We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #73 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Location could not be better for home base in Nice or on the Cote 'Azur. Buses to all other cities right out the front door - 100 feet. In center of city, walk to everything. Hotel is very nice. Rooms are small but all rooms in France are small. Clean and good service. Unfortunate interior designer did not put in adequate clothes storage other than hanging closet. Bar in the evening at the end of the day is good. Great snacks.

Room Tip: If you are SPG member, definitely take the upgrade option. You may end up in sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    692
    443
    233
    142
See reviews for
330
819
80
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We used to live in Nice and decided to come back for a short break we knew the location of the hotel Le Meridien was on the corner of the promenade de anglais so decided to stay here central to everything. The bus stops are opposite the hotel for the 200 bus to Cannes great for a day out and only one euro fifty each way. The 98 bus takes you to the airport for 6 euros but if you walk to outside the hard rock cafe you can catch the number 52 bus for only one euro fifty (standard price for all nice buses). The hotel was extremely comfortable and very quiet in November we got an upgrade free of charge. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom was very clean and the toiletries were replaced every day. My only complaint if it was one is that you are given a voucher for a free coffee for two people every day during your stay and after the first two days it was not replaced but on asking at reception we were given a voucher no questions asked. We found all staff from reception to the cafe to be extremely friendly and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a package with the breakfast included its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here on a long weekend break with my partner. The location is fantastic, bus from the airport stops a hundred yards from the front door (and is a fraction of the cost of a taxi), its close to a lot of good restaurants, the shops and square, and is a short walk from the old town. The view from the rooftop restaurant and pool are spectacular.

However.....it is pricey. If its a special occasion (as it was for us) its worth it as the rooms are great, food is excellent, and contrary to what I've read in other reviews, the staff were all very good to us - even to the extent of apologising for the rain on one day! However if you're merely looking for a place to crash at the end of a days exploring then a cheaper option may suit better.

Summary: can't be faulted and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a day on a conference. The location of the hotel is good; just opposite the promenade and close to the shopping areas. The hotel is a bit cramped and not very suitable for a large conference. The hotel is also old and does not have the frills of a luxury hotel. The staff was nice and the room they gave me had a brilliant sea view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidharath_Kapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in the le meridien nice for one night. After we checked in, we wanted to go out and look for lunch. We put a " do not disturb" sign while we went out for lunch. When we come back 2 hour later, we found out that someone had entered the room and went through our things. That person also left the windows open. We were sure that when we went out the windows were all closed. At night, i wanted to take my cough syrup and called the room service to ask for spoon and they said that they would charge 5 euro for a spoon and 50 euro for a water boiler. I dont think this hotel is worth any star. The carpets were all dirty. We didnt get any slippers in the room. Not something that i would expect from a starwood hotel

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nvtbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear nvtbn,
Firstly, thank you for staying at Le Méridien Nice on your trip to France.
We do wish to rectify your remarks about “someone entering your room”. The team has been trained not to enter a room with a “do not disturb” sign and should the staff need to contact you for any urgent reason even though the Do Not Disturb sign is on your doorknob, then either a message is slipped under the door or a phone call to the room is made. We insist on the fact that our staff is highly trustworthy.
There is indeed a service charge for delivering specific items to guest rooms and we are glad that the attendant informed you before you placed the order. The mention of €50 for a kettle is not actually charged and just appears on the internal folio as a borrowed kettle. However, the amount is charged only if a guest decides to keep the kettle and does not return it before departure.
Please accept our apologies for the stains on the carpet which will be cleaned very shortly during the low season maintenance programme.
Do hope to be able to welcome you back should you plan a return trip to Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed in tens of Starwood properties across three continents, and I can say that this Le Meridien's service was probably the worst. The poor service level permeates throughout management and staff (with some exceptions).

Positives:

- Central location on seafront, next to old town and shopping district.
- Wonderful sea views from some rooms.

Critically in need of improvement:

- The attitude of management and staff was strikingly negative on average (with exceptions). We interacted with 5 front desk/guest service staff members. 2 were very helpful, but 3 were offensively rude. One cursed in French as she served us (thinking we would not understand). Basically, our requests were all addressed, but in many cases we had to endure rudeness and reflexive negativity first.
- The most remarkable disappointment was the GM, which likely is the cause of the service issues, as leaders set the tone. In direct contrast to consistently positive experiences with managers across the Starwood chain (which owns Le Meridien brand), my experience with the GM in this Le Meridien was surprisingly poor. I've never experienced a situation where a GM completely ignores a guest on multiple occasions, which unfortunately was the case here.

The ill treatment added stress to our trip, which we'd like to avoid naturally. We would not return and cannot recommend this hotel because of that. That is unfortunate because the hotel has much to offer and some staff members are great. All that is needed is an attitude adjustment, starting at the top.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear globaling,

Thank you for being part of our loyalty programme and for having chosen to stay at Le Méridien Nice
Thank you also for taking the time to post your feedback on this website.
We have noted the various comments you were kind enough to bring to our attention and regret that we didn’t match your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered
We would be very grateful if you would give us another chance.
Hoping to see you back on your next trip to Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and did not regret this at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms with the seaview were very nice and clean; the bathroom could do with a overhaul though. We stayed on the 4th floor and can not say that the carpets in the corridors or the rooms were smelly
Despite what some reviewers say, breakfast was excellent unless you are used to caviar and oysters washed down with a bottle of Dom Perignon of course.
The location is great to explore the old town of Nice and shops and restaurants are close.
This is a great hotel to stay and we sure can recommend it.
Be sure to visit the marina and the "remains" of the castle where you have a spectacular view over the city and the bay of angels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Francis D,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website.
I am very happy to know how much you enjoyed your time at Le Méridien Nice and hope to see you again on your next trip to the south of France.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#55 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Property: Le Meridien Nice
Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#36 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing