We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and charm”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #41 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel is right on the Promenade and close to shopping and restaurants. Had a problem with my room and the staff moved us to another. Front desk service was what is to be expected and the Hotel is decorated with contemporary french style and charm. Hotel has its own lounge and bar on the water at a cost. About ten minutes from the train and airport. Breakfast was included and available in their outside dining on the promanade and typical of most included hotel breakfasts in France. If your beakfast is not included then its porbably a better choice to go elswhere. Price was great for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitchall m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel.
We do wish to welcome you to enjoy the Belle Epoque Experience at the West End hotel in Nice.
Enjoy with us the bright and luminous view from your room and live with us a moment of timeless elegance .
With our best regards
Guest relation manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice hotel. Spent 7nights

Watch the taxi drivers--they are not the most honest. Cost me 34 Euros from the airport to the West End. There is a bus--#98--that goes from the airport to within 1/2 block from the West End. Cost=4Euros. Took it back to the airport and it worked fine.

Front desk was very polite and helpful.

1) Requested a room with a balcony. Did not have one when I checked in. The next day they moved me into 411 which did have a balcony --are you ready for this-- 2ft x 4ft.

The first room w,as 211. Newly renovated bathroom. Very high bathtub. 2 feet off the ground. No grabbar. Got to be very careful. 1/2 shower door.

The second room was 411. Same, but no shower door. And they wonder why they have water marks on the ceiling below -- in 211.

If you use wash clothes, bring some along --they are not supplied.

Bath towels were premium grade.

Includes safe, refrigerator, and free WiFi.

Room 411 had very dirty carpet. I said something. With in 2 hours they had someone cleaning the carpet on hands and knees. And this was on a Sunday.

Breakfast buffet was not worth the 20 Euro's.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pivec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Directeur général at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2015

Dear Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. I would like to thank you, on behalf of our staff and management, for your comments.

We truly appreciate your feedback and will continue to strive to exceed the expectation of all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

Xavier Walbrecq
General Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

No one could complain about the location of the Westend Hotel, it is located right in the middle of the seafront promenade at the right end of town. The hotel is not one of the biggest however it is old world charm on the outside with comtemporary styling interiors on the inside.

The best aspects of this property are the rooms, very comfortable and well presented. They have been modernized and are in good condition particularly the rooms with an ocean view. The views up and down the coast are the best you will experience anywhere in the world.

The only down sides relate to slow service and the breakfast which should be avoided; in relation to the service trying to get anything for the room was at times almost impossible however things did turn up eventually. In relation to breakfast, overpiriced and at best, average quality. Look elsewhere for breakfast and you will not be disappointed.

All in all, a great location, pleasing amenities and however greater attention to the small things that matter to the customers would make this property a better proposition.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for reporting your stay at The West End .
The style of the building in itself is Belle Epoque and we are working hard on keeping it up in perfect condition. As you mentionned the view is a pure wonder and every guest do enjoy from the room balcony their prefered time of the day, from sunrise to sunset .
Considering the breakfast service issue we informed our staff and managers and they are currently working on improving it.
Thank you again for your visit .
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

On arrival luggage took at least 15 minutes to be brought to our room.
No bar and no defined drinks service in the lounge, we felt unwelcomed by some of the staff
when asking for a drink.
The so called hot items of the buffet breakfast were cold and not enough choice, partically variety of eggs.
A pleasant marquee breakfast area but an unpleasant smell always seemed to linger.
The room was very modern, nice bed, nice view, bathroom could have been bigger.
We stayed for 4 nights and in that time only one of the two lifts was ever working creating long
waits when wanting to go up to the room.
We ordered a taxi to the rail station who must have known that a local train strike was on that day and did not mention this to us.
When settling the bill at the end of the stay, several items including champagne were put on the bill from the minibar when nothing had been used... the answer I got was "It must be a mistake" very suspicious!
All in all we enjoyed our stay in Nice but the hotel and staff did not come up the the De Luxe rates we had paid. Sorry but only telling the truth.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for telling us your experience and mentioning how efficiently the front desk staff managed to solve it as quickly as possible; We do regret the French railway company strike which may do not make advance notice of it.
Unfortunately it does only affect the residents by also the many foreign visitors in France.
Our bar is located in the lobby lounge and our waiters are ready to serve all our guests who may also be suggested to sit on the restaurant terrace outside.
Considering the size of the room , we propose several room type from Classic to Junior suite which offer different size .
Hopefully you will be one of our returning guest and we do wish you to visit us back very soon.
Give us a call an we will help you to prepare your future stay.
With our best regards.
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is in a great location, on the promenade des anglais,opposite the beach.
The reception staff were very welcoming when we arrived. Our room was very small! A twin room, but the beds were so close together it was like a double bed! The bathroom was a good size, but the shower was over the bath, and it was a high sided bath so it could be a challenge for some people to get into the bath to shower.We couldn't find the toilet when we first arrived! It wasn't in the bathroom,but in a "cupboard", which was quite strange.
The breakfast was poor. Not much variety, so was very disappointing. If we had been room only, we would have gone to eat at a nearby restaurant for breakfast.
There's no bar at the hotel, so if you want an evening drink, you have to sit in the dining room, with the diners.
I'd stay here again as it's the perfect location,clean rooms and friendly staff.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the beach, but there's a lot of road traffic so could be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A week at this hotel is more like an endurance test. I booked twin beds for myself and my husband, He has parkinsons disease and he twitches in bed which he cant help.when we arrived they assured me it was twin beds, but it was a double all they did was show me their list which said twin beds. Six people later and they finally agreed it was a double. no more beds available they said. promised they would move us as soon as possible.The following day I asked again and they moved us eventually into room 103. The worst room I have ever seen.
It was orange and with dark wood furniture. The wallpaper was coming of. waste bin was still full from the previous people.. The metal cover for the toilet roll had faeces on it and the shower screen was dirty with black damp on all the tiles. and the view through the window was just a wall.
We made friends with a couple from Essex who were horrified whey they saw it. Their room was lovely. We happened to be going out as the people next door were just vacating their room and when we looked through the door it was lovely also.
I again asked for a transfer and not a thing happened until the day before we came home and they sent us a letter and a bottle of wine to apologise. The breakfasts were unbelievable No crockery to eat your cereal from. no glasses for fruit juice. The croissants were just on a open tray which every one was reaching over for bread. They were collecting crockery together and then running downstairs to wash the whilst we waited for them. The water was of most of one day. and lift was out of order twice whilst we were there. I walked down the stairs holding onto the bannister as I have a bad knee and the wood was so rotten that all the bannister nearly came away.It was quite apparent that they were selling a two star hotel room in a four star hotel.
On arriving home we found a message on our answer phone saying they had found another room for us. I couldnt believe it!!! I asked to see the manager 3 times and was told he wasnt there perhaps that explains why things were not right.

Room Tip: make sure that you see your room before accepting it and definitley stay away from room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL-WEST-END-NICE, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2015

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you spent writing us that comment.
I will take in care in each things of your comment to exceed your futur stay with us.

Looking hopefully to welcome you soon,

Best Regards


Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a position! This hotel is very clean, and the staff are pleasant and helpful. The classic room is quite small, but if you intend to be ' out and about' then it is fine. We were a little disappointed in the breakfast, the pastries most mornings looked overcooked, and also were a little on the large side. If you like tea in your room, take your own bags!!
The bus stop is right outside the hotel, and you can go to Grasse, Cannes, St Paul de Vance etc for 1euro - absolute bargain.
We really enjoyed our stay, and would love to return.

Room Tip: If you like a sea view, it's worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minder9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 203 in Nice
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $109 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing