We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ellington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel H33(Nice)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveler rating
265
406
161
61
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
406
161
61
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz themeold towntrain stationexecutive roomnice hotelclassic roomreception staffcity breakfrench hotelfresh fruitthe main shopping streetbreakfast was excellentshort breakreasonable sizesea frontlocation is greatwithin easy walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 931 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent a week here on an organised trip and had a nice room (220). Comfortable with a bit of space but not spacious. Kettle is useful but they often did not replace used tea or coffee. Also fridge and you could use the water and coke in it once without charge. TV worked with good picture but very little English language channels despite loads of channels. Our room was Deluxe and I suspect the smaller rooms were Classic but we all paid the same.

Breakfast was a good buffet with plenty to choose from.

Other facilities limited to a bar.

From others we discovered some rooms were very small with very limited wardrobe space.

Good location with lots of restaurants a short walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterLittlePaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELELLINGTON, Manager at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear valued guest, we would like to firstly thank you for the time taken to review hotel Ellington. All our guests’ feedback is of big importance to us in order to improve our services and quality. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in your deluxe room and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to Nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at The Ellington ending Friday. We had stayed at the Ellington in Berlin and had been very pleased with the quality and service so we thought we would give this a try. We booked through Secret Escapes and got a great rate. The room we were given was on the second floor and could have benefitted from some refurbishment. We had several stains on this carpet, a cracked floor tile and a cracked sink in the bathroom. The shower curtain was nylon and too short to be very effective. However the room was clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable with two single duvets on the double bed. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty to choose from. The hotel is very well situated but in a quiet area,and only a few minutes from the bus service to and from the airport. Also handy for bus links to Monaco, Monte Carlo and Cannes. Very close to the trams and to the shops. I think what does add to the benefits of the hotel is the extremely helpful and friendly staff. I lost a scarf whilst staying and they really tried to get it back through the bus company. They also printed bus timetables and gave really good directions to bus stops or points of interest. Overall although the hotel needs some money spending on it the experience was a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: I understand from reviews there are refurbished rooms available,so maybe try for one of these.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandM1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELELLINGTON, Manager at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear valued guest, we would like to firstly thank you for the time taken to review hotel Ellington. All our guests’ feedback is of big importance to us in order to improve our services and quality. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have specifically appreciated the breakfast and the staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to Nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was here for a meeting and it was perfect - very central, extremely quiet, good price, OK breakfast, and a staff that is pleasant, efficient and professional. The meeting room was not stuffy, hot or cold, coffee came when ordered, etc. The four stars might indicate a level of luxuriousness that doesn't evidence itself, but the hotel is very nice and well priced for what it offers.

Room Tip: My room was on the street but it was extremely well soundproofed.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nora c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELELLINGTON, Manager at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear valued guest, we would like to firstly thank you for the time taken to review hotel Ellington. All our guests’ feedback is of big importance to us in order to improve our services and quality. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us for your business purposes we are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family and i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights over the new year period. The location is great, ideal for access to the old town, the promenade/beaches, train station etc.The rooms were very nice and the were cleaned daily. The food was very good. The best thing about the hotel is the staff, they were all so friendly and extremley helpful, the bar staff and the receptionists recommended some wonderful restaurants and booked tables for us, the waiters and waitresses and kitchen staff were very attentive, welcoming and efficient. I will definitely go back next time i visit Nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELELLINGTON, Manager at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear valued guest, we would like to firstly thank you for the time taken to review hotel Ellington. All our guests’ feedback is of big importance to us in order to improve our services and quality. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have specifically liked our friendly and helpful staff which has been informed by your positive comment. It gives us great pleasure to know you would happily return, are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in December 2013-January 2014. The central location (close to beaches 10-15 mins, old town 10 mins, rail station 10 mins and shops). First impressions on arrival were great, as the hotel was pretty and clean. We arrived at midnight and the staff were very friendly and accommodating (keeping the bar open late so we could have a glass of wine to get the travelling out of our system). The rooms were clean (serviced each morning), quiet and had everything we needed and more (TV, tea facilities, hairdryer, air con/heating). The breakfast buffet was great with especially good typically french products and dishes (eggs, croissants etc). All aspects of the hotel were very good but the standout point was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The reception and bar staff advised us on some good, typically French restaurants (Le Statu Co and Le Grand Balcon), both of which were superb. The reception staff also gave great advise on how best to visit the surrounding areas, especially considering our stay encompassed the new year day bank holiday. We used the 100 bus from Place Garibaldi to Eze and Monaco. En-route we got off at Eze train station and got the 83 bus to Eze village which is a very picturesque old town up into the mountains with stunning views. The following day we used the train to go to Antibe. A very pretty coast line with magical views from the beach, across the sea, up towards the snow capped mountains. We also enjoyed the Christmas markets and gardens of Nice.
The help and advice given by the Ellington staff allowed us to maximize our 3 days around Nice and also their friendliness helped make this a wonderful family break. I would definitely recommend it and return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chewy1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELELLINGTON, Manager at Hotel Ellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear valued guest, we would like to firstly thank you for the time taken to review hotel Ellington. All our guests’ feedback is of big importance to us in order to improve our services and quality. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially our staff, which has been informed by your positive comment. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to nice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews