have it on wrong setting, you cannot do this". (We never touched the controls) He sent it to middle temp (70 degrees) and middle fan speed. Another hour later, still 80-85 degrees in the room. The desk said they will send the technichian." We went out for a walk, returning about 5 pm. They said, "The technician just left for the day". We asked to change rooms. They were fully booked. We asked for a fan. This was supplied and we managed to sleep that night. The next morning, we again asked to change rooms, but they said they had other people coming in. My husband suggested they put them in that room but the hotel refused. The technician showed up while we were out in the morning. He told the desk the air was working, but it could not cool this large room (about 30% larger than a Holiday Inn room). So here is the point: Ours could not have been the first complaint they have had with the air conditioning, yet they continued the charade that they were doing something about it. The second day, 2 of the 4 lights in the bathroom went out. And of course they weren't replaced. Final straw: We asked for a 4:30 wake up call the morning of our departure. They did call, but not until 4:50. As for JD Glasgow's comment: Excellent breakfast, you have got to be kidding. We had it the first morning. Powdered eggs-Yuk!. And they charge you more than 20 Euros pp. You are better off walking a few blocks west of the square and getting the Petit DeJuenere: 6 Euros.

Room Tip: Stay away from #215. The couple we were traveling with were in 222 and they had adequate air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssommer4598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property.
All of us are committed to provide the highest degree of comfort and service to all our guests. Your evaluation is important, telling us what we do a good job or what we have to improve.
We are sorry not to have met your expectations and be sure we will take care of your comment.
Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Rooms have French doors onto small balconies overlooking the street. there was a small pigeon nuisance. Night time revelers were noisy. Breakfast was poor. Location was perfect for access to Old Nice and the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tyrolpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment about the Hotel Massena. We will not fail to share it with all our teams and take note.
We are sincerely sorry to hear that noise has been a source of embarrassment for you. Know that our historic Hotel-Nice-benefits of continuous improvement and isolation rooms are part of. We are sorry for the noise in the street but it's true that it is very difficult to control the sounds of our environment in Nice and also we can't avoid some birds "pigeon" to be there.
For information, our breakfast is an american breaksfast with hot and cold drinks, several sorts of pastries and breads, yogurts, cheeses, ham, scrambled egges, sausages, fresh fruits and vegetables salads,.... and are sorry not to have reach your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you in the Hotel Massena on your next stay in Nice.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Both myself and wife went to this hotel in July 2012 and really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Massena. The room we received was on the 5th floor with no noise from the road. Beds were comfortable and the room was extremely clean. Location of the hotel was great for everything. Excellent breakfast in a nice modern dining room. Staff extremely pleasant and we would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelnicemassena, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for selecting the Hotel Massena during your last visit in Nice and the time you took to write us the interest you attach to our property. I am very delighted to read your comment and will be happy to inform our staff about it.
I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.
Best Regards,
Georges PRADIER
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#9 of 204 in Nice
806 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 204 in Nice
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Address: 58 rue Gioffredo, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly L'Hotel Massena)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Boutique Hotel in Nice with a character and its famous Belle Epoque facade of the early century, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice welcomes you in a friendly atmosphere. 4 Star hotel with all the comforts in the heart of Nice, the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice is the perfect place to stay in Nice for all shopping enthusiasts. All the fashion and luxury within walking distance from the hotel: Galeries Lafayette, Louis Vuitton, Hermes, Dior, etc. On the services side, the hotel has a private garage with valet service, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, room service in partnership with a restaurant nearby, and more. Many restaurants are also close to the hotel. Recent renovations have been made to provide a better quality of services. The 110 rooms and suites of the Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice, fully equipped with new high-end luxury bedding, invite the client to relax between two different activities in the capital city of the French Riviera. On the business side, the hotel has a conference room for up to 45 people. And for Incentives up to 150 delegates for reward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Massena
l Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing