We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location with a lovely Roof Terrace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splendid Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersGold level
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location with a lovely Roof Terrace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of October and travelled with our two teenage children and my parents. The hotel offers a great location approx 5 mins from the sea front promenade, 10 mins to the Old Town, main shopping street and the railway station where you can catch trains to Monte Carlo and Cannes. The rooms we stayed in were clean and comfortable with a balcony. The Hotel was quiet at night. The breakfast buffet is served on the 8th floor roof terrace with fantastic views of Nice. There was a good choice of food to start your day. The 8th floor Terrace is also where you will find the Resturant, Bar and Swimming Pool all very pleasant and clean. The evening menu could do with more variation not much choice for teenagers. The bar staff could be a bit slow at serving even when you were the only ones in the bar. They also liked to close the bar promptly around 11.30ish and would ask you to drink up. On the whole a very good Hotel that we would stay at again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rum501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let us, and others know about your stay with us !
I was delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel, and its terraces and bar
We all look forward to welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    397
    188
    67
    38
See reviews for
146
462
48
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were staying at the friendly and welcoming Hotel Gounod, which is the sister hotel of the Splendid, so we thought we would use the facilities on offer: restaurant, roof bar, pool and spa. We were welcomed by the helpful desk staff and we went to the roof to enjoy an aperitif. The manners of the man at the bar was enough to put us off visiting this hotel again. It was a shame as the hotel facilities looked lovely but one surly and rude member of staff is enough to put one off using the facilities on offer. There are a huge number of excellent restaurants and bars in Nice all with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for also writing about our Splendid Hotel & Spa after a very flattering mention for our hotel Gounod; I was of course very sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at the bar, after having had "delightful staff on the front desk"; I of course can only apologize about this difficulty which I assume was due to a misunderstanding or a busy evening ! but we are in a service industry with men and women and sometimes they can make mistakes or be unpleasant, despite all efforts made to prevent this; you noticed the delightful staff, but wrote about the unpleasant one
We do hope to welcome you again either in the Gounod or in Splendid, and hope that this time you will not have this difficulty
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorks Uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked a short break to Nice for a friend & I in October. We wanted a clean, affordable hotel in a good location & that's what we got. The hotel didn't hugely over deliver but it did what it said on the tin.

The rooms were clean, functional, light & airy with a balcony looking out of the back of the hotel to a courtyard. The bathroom & dual sinks & the shower was nice & powerful. Decor could maybe do with a little updating but it wasn't awful.

Breakfast is served on the top floor with great views across the town. Buffet style with a range of foods to suit all cultures & requirements. We didn't eat in the hotel for any other meals.

The location is good, approx 7 mins walk from the bus stop & 5 mins walk set back in a straight line from the promenade so it was lovely & quiet at night & easy to get around during the day.

The best part about the hotel were the staff. The reception, security & concierge were obliging, helpful & very pleasant. I think the receptionist we saw most was Mauro??? He was great, always had a smile on his face & eager to make your stay the best it can be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs as the doors can bang at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheekypixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us ! as you can imagine these comments are also important for us
I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, the room, breakfasts, views from the terrace, etc, and will pass on your congratulations to our Mauro
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - president
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Me and my friend work in tourism, she as a travel agent, me as a tour rep and hotel receptionist. So of course I was quite curious about the competition. When we arrived in the hotel, and got the general information, you could really hear they have to say the same things over and over again. Spoken fast, without even any intonation, it felt like standing at a check-in desk at the airport. Everything was quick quick quick, allthough we were the only ones at reception and there were 2 or 3 people behind reception desk.The standard rooms are clean, but indeed quite dated. Like somebody mentioned before, cracks in the tiles, still some screws of some equipment that was before in the bathroom, but is not there anymore, etc... But then again, rooms are very tidy and for us this is the main thing. You can't expect that a hotel of a certain age, has sparkling new rooms. Anyhow, on booking.com you can chose if you want the standard or deluxe room, so you can anticipate on those older rooms, by chosing a deluxe room. Breakfast was adequate, nothing special. There is only one kind of bread, pain français, and the croissants and 2 other kinds of viennoiserie are the kinds you take out of the freezer to heat up in the oven. The different kinds of meat are put together in one tray, the same goes for the cheese, it does not really look appealing. If your breakfast is not included in the price like ours was, I would advise to go outside of the hotel, where you can have breakfast for 5eur. The hotel charges 19eur for breakfast (you can even have a nice lunch in Nice for this price), and for what you get it's just simply too much. People should not complain about the seagulls as this is something where the hotel has totally no control over. Or you enjoy the nice views outside and take the risk an adventurous seagull grabs a bite to eat, or you just stay inside.. Views from the rooftop terrace are very beautiful, the area is very well maintained, I don't understand people complaining about the "dirty sunbeds " etc... With the bar we didn't really have good experience. The last night we wanted to enjoy a cocktail at the terrace. As we liked all cocktails and was advertised that the cocktail of the moment was 8eur, we went for that one. We paid 20eur, but nobody came with the change... When we left, I asked the bar tender for the change, as we took the cocktail of the moment. He said "that's 10eur". When we replied to him, that it was indicated on the menu 8eur, he was like "no, that can't be, where is it indicated??" So we showed him. And then he said: that's wrongly indicated on the menu then, the price is 10eur. As it was our last night, we didn't want to discuss for 4eur... For me it's not really the money, it's more the principle. If you have prices on the menu but say "oh yeah these are not correct", what's then the point of having a menu anyway? Quite unprofessional. We felt like he just liked having an extra pourboire as we kindly rejected his offer to book us a table at the hotel restaurant (as we already booked to have dinner in the old town). So in general, the hotel is good, but service could be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natascha1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about you stay with us....with a Professional flair
I was of course happy that you liked the hotel and its location, but of course very disappointed by the unpleasant expériences you had specifically in the bar; I shall of course investigate to make sure this does not happen again
We do have a problem with seagulls but as you mentionned, there is not much we can do about them
If you book on our website or by direct email and stay at least 3 nights full hot buffet breakfasts are complimentary
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon
have a splendid week end

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went for 6 nights, originally booking via British Airways. My husband contacted the hotel and had confirmation that we had upgraded the room to the next level. How annoying then to arrive and be told that the upgrade was not available for our first night?! We had obviously been bumped by a conference that was going on and taking priority. They also said we would be paying for breakfast although we had it included in our deal. To be honest the breakfast spread was standard and dining room cramped. Don't be tempted to eat outside as as soon as you go to get a coffee etc a seaGull will swoop down and steak what's on your plate. The standard room was very tired, basic and uninspiring, it had screws sticking out in the bathroom and many unused bathroom fixtures still attaché to the walls. Also, no safe and no kettle! My husband does not like conflict on holiday and was going to let it go but it grated with me that you fly somewhere for a holiday, expecting what you have had confirmed and then not received it. I spoke to the reception staff who said we would not be paying the upgrade for the first night ( didn't intend to as we hadn't had it) and then said we would not have to pay for the upgrade all week. That was more like it and the the next day the staff moved our luggage to a much better room. On arrival I also asked about going into the spa but was told it was fully booked so that didn't happen but just be aware that if you think you can use the spa as and when you feel like it as a guest you can't! That being said the roof garden terrace has great views and a small swimming pool and jacuzzi, but you have to go and get drinks your self from the bar, unusual for a 4 star hotel. The location is fine but the priority seems to be to corporate bookings.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; indeed we had made a mistake and we did not have the Deluxe room you requested and for which you had agreed to pay an extra 40 euros per day; it is our fault and I do apologize for it
As you mention, we did give you that room the next day, and did not charge any extra for the rest of your stay, ie a 200 euros value
The spa can be full at times, as any service such as a restaurant; you will notice on our spa website that it is mentioned réservations are recommended
I was glad to know you enjoyed the rest of your stay, the view from the bar and restaurant...and we all hope to welcome you again !
have a splendid day

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

this hotel was a treat for my wife and I as we were back packing most of our holiday and thought we would treat ourselves. First impression was not great........ i saw some other accom down the road like the mecure etc and they looked so much newer and more ritzy!..... The staff on reception werent all that helpful with us and we feel that may be because we had backpacks and didnt look like the average person that stays in this accommodation. The lifts are tiny and we both barely fit into them lol..............the room we stayed in was a delux private suite . While old feeling it was very comfy ......... the view from the balcony was epic..........it had a great bath and the bed was very comfy! The restaurant was amazing but pricey................breakfast was unbelievable...my wife says the best breakfast she has ever eaten!!!...........I would recommend staying at this hotel if you want some comfort but still enjoy and older more b&b style feel.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank centurianblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; as you can imagine, these comments are also very helpful for us
I was delighted to know you enjoyed the hôtel, the view, and the breakfasts
Having backpacks is not unacceptable and many of our guests use them as they wish to discover the Cote d Azur and sometimes even go hiking in our mountains
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
have a splendid day !

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

i have stayed here many times with my mother and on vacation alone to visit friends ...
staff are friendly and u feel like you are staying in your own house .... rooms are comfortable and dinner on the rooftop terrace is superb the views are amazing from the roof top bar and resturant overlooking the city ....you can even see the roof of elton johns house if u know which part of the mountain to look..i would tell anyone to stay in this wonderful hotel ...wonderful memories of this hotel and the cote-d-azur.

Room Tip: i have stayed in the twin bedded rooms also a single room ...all were of great standard and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhaouifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted you enjoyed your stay: guest comments are very important for us, especially when they come from repeat clients...we look forward to welcoming you again and perhaps this time Elton Jones shall wave at you
have a splendid evening and thanks again

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#22 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#43 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel & Spa

Property: Splendid Hotel & Spa
Address: 50 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nice
#4 Spa Hotel in Nice
#31 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Hotel & Spa, part of the Warwick collection of hotels, is located in Nice city center, 5' walk from the beaches, casinos, shopping area and Massena Museum. Its 128 rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and very comfortable with full bathrooms, satellite TV, free WiFi, tea making facilities, etc. On the 8th floor, a panoramic restaurant: l'EssenCiel , bar, swimming pool and heated jacuzzi. On the ground floor, a spa featuring Decleor natural products and essential oils with 2 cabins for treatments as well as jacuzzi and hamman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Splendid Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel And Spa
Splendid Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing