We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient - spectacular breakfast buffet”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #79 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very convenient - spectacular breakfast buffet”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were booked here for three nights by our travel agent prior to a river cruise. We found the basic room large enough for two women with two suitcases each (we got an extra luggage rack so we didn't have to unpack everything.) The room was clean and bright and overlooked the courtyard. Beds and pillows were very comfortable.The bathroom was attractively refurbished with plenty of room for our packs. The two outstanding things were the breakfast buffet with good service which included all the usual plus wonderful cheeses, delightful croissants and pastries, all types of freshly brewed coffees (regular & decaf: American, espresso, and cappuccino ) and lovely, thin crepes with pure Vermont maple syrup. Couldn't get enough of those! The other bonus was the location, directly on the Promenade des Anglais so morning walks along the seafront are a must yet right in the city, and close to public transportation to access among other places the Matisse and Chagall museums. One to two blocks behind the hotel was a charming shopping district with pleasant, reasonably priced restaurants offering lovely lunches and dinners and street entertainers at night. A delightful park is across the street with the old city within walking distance as well. Overall, we were quite pleased with our stay here.

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer views of the sea and the city. Balconied rooms are lovely, but much more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenandron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear ellenandron,

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were very pleased to welcome you to Le Méridien Nice and it’s a pleasure to hear about your satisfaction.
Indeed, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and more especially the quality of our service, our very central location on the Promenade des Anglais, the breakfast experience and the comfort of our beds.

Hoping to be able to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    737
    479
    251
    159
See reviews for
365
886
86
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend. Booked 2 connecting classic rooms for the whole family, 2 adults and 3 children. Yes indeed, the location where it is based, is great. The bedrooms are refurbished and ok but the bathrooms (incl the closets) are from 1960's! What a shame to see this in a so called 4 star hotel. The bathrooms simply are a piece of trash and it smells whole day long.....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martijn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Martijn D,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
So glad that you were able to book connecting classic rooms with your family and that you enjoyed our central location.
However, we regret that you didn’t appreciate the bathrooms and their fragrance. A special Guest Service desk is available 24/7 to solve all issues and would have been of assistance to you in ensuring that the housekeeper was informed of your concerns and immediate action would have been taken.
We do hope that you will give us the chance to regain your confidence. If you wish to plan a return trip, please contact the Guest Experience Team personally who will be more than happy to assist with your booking arrangements.

Once again please accept our apologies.
With best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Worst most expensive hotel ever
Receptionist speaks not a lick of english. Horrible cramped rooms that cost over $400 a night, with a small window looking over the interior square of the hotel (looks like you are in a ghetto neighborhood as they do not maintain the integrity of the building. I really wish I did not have to do a last minute reservation to allow myself ample time to research where to stay better. This is Nice gone bad at the least.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saifhaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Saifhaddad,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments.
We have reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us in August 2013 and are grateful for all the feedback we can get.

We do apologize for the miscommunication with a member of our reception staff, whom we do assure you all speak English. However, your comments will be passed on to the head of department concerned.
With regards to the classic room in which you stayed, we regret that you found the room cramped. The classic rooms are approximately 25m² and overlook an interior courtyard as you mentioned, which are usually valued for their tranquillity. We are disappointed that you did not appreciate your room last summer.

We do hope that you will give us the chance to regain your confidence. If you wish to plan a return trip, please contact the Guest Experience Team personally who will be more than happy to assist with your booking arrangements.

Once again please accept our apologies.
With best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We arrived late at the Cannes Film Festival and most hotels were sold except this hotel. Well now we know why. The location of the hotel was good (hence why I gave it two stars) and it ends right there. The staff were nice but didn't give you any extra attention. They made you feel uncomfortable to ask questions. Most answers were just one word answers. The rooms were really in a bad shape. The carpet was filthy with dark spots all over. The bathrooms looked like it came from student dormitories and everything you touched stuck to your hands. By far not worth the money and there are far better hotels around the area if you book a bit in advance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Todd A

Further to your review posted on this website, we regret that you did not appreciate your stay at Le Méridien Nice

Please accept our apologies for your disappointing experience and please feel free to contact us directly if you had concerns that you would like us to handle or if there is anything that we can do in order to restore your confidence in our services.

We would be very grateful if you would give us another chance.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel was booked by our travel agent, and we found it well located and comfortable. The rooms were small and street parking was difficult. The breakfast buffet ( included in our room rate)was good, and the staff , especially our check -in at reception was welcoming and very helpful and friendly. We upgrade our room to one with a balcony- this worked out well. This hotel really helped us enjoy nice, as we could walk all over.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Andrea S,
A big thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Guest experience is what matters most and it is always rewarding to read that our guests were delighted.
It is true that the hotel’s location is a real asset.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the weekend to watch the Monaco Grand Prix.

The hotel was good and the room(no:404) was dual aspect with a nice see view, be warned though that the double glazing does let in noise

The breakfast had a good range to choose from, but then they do charge 25 euros per person for it..

However my biggest complaint was that we paid 980 euros per night and we were completely shocked and rather put out that we were expected to pay extra for WIFI in our room. When I complained at the reception the receptionist agreed that it wasn't great but there wasn't anything she could do about it. If I wanted free Wifi I would have to leave my expensive room and sit in the main lobby.

Think this hotel needs to review this policy as it doesn't leave a good impression.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Nice during the Monaco Grand Prix.
We are thrilled that you found the hotel good and that you enjoyed the sea view from your room.

Thank you also for your feedback about the Wifi charge.
Due to the various reviews about Wifi, we have reviewed our policy and our future guests will be able to benefit from free Wifi throughout the hotel.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our river cruise company booked us into the Meridien for our pre-cruise stay in Nice. Other reviewers have commented on the purple wall color in the upper hallways, but other than that, the hotel was fine. The decor in the rooms is quite neutral so as to showcase the spectacular views. We chose to upgrade our room to one that overlooked both the lovely park and the Mediterranean. This was less expensive than a complete sea view, but I think prettier since we could see the city lights after dark.

The location right across the street from the Promenade des Anglais and the beach was excellent. The only drawback was about a mile walk to the bus station or the train station, but if you don't want to walk, of course you don't have to.

Our first day, we ate lunch in the rooftop restaurant. It has a lovely view, but was more expensive than other good restaurants we later found in Nice. My husband - the coffee drinker in the family - appreciated the free coffee vouchers we were given each day.

Room Tip: A room that overlooks both the park and the sea is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyJBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#45 of 204 in Nice
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Property: Le Meridien Nice
Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#37 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing