We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to see Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aston La Scala
Ranked #47 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from three nights at this Hotel for our twentieth wedding anniversary. We had read mixed reviews but we loved it! So central, beautiful room on the forth floor with really comfortable bed. Great breakfasts and friendly staff. The roof pool and terrace were an added bonus and great for relaxing after sight seeing. Yes, there are ground works going on in the area but this isn't the hotels fault and the sound proofing was brilliant. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The forth fifth and sixth floor rooms have been refurbished
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineATTIA, Directeur général at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Guests,



We are pleased to read you chose our hotel for an important celebration such as an anniversary. Moreover we are proud to have reached all your expectations during your stay! More than 70% of our rooms have been renovated to offer our guests a comfortable and luxury stay.

The city of Nice has decided to create a relaxing green area and luckily we are located just in front. Thus while waiting the end of the works we are impatient to offer our guests this so expected green park. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again for another memorable stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aston La Scala
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed in various hotels in Nice including the 5 star ones. Returned yesterday from Nice and had a wonderful time at the Grand Aston. I can only comment on the rooms on the 5th floor which were clean, comfortable and quiet. Few small issues but nothing to spoil our stay .Breakfast plentiful with good choice of food. This hotel is in the best location for the buses and the Old Town. We will definitely be back in this hotel and are already looking for next year.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have been refurbished classic rooms have not so best to go for a superior room at the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Unhappy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineATTIA, Directeur général at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Guests,



First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay with us. Our teams work hard to offer our guests an outstanding service and a memorable stay so we are pleased to read you noticed their efforts and encourage them to keep up. We are proud to be in the heart of Nice city and to offer you an ideal location for a relaxing stay close to most touristic places.

We look forward to welcome you again next year …or earlier if waiting a year becomes irresistible!

Please be assured of our very best attention at each time,

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I made the mistake of not doing enough research when booking this hotel . Having read the reviews I can confirm that ALL of them are accurate .

The rooms on the lower floors are poor . The rooms on the upper floors are good . The location is good . The terrace on the sixth floor is attractive . If you want a quiet read / smoke the terrace by the swimming pool on the seventh floor has a very relaxing ambience .

BUT the sound proofing in the room I had was so poor I might as well have been sleeping in the street . I'm afraid the problem wasn't the works going on in the park opposite - it was the traffic . So it's a permanent feature .

The works in the gardens opposite this hotel are not due to be completed until September 2013 . Looking at the progress ( or lack of ) my guess is they will not be completed by then . At the moment it's a building site but will be great when finished .

I wouldn't stay here again .

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank Gwentman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as it was our 15th wedding anniversary so we "thought" it would be a treat ....wrong ! the location is ideal , but with long term ground works in the front of the hotel it lacks ambience in the immediate vicinity , but don't get me completely wrong Nice it'self is beautiful , with many different areas to walk to , for lunch , drinks etc , so don't be put of Nice .

Our main concern was on several points , firstly we had room 231 , which is clearly not one that has been refurbished , as it had a very old feel about it , but worse was the "continual" din from outside air conditioning machines , that were very annoying at night . Secondly the view was that of a brick wall and a canopy , so unless you are 7 feet tall , forget any view . Thirdly , "breakfast " , whilst the seating areas were clean, the buffet was very poor , with regular empty serving dishes , juices , even milk ..it was as if the staff , or management had no idea of how to provide a service , and I don't know about you but I hate , wandering around a buffet as if I'm looking for scraps , and having to point out to the staff so much wrong doings . Now we didn't complain , no one seemed to , but the bottom line was there was no management , or figure authority anywhere to be seen , so I guess we complain by choosing another hotel on our next visit .Fourthly there are two small lifts (5 of a capacity , but not if you had luggage! ) and often queues were to be found , so only being on the second floor we took the stairs , which are not sign posted , and once found were like a tradesmans entry , with painted cement floors .We may have been unlucky , but when you pay a fair price you expect the very basics of a nice room which you can see out off , food available at breakfast , and staff that appear at least to want your custom , none of which we received . If you want a good location then this has it , but be careful of giving good money away , as we paid for 4 star and maybe scraped a 2-3 ?

Room Tip: Take a moment to ask to see your room , as you have read mixed reports , that way unlike us you are...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donmag520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I only can confirm the previous review apart from the fact that I don't think the public areas are 'nice'. We stayed on the 3rd floor - not good. I would have thought that you get a bit more service/flexibility from a hotel when you stay in an 'old' room.
we have just checked out - it is Sunday, 12:30, because we had to - no flexibility. So we wanted to spend the afternoon at the pool as the weather is really nice. Well, its closed.
Just now a guest passed me, who got his own drink from the bar downstairs (1floor) to bring it up to the bar (7thfloor) - because there is no service up here either!
So many hotels in the area.......

Room Tip: check one of the many hotels in the same area - simple.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank epicureaninlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

First of all, major construction and noise all day long, jack hammers, trucks, noise unbearable.
Great location for the beach, walking a couple of blocks gets you there. The public rooms even hallways are very nice, open the door of your rooms on the 2 and 3 floor, no refurbishing since the hotel was built. Curtains dry rotting off the filthy windows, stained rugs, nasty. Would I go ther again, no way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fantastic hotel. It could easily be a 5 star one. The rooms were very luxurious and clean. The view from the roof was breathtaking and the pool was even better. Very close to local restaurants and sweetshops and only a couple of minute's walk from the beach. The staff were very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miklos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineATTIA, Directeur général at Hotel Aston La Scala, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

We have been such pleased to read your comment and we thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with future guests. Your congratulations encourage our teams to keep up the great work! For more details, more than 70% of our rooms have recently been renovated to assure our guests a memorable stay at Grand Hotel Aston.

Located in the heart of Nice our guests are at the best place for any expectation: bus and tramway stops in front of the Hotel, shopping avenues and sea side at 5 min walking distance. People who prefer to chill in, they could just admire the panoramic view from our rooftop terrace. We look forward to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay with us!

Yours Sincerely


Tony Tsirepas
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#51 of 204 in Nice
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#41 of 204 in Nice
1,025 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aston La Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aston La Scala

Address: 12 avenue Felix Faure, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Grand Hotel Aston Clarion Nice)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#31 Business Hotel in Nice
#48 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $112 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aston La Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifull hotel in the center of Nice, 3 minutes away from Place Massena, 5 minutes away from the beach and the Promenade des Anglais. Bar and pool on the roof top of the hotel with a 360° view. Enjoy our rooms with a modern style, starting with our comfort, privilege rooms to our Premium rooms and suites with a view over the Parc "Promenade du Paillon". Our restaurant l'Horloge is open all year and welcomes you to savor French seasonal cuisine. Reception non stop, concierge and a luggage carrier at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aston La Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Nice
Clarion Nice
Nice Clarion
Nice Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing