We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Great Staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splendid Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Ranked #53 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was first atracted by the option of swimming pool and gym to book at this hotel...I had stayed at the Goldstar which one block behind it and wanted a good Hotel with a decent pool! Something that in Nice is almost impossible...if you want to avoid the crowded beaches!
The terrace is really nice and farly big...but you cant avoid to feel jammed packed! If you want a lounger go earlier and secure you place...but dont expect privacy or space...but nothing new on that! It is not the hotels fault...
Rooms have a balcony that can fill up for the lack of space by the pool! Rooms are clean and decently sized. My only negative points are the AirCon not working properly. Its gets really hot during the night and you have no rea control on the temperature. But I have experienced this before in few hotels in France...and there is no safety box in the room! You have to leave it the reception! Also...the hotel needs to improve the quality of their pillows. the matters are fine but the pulows are not good if you have a sensitive back/neck...I had to buy a spare pillow to sleep. Housekeeping provided me with an extra pillow but they were all the same...shame!
Wifi works perfectly throughout the hotel.
From reception, breaksfast, bars and housekeeping...the team were exquisite for South of France standards! Very good team...
The gym at the hotel was a bit of a let down...but manageable. The treadmill is a low quality and when you run, the belt gets caught and if you are not careful you can trip and hurt yourself...but bike and Power Plate machine are fine. Its a fair space...one of the best in Nice hotels!
The Spa which is part of the gym looks really nice with a set of good treatments although I havent tried any!
The Bld Victor Hugo is fairly close to the Promenade and such a nice green area away from the busy roads closer to the beach!
I fully recommend!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LodonBrazilFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay; we did have an air conditioning problem these last two days, and Carrier, our provider is on vacation which is quite strange for an air conditioning company in the middle of august
We changed our Wifi provider a few months ago and am glad to know you appreciated this -free- service
I was happy to know you liked the location, and again do apologize about this difficulty which is now settled
We are all looking forward to welcoming you again !
have a splendid day

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    399
    188
    67
    38
See reviews for
146
462
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms are spacious, but very dated for a 4 star hotel. The pool area is lovely but there are only 12 sun beds, and as the area is unmonitored people leave their towels on the sun beds for hours, even though they are not there, to hold them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay; we are constantly doing renovations and we are now planning this winter's one: your comments shall help us
In addition to the area around the pool, you also have sunbeds on the 9th floor
I was happy to know you liked the location, and do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again
have a splendid day

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Splendid Hotel & Spa lives up to its name.This hotel is in a great location as it is close to the main parts of town.
A buffet breakfast is provided on the top floor with magnificent views of Nice.It has a pool and several areas with many lounges and deck chairs just the ideal way to relax after a day of sightseeing. Our room was comparable to the size of other French hotels and very comfortable. All of the staff were extremely friendly and willing to help in any way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deid58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel, its breakfasts and views, and of course the staff
We are always delighted when we can help our clients discover our Cote d'Azur...and relax afterwards
We all look forward to welcoming you again; have a splendid day

michel tschann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I am a norwegian lady of 84 years, who was tired of bad Norwegian summer. My daugther and I decided to take a trip to Nice. Two years ago I stayed at the Ellington hotel, but now we would try another! The choice was Splendid. We had room 505 for 5 nights from July 25. Very satisfied in all ways. The beds were comfortable, and the balcony had two chairs and table. We enjoyed our breakfast out there with the nice view to the surroundings! We also had wonderful stays at the pool and the top terrasse where it was a little bit windy on hot days! I had one swim in the sea, but it was very inconvenient to get up afterwards!!!! So I preferred the pool!,while my daughter went down to the sea! After having been out all day it was very nice sitting on our balcony with a glass of wine looking at the stars. We brought some candles and a reading lamp!
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Always smiling. Our fridge was broken, but it was changed with a new one in the course of one hour! New towels and linen every day. Very nice maid! We gave her our thanks!!!!! We could very much wish to come.
back, once in the future!!!! Now we are back in rainy and cooly Oslo! (One morning we had a real tropical rainweather with lightening, which was awful, but after two hours the sun was shining again!!!!). Best regards from Turi and daughter Anne.

Room Tip: 505 with excellent A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others know about your stay with us ! it was a pleasure to know you enjoyed your room, the hotel's facilities, our staff, and its location
We all look forward to welcoming both of you again next year: this time book direct with us and if you stay at least 3 nights, we will give you complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
have a splendid evening....it is still quite warm here !

michel tschann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

good stay for a short break

I have just returned from a three night stay with three friends. We chose this hotel due to the central location and close proximity to the water. Since there were three of us we booked a suite. Upon arrival and check-in they could not locate our booking and we waited for around 30 min – 45 mins. Due to the wait we were upgraded to the presidential suite. We were thrilled and couldn’t wait to see our room.

The room was ok, by no means did it feel like a presidential suite, however this is a three star hotel so to put it into perspective the room was fine. It was clean and comfy, the toilet is separate to the bathroom which is handy as there were 3 of us. The bathroom is large with a large tub and a large walk in shower. The bathroom has a hair dryer.

The pull our bed was fine for my friend.

We had a balcony with a small table, but it is not a very large space. Nice to have the option to open the door for fresh air.

The location works well, it is a 10 min walk to the sea, perfect. Probably a 20 min walk to the old town and less to the train station. We used the local buses a lot to go to Monaco, Cannes, St Paul de Vence and Eze and in the heat of the summer and long days, the 20 min walk back felt much much longer but easy and the area felt safe.

Since check out is early, we kept our bags at reception and the hotel were fine for us to use the shower room downstairs to shower and chain before we left for the airport. This was extremely useful.

If you are flying, the best way to get to and from the airport is the bus which you catch from the promenade, super easy and less than a 10 min walk from the hotel.

The room includes a fridge, kettle and safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; I was happy to know you enjoyed the location, the possibility to take a shower on your departure day, etc
The only negative aspect seems to be that we did not find your reservation when you arrive: I do not have the détails, especially on how you booked: there are many, many réservations channel and sometimes bookings get lost in cyberspace; the safest way is of course to book on our website (and best prices too.....) and/or send us an email
Indeed, the bus is the best and cheapest way to come from the airport which is not very far
We do look forward to welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived on 16/07/13 - A lovely hotel with fantastic patient & helpful staff on the front desk however Mauruo allocated us a really awful room on the 5th floor at the back as it overlook the locals untidy apartments & balconies and the room was very very dated. The carpet was not clean, the mirrors chipped and the room tired and dark. The air conditioning didnt work proper either.. Immediantley my husband went down to reception and advised them he had already e-mailed them with our request for a nice room a it was my birthday and our anniversary. They said they did not receive this ?. We waited 1 hour and was allocated a beautiful room (314) with modern clean facilities, nice shower, flat screen T.V, incl seperate toilet and all the usual hotel complimentary shower gels, etc etcwith a balcony.The view was fine overlooking gardens and a side road which was not noisey at all. The staff wanted 19 euros per person for breakfast -this was very expensive as you can get this outside for much much less.Overall a good stay as the pool made up for it, as it was very hot, ashame the jacuzzi was not working at the time we was there for 4 nights .The views were fantastic from the rooftop when in pool & sunbathing was great.The hotel meals appeared to be a really good price & choice but we did not eat there. Will return however DO NOT accept your room allocation or "put up with it " if your not happy as when we were checking out an elderly couple experienced the same as us and were upset asking for a change of room. Perhaps decent rooms are kept back ???

Room Tip: just ask if you dont feel comfortable with the room...view a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -- -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel's location, the views from the pool, etc
We do allocate rooms according to the réservations made, and availability upon arrival (and I do not know how you booked and at what time you arrived), and they have different décors so one room might suit one client and displease another one, but as you mention we could change your room, and you were happy with it
For your future bookings: if you book directly on our website or by email, and stay at least 3 nights, we would give you complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts..so you do not have to go outside and can also enjoy the views for breakfasts
Mauro and all of us look forward to welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - president
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked the Splendid Hotel and Spa for five nights to view Le Tour de France. The bus into town was a cost effective way to get in but with three suitcases, the five block walk was a little tough. The front desk staff is very helpful and were patient with our broken French. They do speak very good English. Our room was very nice with dark wood, reminiscent of an older hotel style. I noticed there were no amenities in the room or bathroom. We had a pump soap for the sink and one for the shower. No shower cap, body lotion or conditioner. Business services for the use of a computer was 6Euro for 30 minutes. We found an internet cafe two blocks away for 1Euro for the same time. The breakfast was served on the top floor and you could eat outside. The coffee was good and the baguette and cheeses good but the eggs sausage and beans were the same for the entire five days. They could have a rotation of their hot meals for those of us staying longer. Coffee was great as were the baguettes and cheeses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skookum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us;
The tour de France was a very busy time with a bit of disruption in the trafic, but I hope you enjoyed it !
As mentioned on our website, we have an environmentaly friendly Policy which means amongst other actions banning individual doses of shampoo, soap, etc; these little bottles are a big waste and we have replaced them with dispensers as you noticed
These and others actions earned us an European Eco Label
WiFi is free in the hotel, we do charge however for the use of a computer as is common practice in most hôtels all over the world
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future: you shall always find out best rates and promotion on our official website
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#23 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#44 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel & Spa

Property: Splendid Hotel & Spa
Address: 50 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nice
#4 Spa Hotel in Nice
#32 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Hotel & Spa, part of the Warwick collection of hotels, is located in Nice city center, 5' walk from the beaches, casinos, shopping area and Massena Museum. Its 128 rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and very comfortable with full bathrooms, satellite TV, free WiFi, tea making facilities, etc. On the 8th floor, a panoramic restaurant: l'EssenCiel , bar, swimming pool and heated jacuzzi. On the ground floor, a spa featuring Decleor natural products and essential oils with 2 cabins for treatments as well as jacuzzi and hamman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, TripOnline SA and Reservation Counter so you can book your Splendid Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel And Spa
Splendid Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing