We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Aston Clarion - Anything But Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aston La Scala
Ranked #46 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed June 27, 2013

To call the Hotel Aston Clarion a 4 star hotel is laughable. I honestly barely know where to begin.

Exposed pipes in our bathroom, chunks of wallpaper peeling from the walls, stained sheets, and an incessant sewage smell in our bathroom. Many of the staff were disinterested and the room cleaning was questionable.

The hotel's only redeeming values are its central location, decent breakfast buffet, and stellar rooftop bar views - without these I would have awarded 1 star.

You'll see in prior reviews that the hotel is being remodeled and I was obviously placed in a "room classique" as opposed to the modern, refurnished rooms. These shoddy, outdated rooms still price at 350 Euros (according to the sign in the lobby) or 250 Euros (according to the back of our door), which is entirely unacceptable. They should not be renting out these 1 or 2-star older rooms if they are trying to present themselves as 4-star material and they will continue to have exceedingly dissatisfied customers until they stop doing so.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Vanilla27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelAston, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guests,

First, we thank you for taking the time to share with us your impressions about your recent stay in our hotel.

It’s true, the Grand Hotel Aston has a very unique central localization in the very touristic part of Nice, just a few step from the Promenade des Anglais, the Old town, the shopping area and soon to come, just in front of a brand new urban park.

We trully apologize for the inconveniences, you have reported to us on this message.
We would have like to be informed on the spot about these inconveniences so we could have had to occasion to correct these defaults at the time of your stay.

May we take this opportunity to inform you that we already have renovated about 70% of our rooms in addition of a lot of other safety and comfort renovations that are not especially immidiatly visible to our guest.

These renovated bedrooms are available from the superior category with a slight rate difference but they will definitely meet all your expectations in terms of decoration and equipments.

We are planning on continuing our renovations with the so called classical room or budget room within a short time. This is also the reason why these rooms are always sold at a lowest rate nowadays.

We truly hope to be able to welcome you back again here in Nice and we can only encourage you to proceed your booking with at minimum a superior bedroom for your most pleasant satisfaction.

Meanwhile, please be assured of our very best attention at all time,

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel really needs to work on the restoration of indoors facilities. Furnitures, bathrooms, windows, beds, doors, ceilings, flooring, lights, air conditioned are so below standard (and old, damaged and dirty) that makes you think about running away from the first minute you see this.
On top of that, the walls on the bathroom have black mold. It is painfull to take a shower surrounded with several black dots all over the walls!!! The WC was in a separate room, but was not better: with wallpaper from decades ago falling apart and showing black molds behind them!!!
The ceiling was damaged in many places, specially in the entrance, giving you a ver nice welcoming.
The room is very dark and small.
We managed to know that some rooms in the hotel were renovated. We were not sure if we were in one of them (mostly because of some newer painting in the main room). They could have informed people about this. We could have gladly paid a different price for a better room, or by defect we could have given a different appreciation of the value of the room for a cheaper not renovated one.
The swimming pool was closed during our stay. Worst of all, one worker almost yells that they are repairing it and no entrance was allowed.
It really puts a low balance value/money for your stay. This hotel does not deserve to be 4 stars.

Room Tip: If it was inevitable to book this hotel, ask for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelAston, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guests,

First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your impression about our hotel.

It’s true we have had a lot of renovations the last 3 years and at today’s date about 70% of our rooms have already been completely renovated, and as regarding the content of your comment I am sure, you were not in one of them.
Having say that, I can assure you that all bedrooms whatever category they are, are daily cleaned and disinfected properly and checked daily.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience of the swimming pool being inaccessible during your stay.
Be assured that our own staff will not have allow himself in “screaming" at you and I whished we would have immediately alerted us about this, so we could have react with the external company doing the renovations and security works up there.

In terms of decoration and equipments, we take into account all your comments for the most pleasant satisfaction of our clients, and we thank you for this constructive remarks.

May we strongly suggest that renovated bedroom are booked on a next visit, this avoiding any form of deception regardless of the pricing of these budget bedroom.

With our repeated apologies, please be assured of our very best attention at all time,
Yours Sincerely,

Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for beach, tram, shops and old town. The room was clean modern and spacious. The staff were very helpfull especially when BA lost our luggage. The staff dealt with it for us by sorting it out with the airport and delivered it straight to our room. The breakfast was fresh and plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynseyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelAston, deputy General Manager at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guests,

First, we thank you for your encouragements.
This kind of message, seek us to continue to do the best to make every efforts to garanty a pleasant stay to our clients.
The staff will be very glad of this one too, them, who always try to do as much as possible for our guest.

It’s true that the localization of the Grand Hotel Aston is very great. 5 minutes walking to the famous “Promenades des Anglais”, in front on the Old City, and very close to the nice shopping avenues.

We look forward to welcome you again and thank you once more for your compliments.

Yours Sincerely


Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

First of all, I do not work for this hotel or any other hotel. We booked this hotel based on the reviews of the ease of getting to the airport and it is owned by Choice Hotels. We read the reviews and we were a little afraid but it has become clear to me that those negative results were not truthful. The reception desk was very 'French'. Not ooozing with niceness, simply cordial enough to complete our business transaction of checking in. The bellman was amazingly friendly and cheerfully took our bags and stored them for us because the room was not ready (it was noon). He also helped to find a very expensive item my husband left in the lobby, getting on his hands and knees to locate the item on the floor. Wow! That is good service. When we got to our room, #411, I think, it was amazing. Polished quartz white tile floors and beautiful spa-like bathroom with floor to ceiling tiles. European shower fixtures, rainwater shower, huge soaking tub, modern vessal sink on a nice vanity. The linens were nicer than expected. The bed was very comfortable, very clean, white duvet cover on a down comforter. Many pillows to choose from that would please any type of sleeper. There was a mini-bar in the room. We took out their items and used the refrigerator, filling it with our own items. We had 3 windows with rolling shutters that looked out onto the street and the promenade across the street, which is under construction at this time. The view was amazing and it will be incredible once the construction is completed. We could enjoy opening the huge windows which allowed us to hear churchbells and the buzz of the community but it was never too loud. The pool was closed but that was ok with us because we have a pool in our backyard and if I wanted to enjoy water, I could have walked to the Mediterranian, which was a 5-7 minute walk away. The location of this hotel was also amazing, close to everything, including train transportation, busses, Old Town, all the tourist attractions, the Double Decker bus tour and most importantly, transportation to the airport, which is 6E per person. ** Huge tips!! The French barely tolerate people. Don't let that get you down. Also - unless you actually flag down the busses, they will not stop!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieAnneAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelAston, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guests,

There is only one word coming to my mind when reading your comment and it is :
THANK YOU !!!!

Thank you for taking the time to do so, thank you for being so explicit with our facilities, our staff professionalism attitude in trying to get all our visitor pleased and of course, thank you for mentionning all alspect of our hotel.

I am very happy to annonce you that this comming winter, other major changes will take place in our hotel:
to star with, the end of the works in front of the hotel which nowedays, is not noisy anymore and is due to be given back to the public this late september.
Also, we will change our guest lift in addition to further renovations of our clasical or so called budget bedroom.

I trully hoppe to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact me personnaly on your next visit to nice.

With my repeated thanks, please be assured of our very best attention at all time.

Your Sincerely,


Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had great time @ this hotel, we book deluxe room which all of you should , all this people complaining here dont want to pay a bit extra for the comfort, if you want a decent hotel close to everything you need , then this is the place , very nice staff and very clean room with nice view and big terrace. the staff are very friendly and helpful , our small mirror broke into the bathroom, and we said at the reception and for our surprise it was replaced by a new one when we got back from town the same day! breakfast is like any other 4 star, buffet. they have a good bar @ 7th floor with nice views over the city. I will recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you book deluxe and 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefoodcomesfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelAston, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guests,

We trully thank you for sharing with us your experience in the Grand Hotel Aston.

We are very happy to read your comment.

It’s a real encouragement to all of us in continuing our efforts in making our guest feeling at home when away from home.

We trully thank you for having left a constructive comment which on top of that is a good one,
I personnaly thank you for doing so, it will really motive our entire staff and I will never thank you enough for that.

I can’t wait to welcome you back here in the Grand Hotel Aston and meanwhile, please be assured of my very best attention at each time,

Yours Sincerely,


Tony Tsirepas
Deputy Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel is old. It shows every where from the elevator to the corridor to the room. We were given the room on the 3rd floor and instantly found water problem. The pressure was so low you couldn't get a hot shower without getting burned! They really should do some work on the lighting as it was quite dark in the room even after turning on all the lamps but the room was actually facing the street so it helped a bit. Then swiftly we were offered to change to another room, which was bigger, so we assumed we were upgraded. But alas, this room was facing another building which made it even dimmer. By that point, we were too lazy to ask for another change.
The breakfast room was lovely though, spacious and cozy. A wide variation of menu could be found and the staff was polite and friendly. The staff at the reception counter was another story. Mostly didn't bother to smile at all, let alone say hi. There was even a lady who answered our questions about transportation to Cannes in a "stand-off-ish" way but luckily her male colleague came to our rescue and explained things in more details. He was still there when we got back from evening trip to Cannes and asked if we had fun.
The location is superb of course. Everything is like just there, in walking distance.
Frankly if we are coming back to Nice, this one won't certainly be on our list of options.

Room Tip: We still think the ones facing the front street are better, lighting wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fendi1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelAston, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guests,

We thank you to give to us your feedback about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Aston.

We are happy to read that you have found the localization of our hotel to be central and close from all commodities in city center of Nice, just in front of the Old town and 5 minutes walking to the famous and beautiful “Promenades des Anglais”.

We are also happy to hear that the staff have offered to change you from room to an other one.

Of course this very attractive location of the hotel could shows some disadvantages to some of our visitors, and one of them is the being surrendered with other buildings around us on the rear of the hotel. May we suggest that for your next stay, a executive bedroom is booked.

Indeed, these ones have already been totally renovated the last year and are facing the brand new park, suposed to be re opened to the public sometime in September.
At today’s date, refurbished bedrooms represent more than 70% of our inventory. All this for a slight rate difference.

Also, please be informed that we keep on planning renovations for this coming winter, such as the lifts and probably more rooms for our guest most satisfaction.

We are very pleased that the breakfast room with the professional attitude of our staff have pleased you.
It’s everyones aim to pay attention and to make satisfaction of our guests a priority.

We all look forward to welcome you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Aston Nice certainly has seen better days already. It seemed to us very "worn out". The pool unfortunately (or fortunately for further guests) was under construction. We thought we should have been informed about that before our booking (eg on homepage), as this was one of the main reasons to book it.
We did not book breakfast but took it one time to give it a try. For that price (18 EUR) this was by far the worst breakfast I have ever seen in a 4 to 5* hotel But ok, I need to admit that Nizze in general is very expensive for food. But you can get at least same quality breakfast just 5 Meters outside the hotel in one of the bistros and even you can sit in the sun and not in sum "dark", old styled hotel-breakfast-room.
The lift is dramatically slow and narrow - could also need some refurbishment.
We had a room on the 6th floor that are said to be the better ones and renovated. Well, the room was not so bad, but do not expect too much. It is OK, nothing more. For sure it could be a bit cleaner, and the spoons of the coffee/tea facility could be cleaned daily.
Positive is the location of the hotel. You can reach all parts of the town very quickly by walking. Also a bus to the airport (nr 98) stops almost in fornt of.
People actually were nice and friendly - also not too tipical for the rest of our experiences at Cote d'Azure.

Room Tip: As written, only 6th floor is renovated and I do not want to see the other rooms then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelAston, Deputy General Manager at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear guests,

We would to thank you for taking the time to inform us about your impressions on our establishment during your last stay. This will allow us to review our operation in order to always improve our services rendered to our valued guest.

Indeed, the Grand Hotel Aston benefits of an amazing localization. The hotel is just in front of the Old town, close to the shopping pedestrian streets, and 5 minutes walking distance to the beaches and the famous “Promenades des Anglais”

We are surprised to read that our breakfast buffet has not pleased you since it usually meets a great success with our guest. But we thank you to draw our attention on this point, and we apologize one more time for the inconveniences you may have faced.

We also take this opportunity to inform you that in addition of the 70% of the bedroom being renovated lately, and much more infrastructures and equipments especially carried on for our guest safety and comfort that are not especially visible by our visitors, that further renovations will take place this coming winter, such as the Lifts and probably an other floor of the classical bedroom category.

Not mentioning the swimming pool area that works were unfortunately delayed due to the exceptional bad waither conditions here in nice during spring time, just like anywhere else in Europe by the way.

Just we would like to rectified that the delay in the reopening of this facility was well advertised on all our web pages including of the ones of our partners from the moment we where informed of the delay, early may.
We are sorry that these information’s have not been accessible to you.
Accept one more time our apologies for this.

Thanking you again for all these precious information, please be assured of our very best attention at all time,

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#54 of 203 in Nice
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aston La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aston La Scala

Address: 12 avenue Felix Faure, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Grand Hotel Aston Clarion Nice)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#31 Business Hotel in Nice
#48 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $100 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aston La Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifull hotel in the center of Nice, 3 minutes away from Place Massena, 5 minutes away from the beach and the Promenade des Anglais. Bar and pool on the roof top of the hotel with a 360° view. Enjoy our rooms with a modern style, starting with our comfort, privilege rooms to our Premium rooms and suites with a view over the Parc "Promenade du Paillon". Our restaurant l'Horloge is open all year and welcomes you to savor French seasonal cuisine. Reception non stop, concierge and a luggage carrier at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aston La Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Nice
Clarion Nice
Nice Clarion
Nice Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing