We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very upmarket, expensive but comfortable and best view from the roof”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Ranked #36 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 9, 2013

this hotel was a treat for my wife and I as we were back packing most of our holiday and thought we would treat ourselves. First impression was not great........ i saw some other accom down the road like the mecure etc and they looked so much newer and more ritzy!..... The staff on reception werent all that helpful with us and we feel that may be because we had backpacks and didnt look like the average person that stays in this accommodation. The lifts are tiny and we both barely fit into them lol..............the room we stayed in was a delux private suite . While old feeling it was very comfy ......... the view from the balcony was epic..........it had a great bath and the bed was very comfy! The restaurant was amazing but pricey................breakfast was unbelievable...my wife says the best breakfast she has ever eaten!!!...........I would recommend staying at this hotel if you want some comfort but still enjoy and older more b&b style feel.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centurianblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; as you can imagine, these comments are also very helpful for us
I was delighted to know you enjoyed the hôtel, the view, and the breakfasts
Having backpacks is not unacceptable and many of our guests use them as they wish to discover the Cote d Azur and sometimes even go hiking in our mountains
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
have a splendid day !

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

i have stayed here many times with my mother and on vacation alone to visit friends ...
staff are friendly and u feel like you are staying in your own house .... rooms are comfortable and dinner on the rooftop terrace is superb the views are amazing from the roof top bar and resturant overlooking the city ....you can even see the roof of elton johns house if u know which part of the mountain to look..i would tell anyone to stay in this wonderful hotel ...wonderful memories of this hotel and the cote-d-azur.

Room Tip: i have stayed in the twin bedded rooms also a single room ...all were of great standard and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhaouifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted you enjoyed your stay: guest comments are very important for us, especially when they come from repeat clients...we look forward to welcoming you again and perhaps this time Elton Jones shall wave at you
have a splendid evening and thanks again

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked a suite there (as Nice was busy and acm was very hard to find), paying 375 eur per night, breakfast not included (!). Nevertheless, I don't mind paying more, but I definitely expected better service. Actually, at least good service! I entered the hotel which from outside looks like a shabby 80s building, and an ugly one for that matter. That was my first surprise, especially as Nice is bursting with beautiful architecture. I came in a (also shabby) lobby and there was not even a greeting or help offering. It was about 14.45 when I started my check-in (official check-in is 14h) and the staff member just told me, in a very cold and indifferent manner, that my room will be ready at 19h and I can leave my luggage there and do whatever until then. For 375 eur per night, I believe this is just appalling.
After some arguing they finally agreed to give me a standard room to wait in..
The standard room itself was clean, but very dark, small, somber, old-fashioned and impersonal. Forget about French riviera charm. The hotel information in the room was outdated and didn't even contain hotel basic phone numbers such as reception desk! Of course during my check-in I was not provided with any information (wifi, phone numbers...) and they even asked me to come back down to make a copy of my passport. Is this still done?
I have to say that the famous "French attitude" is really getting old and it is driving away the tourists, at least the younger ones who are looking for a bit more than just proximity to a casino or promenade..
Finally I found online a much cheaper last minute room (and much nicer as well) in Nice and checked-out right away. At least Splendid didn't charge me for any cancellation charges, acknowledging their booking mistake. So finally I haven't seen the suit at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana-MarijaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about the difficulty we had yesterday. As you booked through Booking.com and not directly with us we did not know what your arrival time was. The suite you were supposed to have was occupied by a long time guest who indeed left it quite late, and we should have had your accommodation ready from 2pm:it is clearly our mistake and I apologize
The receptionist did what she could, as you mention, ie give you another room in the meantime, and she also offered to give you a 100 euros discount on the first night as compensation; as you mention too, when you decided to check out she did not charge you any cancellation fees.
Again we tried to help a faithful, old client but it should not have been to your detriment
Too bad you did not see the suite, you would have liked it
Again our apologies, and I hope your stay in Nice was pleasant

michel tschann - president

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have been staying at The Splendid Hotel & Spa for a while, and find it both handy for the main area of Nice, shopping and eating out etc. The area where this hotel is situated is a lot quieter than those along the front as there is not so much traffic. There is a spa which is elegant and would recommend the Decleor products they use for treatments. The last time we stayed we were given a lovely balcony room with a spa bath and mood lighting. I would recommend the rooms with a balcony as some of the views take in the mountains in the distance. The breakfast is lovely all the usual hot and cold choices, the quality of the food is very good and the attentiveness of the breakfast staff is very professional, nothing was allowed to run out.

Nice is a great place to visit it has everything culture, great food and wine and the Old Town of Nice is amazing lots lovely interesting shops and quite a quirky feel, a must visit.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frangipanimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us . I was of course delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel, its location, breakfast and spa
Decleor products are indeed of high quality with only natural products and essential oils
We all look forward to welcoming you again: you shall always find the best rates on our website or by emailing us directly
thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had an awful experience at this hotel. Lets start at check in, they took more than an hour to check us in, they could not find all our details, then they sent us to the wrong room. When we went to the right room there where workers inside our room fixing things. The room was old and dirty, the beds were very small. Breakfast was very limited and poor, we where also tricked with the package, for we thought it was included in the price... in the end they charged us for it. There were pigeons and and seagulls on the veranda, attacking our food when we left the table for a second. It has a lovely view though of Nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ApollonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Bonjour
Thank you very much for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us; I was of course sorry -and surprised- about your comments; as we do not know the dates and your name it is difficult to know what exactly happened
One hour to check in does not seem possible: perhaps you arrived in the morning and you had to wait a bit to have your room ready: check in is only from 2pm, and I assume the desk tried to allocate you a room as soon as possible, even though it was still maintained
When you made your booking, it was stated whether or not breakfast was included, at least it is very clear when you book on our website (and actually if you stay at least 3 nights, it is complimentary); many third party sites are not always very clear, and I can understand your disappointment, but again we can only deliver what has been bought, and it is much safer to book with us direct than on 3rd party sites
I assume this disappointment caused an excessive reaction, as for the 8 out of 9 other comments you volunteered; I can only advise you to be more careful when you book and to make sure what is included or not
If you can email me the details of your booking, I would be able to give you a more precise and detailed reply after investigating: g-m (at) splendid-nice.com
We would be delighted however to welcome you back, and show you we are not as bad as you mentioned ! have a splendid evening

michel tschann - president

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

After a very dull winter and spring, nothing could entice me back to Nice and Splendid Hotel. I've staying in this hotel for years and there is a goog reason why. It really is splendid. Situated in a very pleasant part of town, it has everything you need to spend a lovely holiday. The staff are exceptionally friendly and if your French is as bad as mine, you'll be glad they speak English. At the time is was visiting the Splendid, they were refurbishing many rooms, yet they made so little noise, you would hardly know they were there.Some people have complained about the quirky fitments in the room, but to me it adds to the character of the hotel. As ever, the rooftop bar and restaurant were fantastic. If you only go up to the 8th floor and have a cocktail, the view is terrific over the rooftops of Nice. The restaurant also serves superb food in true french style. Enjoy it. It's well worth it!

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor with the view over the Alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay; I was delighted to know you enjoyed the Splendid....again
Guests comments are very important for us, especially when they come from repeat guests: we love them !
We all look forward to welcoming you again: sunshine is still here ! you shall always find the best deals on our website or by emailing us directly at g-m@splendid-nice.com

thanks again and have a splendid night.......

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, it's near to everything, I found the whole hotel spotless and the attention to cleanliness was very impressive, the rooms were a bit dated but very comfortable, the air conditioning in the room is great, quiet enough to allow a great night sleep while keeping the room at just the right temperature, the staff were quite helpful when we asked any questions and always courteous

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jboy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves, know about your stay with us
Thank you for appreciating the efforts our executive housekeeper makes to be as clean -and thus attractive- as possible
We all look forward to welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 204 in Nice
1,054 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#54 of 204 in Nice
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel & Spa

Address: 50 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nice
#4 Spa Hotel in Nice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $101 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Hotel & Spa, part of the Warwick Hotels & Resorts, is located in Nice city center, 5' walk from the beaches, casinos, shopping area and Massena Museum. Its 128 rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and very comfortable with full bathrooms, satellite TV, free WiFi, tea making facilities, free soft drinks in the minibar, safety box etc. On the 8th floor, a panoramic bar & restaurant: l'EssenCiel, swimming pool and heated jacuzzi. On the ground floor, a spa featuring Decleor and Phytomer natural products and essential oils with 2 cabins for treatments as well as jacuzzi, hammam and fitness corner. Private underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Splendid Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel And Spa
Splendid Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing