We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterranean Honey of a Hotel”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #38 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The West End is perfectly located on the Promenade des Anglais, overlooking the Mediterranean, the palm-lined corniche and the beach. It's right next door to the fabulous Negresco (which is much more expensive). Try to reserve a room with a view facing the sea. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite on the 4eme etage (5th floor) with that fabulous view. There is some street noise from the corniche, but we did not find it overly intrusive.
The service at the hotel is definitely adequate, the staff fairly helpful, especially if you have some French, though that is not necessary. The beds are ample and comfortable and the maids are top-notch at keeping your room spotless. Breakfast is not included, and is very pricey compared to some nearby cafes! We did not avail ourselves of the restaurant in the hotel, though it looked fairly inviting. Nice is a perfect base for exploring the Cote d'Azur, and the Hotel West End the perfect abode: comfortable, clean and plush with that knockout view!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have stunning views. Rooms at the back may be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacyMayNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you very much for this impressive comment about our hotel.
It was a real pleasure for all of us to welcome you and make your stay a memorable one.
Do keep in mind the best of us all and please come back again.
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for Hotel West End
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

We checked in to a very small ocean view room late in the evening Oct 1st. The bathroom and the sheets had a lot of human hair visible. There was no air conditioning because they claim they turned it off for the season that day. They still charged a ridiculous 400eu for the one night stay. I was so uncomfortable I went to the front desk to find out how to turn on the AC. I mentioned that I would check out and not stay there but was told that management would make things right for me in the morning. That statement still rings within my hears as the greatest lye ever told. Management did nothing to make things right. Matter of fact; I almost ended up in jail. I want to go back to picket out front and will some day if I hit the lottery.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MunchyMan_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Sir
October is a mild month on the Riviera which cool temperature on sunny days but may get quickly colder on cloudy or rainy day. For this reason and also for environmental puposes we turn the general AC off by mid October.

We do regret your disapointment as various way of improving your comfort can be done and all our team is perfectly trained to solve any inconvenience.
We do all wish, you have enjoyed your quick stay in Nice and hopefully, you will be one of our returning guest.
Thank you for your visit.
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Ahhh... where to start???? Overall it wasn't bad, but it wasn't my best stay ever either.

Checking in proved to be difficult as there was some communication issues initially. We requested a triple or a double room with a roll away. We got a double room the size of a closet with no space for a rollaway. So we went down, explained our issue and were told that we only requested a double and could upgrade to a triple for 60 euros a night (while a rollaway only costs 40 euro more a night). My mother gave the death stare and after some talking we got the triple room upgrade for 40 euro more a night instead the 60. We got our room and it was for the most part clean, some stains on the carpet and chairs. There was definitely enough space for the 3 of us. It was bilevel with a bedroom, toilet, and living space in the first floor and a separate room with a desk and the sink and shower up the next. The stairs were very tricky to get up and you could easily fall.

Big concern for the room upstairs: no air conditioning. It was deceiving as there was a control for air up there but it did not work. We requested maintenance every day for 4 days on it especially when the downstairs AC quit working as well. The last night of our stay, after being told the following 3 days that maintenance was coming, we were told the upstairs AC is NOT meant to work.................

Needless to say, we were dying of heat that last night. Drenched in sweat.

Others on our trip were not happy with this stay either for various reasons including more malfunctioning AC, bad odors, rooms unavailable even with reservations, etc. I'm sure their separate reviews will pop up here as well.

The staff was either very helpful or very unhelpful. It was a mixed bag of the service you received. Be grateful when you see someone accommodating as the next person may not be. One problem was getting ahold of the manager as we were told a woman was the manager (who did not speak English well) when infact she wasn't and the manager spoke English perfectly and pretty much hid from us the entire stay.

We felt like we were a problem the entire stay. It did not create a relaxing stay for us.

The location is perfect, I'd recommend upgrading to the 6th floor as they are all renovated and some face the sea with great balconies. We were on the 3rd floor facing a garden.

Also big travel tips!!!!!!
1. Bring your own wash cloth if you need one. You get hand towels and big bath towels
2. The beach is only made of sharp big rocks, no sand. Bring water shoes or your feet will get cut up
3. It's 18 euros/person a day to sit on the beach with a chair, towel, cushion, table, and umbrella. You'll have to sit on the public beach with nothing if you don't want to pay
4. Breakfast is 12 euros/person a day (orange juice is another 5 euros). Wasn't worth it in my opinion
5. Do a tour on your first day if new to Nice, you'll appreciate it more

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aneal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Sir Madam
We would start by making one issue clear.
Booking a double room mean booking a room for two adults.
We do recommend to book a triple for 3 adults. Rollaway beds are preferably for children below 12 years old .
Especially if the third adult is a senior person , triple rooms are by far recommended.
Considering this and the booking made, a missing information is noticeable .
For all the other issues, all our staff from maintenance to reception has been informed and immediate actions have been planned to solve them.
We do hope you will remember your stay in a positive way (regardless of your inconveniences) Thank you for your visit.
Sincerely yours
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just returned from a celebratory break at the Hotel West End, Nice. It proved to be a very good choice, we had a comfortable and spotless room, reception staff were charming and we felt well looked after. Our special occasion was marked by the hotel with a gift-wrapped bowl of fruit in our room. Our early arrival at 10.30am (Easyjet flight leaves Bristol at 7.00am) meant that we couldn't access our room as departing guests don't have to leave before midday. This might be difficult for some visitors, but our luggage was stored safely and there are, of course, toilet facilities off the foyer to freshen up, and we were happy to have an early start to our first day out in NIce.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalesGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you Sir, Madam
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and make your stay the most enjoyable.
We do hope to welcome you back.
Thank you again for your very positive comment about our hotel.
With our most distinctive regards.
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The location really can't be beaten - it's right in front of the sea and next to the famous Negresco. A not-so-short yet pleasant walk on the beach will lead you to Old Town, you can probably do everything by foot staying here. We had an excellent time, the room was very comfortable and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Next to the hotel, there's the Massama Museum which is free, gorgeous and totally worth the visit.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank brunapgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you Sir, Madam
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and make your stay the most enjoyable.
We do hope to welcome you back.
Thank you again for your very positive comment about our hotel.
With our most distinctive regards.
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Back yesterday from a long weekend in Nice at the Hotel West End. An attractive Belle Époque hotel centrally situated on the Promenade de Anglais. Bus stops to and from airport just outside. Bus service couldn't be easier, straight out of airport terminal building and direct to hotel in about 15 minutes, costing 4 euro for an all day pass ( bus number 98). Hotel staff are excellent, polite and friendly with good English spoken. Hotel very clean. Had a "classic" grade room that was small but adequate for 2 people. View of air conditioning units from window! Comfortable beds. Did not eat at the hotel. Good choices for eating at Massena and Cours Saleya. All the sights are within easy walk. Train services to Villefanche, Eze, Menton, Monaco and Ventimiglia are cheap and regular from Gare de Nice Ville, about 20 minutes walk from Promenade de Anglais. Would definately return to Nice and to the Hotel West End.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Schnauzermum2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Outside and general areas of hotel areas are lovely, however the rooms are not. Firstly we arrived early 11am so our room was not ready to check in and came back at 2.40 and the room was still not ready, waited for another 30 minutes.
The 1st room had a stained arm chair and dried paint in the bath, the toilet was so close to the unit in front that could not sit down properly and i'm only 5'7. They moved us to a room that had STILL not been cleaned then moved us back to the original room, then moved us again to a room that had barely no natural light and smelled of mould and dog. Finally we were moved to a suitable room that was lovely. Had we been put in this room first we may have been leaving a different review. i feel that this put a downer on the short holiday we had and would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dan0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your comment.
We do hope, your stay has been quite satisfactory despite all the inconveniences , you had to face before getting the room that was matching perfectly with your expectations.
We are all working hard to make all our rooms ready and perfectly cleaned up for our check in time but it may sometimes be delayed because of late check out and arrival and departure flow.
We do hope this has only be an inconvenience for your first day.It would have been a pleasure for me to meet you while you were waiting for the room and make my best to make it less stressfull.
Thank you for your visit.
Best regards
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 204 in Nice
2,387 reviews
Le Meridien Nice
#83 of 204 in Nice
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $108 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing