We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location & Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Ranked #41 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed eight nights in this hotel, using Nice as our base for travel. The staff was incredibly helpful and breakfast each morning was adequate to start our day. The location was terrific, just a few blocks from the water and also the pedestrian walking area where you can find many restaurants and shops. We walked to the Old City at night for dinner and found many busses just a block away. Rooms were clean and comfortable, but this hotel is little old and could use some renovation. In particular, the lobby looks "tired". But we loved our stay and could easily overlook appearance for good location and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilal921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us; I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed your stay,and appreciated the location and the many facilities around us
We are always doing renovations during the winter season and the lobby will be part of it
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon
have a splendid day
michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
There are newer reviews for Splendid Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Yes, I stayed in the Splendid Hotel August 28th. to 4th Sept. 2012.
It was not as good as I expected it would be.
I'm not a very fussie person but I thought it was very expensive for what we got.
We did have breakfast included in our price. ''Lets say it was not an English or an Irish breakfast as we know them. But it was average to good.
I can't see how it was rated as a 4 star. We saw quite a few 3 stars & 4 stars that were advertising cheaper that we paid along the prom. and they did look 3&4 star.

Room Tip: We had expected a coffee maker in the room but there was none. Perhaps they were in an upgraded room...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddymutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others...and ourselves, know about your stay with us
I was of course disappointed..by your disappointment and hope next time we can make you more enthusiastic; deluxe rooms and suites do have tea making facilities: it is clearly mentioned on our website's descriptions
Breakfasts are complimentary IF you book on our website, and you stay at least 3 nights
Again we do hope to welcome you again....and we shall do everything possible to generate enthusiasm
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel several times,always had de luxe room on 3rd floor.The corridor its self looks run down due to the state of the door frames,however the rest of the hotel is spotless.In the room everything you need bathroom excellent, although a soap dispenser in shower would be helpful , we found air conditioning excellent.This hotel is within a ten minute walk of the beach, main shopping area,rail station and excellent tram system,numerous restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Always had room looking unto Rue Gornod .Sun on balcony in morning
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Bonjour
Thank you very much for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us. I was delighted to know you enjoyed -again- your stay with us, and comments from repeat clients are even more valuable
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - g-m@splendid-nice.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

stayed here for one night.and was quite dissapointed with the hotel, although the rooms are small ,they are clean and have everything you require but the bathrooms need upgrading. sink was cracked and odd smell in hotel.The breakfast was adaquate but leave the cooked food alone.On a good note location is good and staff were pleasant. We didnt use pool or spa and presume this is where 4 stars come from,I however would prefer better bathrooms than gyms,

Room Tip: Perhaps the superior rooms would be better
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others- and our selves- know about your stay with us
I appreciated your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and the staff
I was of course disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay; we do renovations every winter and your comments will help us in planning these
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked a superior room, very disappointed, very far from a 4 star hotel. Major problem was that the air conditioning was just not good enough. We had a very odd shaped room, with a tiny bathroom and hardly room to move in the shower over the half bath. Nice is a city I know well, and for my liking the Splendid is just a little bit too far from the city centre and attractions. The pool is tiny and the beds are all gone from very early in the day. It is a very impersonal hotel and really has the feel of somewhere that slightly upmarket backpackers might stay. You feel like you get nothing form the reception staff. If you charge too much for the service you give, then you are always on the back foot. The breakfast was fair enough. Not fresh orange juice as one would expect in a four star, but at least it was Tropicana. Coffee was fair. Hot food fair. Cereal, yogurt, fruit, cold meat, cheese, good. Bread fair. The doors are all left open in the dining room and it is very hot indeed, no real comfort while you eat your breakfast. Not a bad hotel, but it is 4 star prices for a 2-3 star hotel. Don't go here for a romantic treat, or expecting luxury. PS, don't expect a late checkout, the maids were knocking on our door and reception ringing, 5 minutes before checkout, despite the fact that we had the do not disturb sign up.

Room Tip: don't bother paying for an upgrade to a superior room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suitedreamsdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others - and ourselves - know about your stay with us
I was disappointed you did not like the hotel and its location even though most other travellers seem to enjoy at least the location as we are in city center and only 400 meters from beaches, casinos, etc
I was happy you enjoyed the breakfast and disappointed you did not like your room; we always don renovations every winter and your comments will help us in planning them
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mightymouse44444
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I don't write many reviews on trip adviser, maybe I should but this Hotel has forced my hand. I mean it's clean, basic and the view from the roof is spectacular - That's is where in my opinion the positives end.

The service especially in the bar was shocking to say the least. I was not even acknowledged while waiting 15 minutes at the bar while the local rotary club argued over divvying up the bill, who had 2 glasses of wine, who didn't have a starter etc, they even had some sort of chart. In the end I gave up and went to bed! After having breakfast the morning after I can't really work out why they decided to have a meal there in the first place as the food was very basic with not a lot of variety.

Luckily I was there only for one night and as BA had recommended it I thought it would be ok. Like someone else had written, if a deal is too good to be true it usually is! Go to the Hotel Negresco around the corner if you don't want to be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank AT82_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves, know about your stay with us.
I can of course only apologize about the wait in the bar, but as you indicate yourself sometimes clients can be difficult and long to settle simply matters
Thank you for mentioning the view, the cleanliness, etc; the Negresco is a very nice property, very different from us.......and at different prices too, so it is not really fair to compare the two properties
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#50 of 204 in Nice
1,269 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#21 of 204 in Nice
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel & Spa

Address: 50 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nice
#4 Spa Hotel in Nice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $111 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Hotel & Spa, part of the Warwick Hotels & Resorts, is located in Nice city center, 5' walk from the beaches, casinos, shopping area and Massena Museum. Its 128 rooms and suites are elegantly furnished and very comfortable with full bathrooms, satellite TV, free WiFi, tea making facilities, free soft drinks in the minibar, safety box etc. On the 8th floor, a panoramic bar & restaurant: l'EssenCiel, swimming pool and heated jacuzzi. On the ground floor, a spa featuring Decleor and Phytomer natural products and essential oils with 2 cabins for treatments as well as jacuzzi, hammam and fitness corner. Private underground garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Splendid Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel And Spa
Splendid Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing