We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #73 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days in fall 2013 on a vacation. You can't ask for a better location than this! The hotel is right next to the beach, shopping, restaurants and everything. We had a terrace in our room with amazing Riviera view. The room is nice and modern but our bathroom is slightly small.

The front desk desk staff were not very warm and friendly when we checked in. Even though we are SPG platinum member, we were not given an upgrade or special greeting upon arrival. They do need more improvement in my option compared with some other SPG hotels around the world. The breakfast buffet was great with lots of selections and the staff at the restaurant were very helpful. The swimming pool has a nice view on the roof top but it closed quite early.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yahoouser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    692
    443
    233
    142
See reviews for
330
819
80
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Location, location, location - but that is about it. My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. We were upgraded to an Executive sea view room on the upper level and had an amazing terrace. The terrace was the same size as the bedroom - with amazing views of the Rivera and park. The room was cramped and the bed/mattress is certainly not "Starwood Heavenly" by any means. In fact it was just terrible. The bathroom is small with only one sink and the bathtub/shower was a very high step making it treacherous to get in and out of. The fitness center is not designed for any type of stretching and there are no mats or balls to work with. The hotel in general is very nice and modern. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating. Both the lobby and roof top bar and restaurants are very nice. The roof top bar/restaurant has stunning views as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestworun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear savvytraveler978
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.
Delighted that we were able to upgrade you upon arrival and so glad that you enjoyed the absolutely amazing views from your Executive Sea View room.
It’s true that our location is indeed an asset, opposite the beach yet within walking distance of both the old town and the pedestrian zone and last but no means least, opposite the recently opened Green Strip with its 30 acres of park land including trees and water features, running through the centre of Nice from the MAMAC (Modern and Contemporary Art Museum) to the Mediterranean Sea, creating a more eco-friendly city centre for pedestrians.
Thank you for giving our friendly and helpful staff a special mention, as guest experience is essential to us.
We have noted the various other comments you were kind enough to bring to our attention and hope that the Guest Service Desk, on hand at all times, were able to take note of your issue with the bed/mattress.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed here for one night, in town for a work-related event. The first day it rained and I was inside all day, but the second was sunny and nice. The location across the street from the boardwalk is excellent and there are great views from the terrace. The room was comfortable with nice modern furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The hotel dining was also solid. I enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldfamousjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear worldfamousjeff,
Many thanks for the kind comments you shared on this website.
We are delighted to read of your enjoyable stay with us at Le Méridien Nice and are pleased that the facilities and service were to your complete satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, perhaps for a leisure trip next time.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Arrived around 11:00 p.m. on a Saturday night, no one was around to help with our luggage so we had to awkwardly take them us with us on the escalator to the reception desk. Even though we are Gold SPG member, we were not given an upgrade upon arrival and when we asked for an upgrade we were told that none were available, however their website indicated that better rooms were available for the duration of our stay. The layout of our room has to be the worst I've ever seen. We can barely get the door closed to the toilet without injuring ourselves. The sink is in another room with the shower/tub...very awkward. The tub is very high too and, in my humble opinion, somewhat dangerous. The water temperature varies from scorching hot to ice cold with little ability to control it. The size of the room is probably similar to other places in Europe, however, the poor layout makes it seem like a shoebox. Additionally, while waiting at reception for the other couple we are travelling with, I was asked to leave by security. Even after I produced proof that I had a room in the hotel no apology was given. This was at ten in the morning, not three in the morning in which case I could possibly understand scrutiny by security. The television is a disaster also with 90% of the channels extremely snowy. Spend your hard earned money somewhere else. It can't be any worse.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear urofan,
Thank you for being part of our loyalty programme and for having chosen to stay at Le Méridien Nice.

We do appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on our website and regret that we weren’t informed of your hassles during your stay. Wherever possible, the hotel management prefers to rectify an issue immediately and would also have the opportunity of being in contact with you as a valued guest.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered.

We sincerely hope that you will not judge us on this particular experience and that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at a future date. If you so wish to plan a return trip, please contact the Guest Experience Team personally who will be more than happy to assist with your booking arrangements.

Once again please accept our apologies.
With best regards,

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Hotels is lovely, with a modern feeling. The hotel has an amazing view of the promenade. The personal were very helpful seeing that our overnight train arrived early and arranged for us to check in early. The hotel is central with a lovely view. The piano bar was truly magnificent, the restaurants food and service was very good. We will definitely return to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Annelize B,

A big thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
Guest experience is what matters most and it is always rewarding to read that our guests were delighted.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel itself is nice, with a great central location, across from promenade, and close to major shopping, restaurants etc. The staff however, could learn a lesson or two in manners. Found the front desk and restaurant staff to be very rude, unfriendly, and not very helpful. Was almost like we were bothering them when trying to check in/out. They room offered certain things (free coffee, water, paper etc). Got the free water once, and the free coffee was a major effort to get. Never did get the free paper. Would have been a nice stay, if the staff were friendlier and nicer. We have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world, and have to say the staff at this hotel were the least friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artsyshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear artsyshell,
Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Nice for your stay last October.
We are delighted that you found our location to be a major asset.

On the other hand, we are distressed to hear that the hotel didn’t meet your expectations on certain levels.
We do apologize that the team didn’t appear helpful and didn’t give you the attention you deserve.
This certainly does not reflect our usual quality of our service.
Please rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to the departments concerned to avoid a reoccurrence in the future.

Once again, please accept our apologies and we hope that you will give us a chance to regain your confidence.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
874 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I'll start by saying this: we loved the location of this hotel. Right at the promenade, it was within walking distance to the old town, restaurants, etc. And right at the beach!

The hotel itself is nice. It looks like they just refurbished the place and we had a pretty good deal via Starwood for a suite, which means our view overlooks the riviera and it was an amazing view.

Facilities in the room we had was quite amazing. Beautiful views from the bedroom to the bathroom and a terrace that runs the whole length of the room.

The bathroom in our suite was one of the nicest I've seen.

We had room service quite often and the service was very prompt and fast.

The front desk personnel was extremely helpful and helped arrange for a tour of the French Riviera which turn out to be very good and we had a fantastic time.

The one thing to note is that our room was on the second top floor (the top floor had an amazing pool!), there's a restaurant is on the top floor and during service, noise do creep into the room, even with all the doors closed.

The hotel do have a modern feel to it which might not be for those looking for a more rustic home feel that other accommodations in the area might offer. Plus, we stayed in a suite so am not sure about the standard room. We would not be surprised if some might consider this at a more pricier range.

But ultimately, we like the central location that felt like we were in the centre of action. And there was a great view and we preferred the modern feel as well.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JuiTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear JuiHong
Thank you so much for your review about the enjoyable experience you had last year at Le Méridien Nice.
We were particularly delighted that the team was helpful and I’ll ensure that your comments are shared with them all.
We aim for our guests to feel comfortable and even spoilt, so it is really rewarding for us to read that we succeeded!
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#55 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Property: Le Meridien Nice
Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#36 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing