We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #32 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Everything in hotel was excelent.

Just one small thing.... Restaurant manager is not so friendly. The best in restaurant was man Younkee from Maroco. Fast, always some jokes and very friendly. Everything other was super!!! Thank you all personal for holliday :)

Blue beach is very expensive and not so best quality. 35 EUR 2 beds+ 1 umbrella for one day. Beach is for children not so good. Take a water boots

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is on a very good location if you appreciate the views and want to be near Promenade des Anglais. However, the hotel is quite far away from the old town and tram line.

Service was friendly and the breakfast was good. Our room was on 4th floor. Another of the elevators wasn't working and the other one was quite slow.

About cleaning. At least one of the cleaning maids had a weird habit of waking the floor up by shouting "Service, service" in the morning. Even when we had the sign "Do not disturb", this lady knocked on the door in order to clean the room. What was worst, our room was not the promised one "with garden view". Nevertheless, a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view to the Mediterranean. If you take a room with a garden view, make sure in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Please read between the lines of the positive comments, these folks all stayed in renovated rooms on the 5th and 6th floor with sea view. We stayed in a 3rd floor room with 1 window facing a wall! The bathroom ceiling was covered with mould. There are cracks on the sink. Dark carpeted, phone, air conditioning and ventilation fan does not work. Please see attached pictures! No response from reception. Restaurant manager is rude. The only good thing about this hotel is the location and the exterior..

Room Tip: Please ask for a room on the 5th and 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, General Manager at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Sir,

First of all, all the team of the West End Hôtel would like to thank you for the time you spend to write and took pictures on our property. We take care every day of all our comment, giving us the occasion to improve our standard. We are also glad to read your second comment on us.

We see that you did not like the room you've reserved, as classic one, the basic one. As you saw during your stay, we have classic room, but also privilege, for family, superior, deluxe, junior suite, and suite, so people can easily choose between different kind of room, size, view, et decoration. We will mention that you moved on another room during your stay, on the fifth floor, and you enjoyed it.

We hope you've enjoyed the marmelade we offer to you during your stay, as a simple gift of our regional gastronomic product. Please come to discover our new breakfast room with Nice pictures, and wonderful view on the sea.

And at least, over our 6 floor, most of our guest enjoyed them room, view and service, the reason why we have a nice and loyal guests.

Thank you again for your comment.

Looking forward to welcome you back

With all our heart and sincerity

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

It is a very well located hotel but it is old and they have not done any maintenance at all. The floor marble at the main entrance is broken. The wood stairs crack all the way up or down. The carpet is very old. They do not have enough employees. The rooms have a cigarrete odor. The rooms are not well clean and very small. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clau M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Guest

firstly, we wanted to thank you for taking the time to give us your feelings about your stay in our hotel.


Please know that every comment from our customers is subject to a feedback by the relevant departments.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. However, we wanted to give you some answers about your comment.
Our hotel is 170 years old and our guest can understand that the marble entrance, hallways and stairs are also 170 years old, but all the security standards are respected. These ones makes the charm of our hotel. We are not a design hotel but as we put on all websites, a “Belle Epoque” style hotel dating from the middle of the 19th century.

Our carpets follow a specific treatment every month to give you the best service, and for the oldest ones, we are following a renovation program giving you the opportunity to revive the Belle Epoque time with modern material.

Sorry for room that you have been given was a smoking room. Do not hesitate to contact the front desk to request a non-smoking room during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved the Hotel West End. We stayed for 3 nights in June for a relaxing vacation. I think they have the best location in Nice – right on the promenade/beach, near the center so you can walk to all the amenities, including the beach cafes, and the old town. We had a 5th floor room overlooking the sea, and I believe that it is worth the extra money for the view! The room was spectacular – very large and clean with a huge bed, very large bath, excellent flat screen TV, free wireless, and beautiful white marble throughout. We also had a very small balcony (suitable for one chair).

I do think there may have been some rooms on lower floors that hadn't been renovated yet, and might have been somewhat old and tired, but I don't know for sure. Like I said, our room was absolutely spectacular.

They serve a very nice buffet breakfast which we thought was good for the price.
The service was good, although there were a couple of minor glitches. They only had 2 elevators and one was out of order until next spring, so there was often a wait. We were there on the weekend of the Ironman Triathlon, so the hotel was crowded and we sometimes had to wait for the concierge or reception desk.

Any negatives were very minor and overall we thought our experience here was nearly perfect. I should say that it is a somewhat expensive hotel, but this is Nice and the extra cost is well worth what you get for that money.

This hotel is highly recommended and we would like to come back soon.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view; it's worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Buff_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location of West End is the major positive feature right at Promenade Des Anglais and within walking distance to the city center and restaurants. We stayed for three nights in a three person room, which in principle could have been quite OK if not for a close to useless air condition, which couldn't keep the temperature at an acceptable level and at the same time being so noisy that it was virtually impossible to sleep. Sleeping for open windows is not an option due the noise from Promenade Des Anglais.
The Hotel is charming, though, in is classical art-deco style, but quite worn out, when you leave the lobby and hallway area. Cleaning was not impressive.
One of the two lifts was not working during the entire stay, so patience was needed. Breakfast was good, but a bit chaotic at the busiest times. All in all far from a 4-star hotel experience except for the price and exterior,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2015

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent writing us that comment.
I will take in care in each things of your comment to exceed your futur stay with us.

Looking hopefully to welcome you soon,

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is the happy portal for a great experience in the most beautiful Nice.It has loads of charm from the golden days of the strip. Its location is front & center for everything necessary to enjoy this marvelous city.There are 121 rooms with the beach facing views...at a premium price. The extra Euros per day could fuel half your stay,
Choose a room without a view towards the east side at the back. Your reward is a side view of the water,sand and the corso...a small one,admittedly......and if you look towards the mountains,you can see the observatory and lots of fabulous skies.
Your room is tastefully decorated in the imperial style and contains everything one needs within the size that is normal in the Cote de Zure....smallish...but very cosy. The bathroom is a joy with everything working perfectly.
Use your fifth floor to make use of the staircase...exercise is essential to survive the wonderful food that one consumes locally. There is a ground floor restaurant called' Le Siecle' and a bar 'La palmeraie' .If you are desperate for glitz or want to impress,they foot the bill.
Breakfast is inclusive. It is without doubt the essence of the best anywhere. The harvest is fresh and tasty and includes great cereals,fresh breads,yoghurts cheeses, meats,eggs and condiments. Eat big and power through till 2.00pm. There is a great choice in little pastries, sweet and savory as well as fresh fruits. We always took a mini selection of pastries and pieces of fruit with us for an energy booster.
The hotel is in an exclusive precinct with the icon Negresco two doors away.Blue beach is affiliated with the hotel. Use their facilities for swimming,coffee, wicked snacks and twilight drinks.Happiness is truly,Hotel West-end.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 203 in Nice
2,569 reviews
Hotel Suisse
#8 of 203 in Nice
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#20 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $44 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing