We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Ranked #54 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a very nice time at the Splendid Hotel. We liked the location, although not directly by the major sites it had a comfortable feel on a more neighborhood-like street. The staff was friendly and wi-fi available in the lobby. Would be nice to have in the room, but thankful it was at least free of charge. We got a room with a balcony which we enjoyed. The room could use a little updating but overall was nice, clean, and a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeMarieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves, know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted you enjoyed the hotel, its location and staff. We are currently negociating for another WiFi operator so that we can give free access to those clients who booked directly on our official website: splendid-nice.com
Since you came we were awarded an European Eco Label recognizing our efforts to preserve the environment and enticing us to do more in the future
Please join us on our Facebook page: Splendid Hotel & Spa Nice
We all look forward to welcoming you again to the Splendid
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    400
    194
    67
    38
See reviews for
148
466
49
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have just spent 2 nights in Nice at the Splendid Hotel it is in a great location, rooms where good, free internet in foyer and great views from roof top pool, bar and restaurant. The stand out feature of the hotel was the staff they were all very happy to help (I spoke english), provided great advice and made the stay fantastic. I would recommend this hotel and if I get back to Nice will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz2000Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves, know about your stay with us.
I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help discover our Cote d 'azur
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again : you shall find the best rates on our official website: splendid-nice.com, and if you stay at least 3 nights, we would give you complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
Join us on our Facebook page: Splendid Hotel & Spa Nice
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

First impression upon arrival was "damn, wrong room" - we'd booked a Deluxe double but were given a twin. Reception were quick to sort out and we moved the next day with little fuss. The hotel is a little tired and in some places in need of a spot of paint, however, we soon got used to it and enjoyed the charms and having cocktails on the balcony. Sure, its not great when Wifi isn't available in the guest rooms, however, this didnt bother us as the whole point was to get away and escape the daily grind back home. Breakfast buffet was great - plenty of choice and courteous staff - but watch out for the hungry pigeons if you choose a balcony table. We used the hotel car park for our hire car and the staff were great at making sure we weren't blocked in by another guest, and even moved our car to facilitate easy departure from the tight spots, avoiding awkward reversing. We stayed at the Splendid for a week, departed 2nd October. We didnt use the Spa so cannot comment, however, it would be good if "deluxe" guests were given free use of the jacuzzi. The hotel misses 4 stars due to the tired decor and no Wifi in guest rooms, however, we did enjoy our week's stay here, and the Reception staff were always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Twin rooms are much bigger than the doubles (we were in corner room 410 which was a bit s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniGreenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves, know about your stay with us.
We are in the process of changing our WiFi provider so as to be able to give it free of charge to guests who book directly with us
Pigeons are indeed a nuisance, but they are very difficult to get rid off
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again : you shall find the best rates on our official website: splendid-nice.com, and if you stay at least 3 nights, we would give you complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
Join us on our Facebook page: Splendid Hotel & Spa Nice
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Bit of a walk from the old town but not so far from the new. Even closer to the promenade. Rooms were on the small side but clean. Decor looking a little jaded and our room had a few small patches high up on the wall. Bathroom fine but toilettries basic. Hanging space adequate. Iron provided in room. View fine for in town with a small balcony.
Pool area pleasant but pool a little chilly.
Breakfast good selection. Small room so may want to pick your timing.
Reception staff were very nice and helpful with giving directions.
Gym tiny with one treadmill, a bike and a power plate but ok. Towels and water provided, plus gym ball and some weights.
One the whole value for what they charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veggie2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us
I was happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that you felt there was "value for what they charge"
Obviously, we do hope to welcome you again,and this time create more enthusiasm for your stay ! we shall be working on it
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
positano
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having stayed at the Hotel Splendid several times over the past few years it was sad to see the hotel in such decline.
Our "de-luxe" room fell much short of expectations with wear and tear in all areas.
The breakfast room experience was totally disappointing with filthy glass in the verandah and dead flowers fallen over. With the exception of 1 young lady not one of the staff even said "good morning"
The one bright spot is the reception staff who are as charming and helpful as previously
Will we be going to the Splendid again ? ....No.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueyspositan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves - know about your stay with us. I was of course disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations; I was happy to know the reception staff was nice to you; as I do not have your dates of stay, I cannot reply exactly regarding the breakfast room: we did have some violent storms last week and it might be the reason why you felt the veranda was not clean
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again...and convince you that you can have a splendid stay with us
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel was in a fabulous location just a short walk of the main promenade and not far from the old town. We arrived really early in the morning and the staff made sure a room was ready for us, complete with balcony.
The room was nice was mini bar, tv, nice bathroom and plenty of room. But it was the rooftop facilities which really made this hotel special. What a treat to have not only a pool but a jacuzzi too with the most incredible views of the hills and the sea.
We had dinner in the terrace restaurant on the first night which was perfect and breakfast one morning as well. Lots of choice, very well cooked and great service. The only minor downside was the amount of time it took to make the cocktails on the both nights we started our on the rooftop bar - at least 15 minutes! Although when they arrived they too were amazing.
Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. Booking us a boat trip, changing our lunch reservations at another hotel.
All in all a fantastic stay we didn't want to go home. And we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitorNottingham21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves, know about your stay with us ; I was of course delighted that you enjoyed, the hotel, its location and our panoramic restaurant ...and bar even though cocktails did not come fast enough !
Next time you shall need to try our spa !
Again thank you very much and we all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again

have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel itself is not bad, and located close to the beaches and city center. The room is clean and breakfast is acceptable (although not free.) However the hotel is completely disconnected from the internet, not even in the lobby and the staff is completely unconcerned.

The hotel advertises internet in the rooms at a surcharge. That does not work at all. You are supposed to connect to a wide-area WiFi called Orange, but it is not working. The staff admits to it from the beginning. They add that wifi is available in the lobby, although, they add, it "has some problems." In fact it does not work also. When I complained, the lady at the front desk said there was nothing she could do about it. So, if connectivity is important to you, stay away!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us
I was delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel and its location
We did have some difficulties with Wifi as our contractor Orange (France telecom) cut our line with no reason; I understand of course the frustration, but we of course have been struggling to get reconnected from one call center to another; we have now found another more reliable supplier
Wifi is and was indeed free in the hotel lobby, but with the surge of clients the bandwidth has been at times insufficient, we are also working on that
I do hope to have nevertheless the pleasure of welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#22 of 204 in Nice
967 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#46 of 204 in Nice
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel & Spa

Property: Splendid Hotel & Spa
Address: 50 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nice
#4 Spa Hotel in Nice
#32 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Hotel & Spa, part of the Warwick collection of hotels, is located in Nice city center, 5' walk from the beaches, casinos, shopping area and Massena Museum. Its 128 rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and very comfortable with full bathrooms, satellite TV, free WiFi, tea making facilities, etc. On the 8th floor, a panoramic restaurant: l'EssenCiel , bar, swimming pool and heated jacuzzi. On the ground floor, a spa featuring Decleor natural products and essential oils with 2 cabins for treatments as well as jacuzzi and hamman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel And Spa
Splendid Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing