We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not so great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
Ranked #62 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed with my family at Radisson Blu for 4 days. The hotel service and room is great (we paid extra for ocean view, so worth it). The room is modern, spacious and beautiful view of niece.

Roof top restaurant and pool is def. the highlight of the hotel. So..what is the downside? The location, it is about 20 mins away from Niece downtown..so you missed out all the night action unless you skip the shuttle bus and taxi back..even that it's not cheap.

Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAmazingWorld80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,338)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Really poor for a 4 star hotel. In my view, a 4 star hotel should not

1 - serve instant coffee for breakfast (Travelodge Swansea does a better breakfast than this place)
2 - charge extra for the sun loungers on the rooftop pool (you can get that kind of thing on a public beach if you're keen..)
3 - not mention when they casually tell you to leave your car keys at reception that there is a charge for the valet parking service (a bit naive on my part, admittedly, but I still think someone should probably have mentioned something before it was presented it as fait accompli on the bill..)
4 - give you a twin room when you book a double. And then tell you 'a double bed is a request, not a guarantee'. Can't imagine trying to buy a sofa and being given two chairs pushed together.. and the twin room still smelled of smoke.

After having stayed in two small, family run places for the rest of the holiday up to this point, this was meant to be a bit of a treat. It wasn't. Avoid it.

Room Tip: Don't go..? The rooms are actually pretty good, if you get the one you 'request'.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reginekruger, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to share with us on the trip advisor website your concerns in relation to your stay at our property in June. We also have received your complaint directly through our company channels and we have therefore been able to identify your stay and fully investigate.

We are very sorry to read that you did not totally enjoy your stay but we thank you for your constructive comments concerning our overall hotel services and staff. After investigations, we kindly inform you that in your initial reservation a city view room had been confirmed and unfortunately the "king size" bed information did not appear to take adequate actions before arrival.

We have taken good note about your observations regarding your check-in and especially, the issue with the attribution of your room, two beds instead of a king size bed.

Your comments about the staff attitude in order to assist you immediately and attribute you a king size bed room the day of your arrival deserve our full attention.
Your remarks have been transmitted to the different department heads concerned to remedy to this kind of issues and review immediately the behaviour of the staff which does not match to our service philosophy "Yes I Can". Additionally, internal coaching will also take place.

Please accept our deepest apologies for all the inconvenience you encountered.

Please note, that, nevertheless, the next day and in order to get your full satisfaction, we upgraded you to a sea view room with a king size bed.

We are very sorry that the coffee quality at breakfast did not correspond to your expectations. We kindly inform you that we use a well-known coffee supplier as freshly brewed coffee in the morning and we propose also espresso and cappuccino on request.

With regards to the swimming pool, we inform you that the access to the pool for a swim is free and equal at the private beach.

We only apply a fee for rental of sun umbrella, sun bed, and towels which is at 19€ per person for a day and 15€ for the half day.
This is indicated at the pool entrance and our website also indicates that it is a paid service.

Hotels of our category in the city of Nice apply the same policy on their licensed beaches.

Your feedback concerning the valet service and the parking fee will be taken in consideration in order help us to improve our services to serve you better in the future. Please be informed that this service, to bring your car into a secured place for the night, is free of charge, but, of course, we only charge the overnight stay in the parking. On the other side, we completely understand your disarray that you were not informed at the moment you gave the keys to the valet.

We can assure you we take all the here above mentioned problems seriously, and we will do everything in our power to make sure they do not happen again.

Reiterating our apologies for the experience you have met, we hope that you will give Radisson Blu Hotel Nice a second chance on the occasion of your next visit to South of France and Nice.

Yours Truly,

Eric van Dalsum
General Manager Radisson Blu Hotel Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have visited this hotel 4 times over the last 5 years, spending a week at a time in the summer. We were upgraded to the corner suite last year, which with 2 teenage kids was perfect. We all know that the South of France is expensive, so paying EUR 6 for a cola or EUR 8 for a beer is to be expected. What isn't expected however is poor service. Check in and Concierge staff are polite and pleasant. The same cannot be said of waiting staff at breakfast or the rooftop poolside. They have a really poor attitude to guests. A request or comment is greeted by a shrug of the shoulders and they couldn't be less welcoming. This is not a French thing, as I received excellent service from attentive waiting staff in restaurants in Nice centre. This is a Radisson problem. I would urge the Hotel Management to ensure their staff are re-trained. The service and attitude was so bad this year, that we will not be going back again. Guests who stay at this hotel are successful people who are used to paying high prices. What they wont put up with however is poor service from unwelcoming, unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjujdhrgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reginekruger, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest

We thank you very much for your loyalty and the time you have taken the time to share with us on the trip advisor website your concerns and thereby providing a valuable feedback on quality and service.

We are very sorry that we did not live up to the service standards we promised you in regards to the staff attitude in our food & beverage departments. We can assure you that investigations and actions have been taken immediately following to your comment.

Please accept our deepest apologies for all the inconvenience you encountered.

Reiterating our apologies for the experience you have met, we hope that you will give Radisson Blu Hotel Nice a second chance on the occasion of your next visit to South of France and Nice.

Yours Truly,

Eric van Dalsum
General Manager Radisson Blu Hotel Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at the Radisson Blu during the visit by the Tour de France. Arrived at the hotel a little before noon and was pleasantly surprised to find that we could check-in straight away. Room was first class; modern, clean and accompanied by the little extras that you expect in good quality hotel. The Radisson is located on the west end of the Promenade des Anglais so depending on your disposition the walk along the promenade to shops, restaurants, sights, etc, may or may not be to your liking. If you go to the brunch, which is a little expensive, take a big appetite because there is lots of choice to help you get value for money. For the traveller, the Radisson is a short 4-5 km from Nice airport. There's much to recommend the Radisson Blu for both business and pleasure use.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the same room 2years ago, a corner suite on the sixth floor. It's 2 rooms interconnecting, one with a large queen bed and the other a fold out sofa for the kids. The corner suite is massive. The upside is that booking a corner suite provides free access to pool lounges (normally 18e for all other guests) along with breakfast too. It's quiet, a good 30 minute walk to the city of Nice and old Nice town where you will find some nice restaurants, there is. Courtesy bus that runs every hour, although this time it stopped at the West End hotel not all the way into to city as previously. Alternatively it's a 15-20e taxi fare to the main strip. Rooms are clean but reek of smoke even though its a mon smoking room. House keeping service was good every day. The staff are not as warm as they where last time, it is a big property. Do head across the rod to the Radisson beach club, it's about 18e per person but well worth it. We had lunch on the rooftop and by the Bach, both were good and well priced. Breakfast on the ground floor was good, lots of choices, but the young staff seemed to not be to fussed about actually working! If you want a subbed in ten first row beach side,do book ahead by a day or 2. It's lost it's sparkle in my eyes, a good resort property but becoming disconnected from its customers. I spent 7 nights here.

Room Tip: Books room facing the sea
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AusTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The rooms are clean and to a north american size . The staff (porters, concierge, front desk) really very in demeanor towards guests. It is a hike, (although a pretty one) to the central area of Nice. Close to airport. If you want ice, you must order it from the bar. (bad place to nurse a recent hockey injury)

The property markets itself heavily with its roof top pool being lit up at night....catch, it is closed well before it gets dark. No evening swims. Parking is a little costy.

The whole "Med pay to sit on the beach thing" is the deal here. I have always found the free beach next store if much more interesting. Sit on a towel, drink a beer from the nearby Tabac, swim in the cold water and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room to save some cash.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaGulfSailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were lucky enough to say here the day the Tour De France was in town. Great ocean front location on the promenade des Anglais. Walk from town is a bit far (approx 4km) but on a normal day there appears to be quite a few buses you could take ack and forth. Unfortunately, the down side for us s that after paying quite a high charge for the room, there is a charge to use the sun beds in the pool area (18 euro a day I think) and a charge to use the hotel 'beach' of about the same. Not what we had expected. We used the free each next door (although it is a stone beach not sand). Free wi-fi is a bonus and seems to be available at many European hotels.

Room Tip: If you wish to reduce the room rate, ask for a city view, not an ocean view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Le Meridien Nice
#81 of 204 in Nice
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#41 of 204 in Nice
1,021 reviews
Hotel Suisse
#8 of 204 in Nice
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice

Address: 223 Promenade des Anglais, 06200 Nice, France (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nice
#10 Business Hotel in Nice
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#33 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $123 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Promenade des Anglais and facing the sea, the Radisson BLU Hotel Nice is a contemporary hotel, blending luxury, elegance and wellbeing. The hotel offers the most beautiful panoramic roof top terrace (700sqm) in town with outside swimming pool, pool bar & lounge and restaurant with breathtaking view overlooking the Bay of Angels. Facing the hotel, the private beach "Regence Plage by Radisson Blu" welcomes you with restaurant and bar lounge in season. Sunbeds and umbrellas with additional rent of coast. Elegant and spacious rooms and suites, most of them with private terrace and sea view. All rooms are equipped with the comfort of an International hotel (individual climate control, cabled TV) and free high speed Internet access. (100 Mega) Our hotel benefits from an exceptional location; close to the historical city centre & the port and the train station are just a 10 minutes-drive. The International Nice Airport is just a 5-minute drive from the hotel. The infrastructure of the Radisson Blu Hotel Nice is ideal to keep fit thanks to the health club with fitness room overlooking the sea including sauna, hammam and fitness equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice Hotel Nice
Radisson Nice
Radisson Hotel Nice
Nice Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing