We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #80 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked rather last minute via their website at Le Meridien Hotel in Nice for 3 nights. On arrival we were lucky enough to be upgraded from a deluxe seaview room to a junior suite on the 7th floor which had great views both over the park, with the mountains beyond and also out to sea - stunning! Our room was luxurious in every way, very comfortable "huge" bed, (larger than normal put up bed for our daughter),luxury linen, huge bathroom with walk in shower, double sinks, fluffy towels, toiletries etc Our chambermaid was lovely and made sure we had everything we needed, very attentive. The hotel is centerally located and you can walk everywhere, the old town is approx 10 mins. The terrace restaurant has great views, the food and service again was exceptional, although can be alittle pricey. Our only issue was having to pay for sun loungers by the pool, I think when you are paying 400 euros+ per night there is no need to charge for loungers. Tthe pool was quite small and not heated so we tended to spend more time on the beach. Be aware the hotel beach is run by an outside company and again there is a charge for the use of sun loungers, parasols etc, 18 euros per day p.p. which soon adds up. Breakfast was a feast, instead of the usual continental breakfast, there was an amazing choice of both hot and cold food - a good start to the day.

We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the town and Promenade des Anglais
the early morning markets are a must., just wish we had had a few more days to venture out to the surrounding areas.

Thank you to all the lovely staff at the Le Meridien, Nice we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloe088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2010

Dear chloe088,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments on this forum! I was sincerely happy to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the Le Méridien Bed experience.
I was particularly pleased that you found the team helpful and friendly - I'll ensure that your comments are shared with them.
Le Méridien Nice has indeed great location with spectacular views. A live webcam is available on our official website which shows just one of the views from the hotel including the entrance to the port - have a look, not only will it remind you of your recent stay but it also offers an updated weather forecast.
Super that you appreciated the rooftop restaurant with its adjoining pool and solarium, which is ideal for relaxing and enjoying the scenery.
Not only can you enjoy a three course mouthwatering meal there if you have time but if you're in a hurry, snacks are also served. A special menu for children is always available.
Hotel guests are charged a nominal rate for the solarium mattresses ensuring that all guests have a fair opportunity of occupying a mattress, which are limited in number.
I was particularly pleased to learn that your stay with us fulfilled all your expectations. I sincerely hope that you will be able to return to us for another break very soon.
With my best regards,

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

the hotel was the spoiler for our 1 week stay in Nice. room was small and dim, bathroom smelt like a public toilet as did the hotel corridors. if we hadnt paid fully in advance would have packed up after the first night and checked into even a B&B for more pleasant experience than this disgraceful and apparently 4star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s8384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2010

Dear s8384
Firstly, I appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments following your stay at Le Méridien Nice.
I am sincerely sorry to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations. We hope that you will accept our most sincere apologies on that account.
Please excuse us if you found that the bathroom smelt - I can ensure you that all rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.
Whenever your travel plans permit you to return to Nice, please do not hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to assist you with your reservation.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

From the outside we thought it does not look so special but once we got to the lobby and met with the wonderful person who did our check-in and were given all the information we asked for, we knew we were going to have wonderful time. The room we had faced the sea and the gardens and had an immense terrasse - the blue of the sea and the greeness of the gardens really got to us. The room was so comfortable and oh that large bed you could really get lost in it. We had one meal in the restaurant on the roof, the chef is a genius.Room service was the best we had in all our years of travelling.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkinnyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Dear SkinnyKate,
How nice of you to write such a great review about your experience at Le Méridien Nice.
I am so happy to learn how much you enjoyed your visit and was particularly pleased that you found the team helpful and friendly - I'll ensure that your comments are shared with them.
I am also glad that you had time to taste the delights of our Chef, Mr Giannini. Our official website has a special page "Meet the Chef" which gives a resumé about him and his delicious Mediterranean cuisine.
You gave a special mention about our room service, available 24 hours a day, and I must admit that we have received many first class comments concerning this special service and in particular, the evening butler service.
Thank you for having taken your time to share your comments on this website.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again, in the not too distant future.
With my best regards,

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I really enjoyed our stay at Le Meridien. Good location and I felt the refurb was better done than some other reviewers have suggested.

However, as per other reviews you need to be aware that the Deluxe rooms come with either Terrace or Balcony. The terrace is what you can see in the picture on their website and adequately caters for two sun loungers and table and chairs. The balcony is a few feet wide, standing room only with no space for furniture.

When we arrived we were given a balcony room and after some persistence with reception I got us moved to a terrace room the next day. In my opinion the two rooms were not comparable and I would be surprised if every guest given a balcony room was not at the least extremely disappointed. I suggested to the hotel they needed to break these out as two different classses of room.

All above the said once we got the terrace room I was happy with the hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveller091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in July. The classic room was terrible. Clearly not a 4 star room but a 2 star. The furniture was old, the capet was very old and dirty, the shower curtain was ridiculous. Le Meridien need to renovate the classic rooms because they are not worth the money or the star rating. If you can't afford the suites don't stay in this hotel.

The only good thing about staying in this hotel was the location right in front of the beach, close to the shops and the very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elis223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed for 1 week w wife for anniversary

PROS:
-Excellent location-facing the beach (separated by the promenade, which is as good as it can get), walking distance to main square (Place Massina), Old Town, the Promenade, the cafe/restaurant area is immediately behind the hotel.
-Clean, modern
-Large rooms, plenty of storage/space
-Wonderful staff -helpful, friendly (many are local and take personal pride in helping you sightsee/get around).
-3 car rentals on the same block
-Awesome rooftop cafe/pool

CONS:
-McDonalds and a cheesy casino are in the same building (but have separate entrances).
-No dedicated concierge (done by front desk and bell men)

Overall, a nice place to stay. Might get a better deal at smaller hotels in the same vicinity.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P-Fogg-1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

we stayed there for one week-- the hotel is below average in terms of design and rooms-- staff services are really poor-- but what reaaly ruined our stay there is that our room has been entered while we were on a trip and after we came back we found that our "safe" was broken into and around 3000 euros and expensive belongings were stolen -- and what really struck us is that the hotel didnt really care and didnt do much or even show any level of concern--
i totally dont recommend it

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
Thank submariner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#40 of 204 in Nice
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#36 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $131 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing