We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality of service.”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #79 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor quality of service.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed in tens of Starwood properties across three continents, and I can say that this Le Meridien's service was probably the worst. The poor service level permeates throughout management and staff (with some exceptions).

Positives:

- Central location on seafront, next to old town and shopping district.
- Wonderful sea views from some rooms.

Critically in need of improvement:

- The attitude of management and staff was strikingly negative on average (with exceptions). We interacted with 5 front desk/guest service staff members. 2 were very helpful, but 3 were offensively rude. One cursed in French as she served us (thinking we would not understand). Basically, our requests were all addressed, but in many cases we had to endure rudeness and reflexive negativity first.
- The most remarkable disappointment was the GM, which likely is the cause of the service issues, as leaders set the tone. In direct contrast to consistently positive experiences with managers across the Starwood chain (which owns Le Meridien brand), my experience with the GM in this Le Meridien was surprisingly poor. I've never experienced a situation where a GM completely ignores a guest on multiple occasions, which unfortunately was the case here.

The ill treatment added stress to our trip, which we'd like to avoid naturally. We would not return and cannot recommend this hotel because of that. That is unfortunate because the hotel has much to offer and some staff members are great. All that is needed is an attitude adjustment, starting at the top.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear globaling,

Thank you for being part of our loyalty programme and for having chosen to stay at Le Méridien Nice
Thank you also for taking the time to post your feedback on this website.
We have noted the various comments you were kind enough to bring to our attention and regret that we didn’t match your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered
We would be very grateful if you would give us another chance.
Hoping to see you back on your next trip to Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    737
    477
    251
    159
See reviews for
363
886
86
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and did not regret this at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms with the seaview were very nice and clean; the bathroom could do with a overhaul though. We stayed on the 4th floor and can not say that the carpets in the corridors or the rooms were smelly
Despite what some reviewers say, breakfast was excellent unless you are used to caviar and oysters washed down with a bottle of Dom Perignon of course.
The location is great to explore the old town of Nice and shops and restaurants are close.
This is a great hotel to stay and we sure can recommend it.
Be sure to visit the marina and the "remains" of the castle where you have a spectacular view over the city and the bay of angels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Francis D,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this website.
I am very happy to know how much you enjoyed your time at Le Méridien Nice and hope to see you again on your next trip to the south of France.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hotel is old and it shows. However, the location is superb, on the beach and with a rooftop restaurant and pool offering great views of the Mediterranee. Room and bathroom were OK but shower with very little power. Rooms are either quiet on the courtyard or noisy but with a great view. Breakfast is reasonable, staff friendly. The gym is small but adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear PvLAchterveld
So glad that you enjoyed our excellent location.
We wish to thank you for your feedback on this website.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back to Le Méridien Nice – perhaps for a leisure trip next time.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on a recent trip to the French Riviera. The views from the hotel are amazing, and I could not have asked for a better location. The hotel is within walking distance of all the upscale stores, as well as the main tourist core of Nice. Car Rental places are located within a block, and one can also easily rent a bike and go riding across the promenade. Wi-fi is not included in the price, but is available for about 15 euros per night. Based on the price, you do get a very good value. The spa on the 9th floor is also amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Rehan H,
A big thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Guest experience is what matters most and it is always rewarding to read that our guests are delighted.
Very much looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Europe.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and had one of the rooms with a balcony on the west side of the hotel which was great for catching the afternoon sunshine.

Really impressed me that all of the staff spoke to you.

The hotel's in a great location for exploring the city.

I was here on a break while my husband had to work!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear CEJUK
Delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you were able to explore the city during your break.
We are indeed ideally situated – so close to the designer stores, the pedestrian zone, opposite the beach and the famous Promenade des Anglais, within easy walking distance to the old town, and last but no means least, opposite the recently opened Green Strip with its 30 acres of park land including trees and water features, running through the centre of Nice from the MAMAC (Modern and Contemporary Art Museum) to the Mediterranean Sea, creating a more eco-friendly city centre for pedestrians
Thank you so much for giving the team a special mention and I’ll ensure that your words are passed on to them.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigginsBoy
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great address, perhaps the best location in Nice. However be warned that the seafront is a main road so the view comes with traffic noise. The hotel were good enough to upgrade my room on arrival without even pointing it out to me - i thanks them for that.

There is nothing wrong with the hotel and its service has been very efficient, however the price on the back of my door is 580 Euros so I should be judging it against a room at the Four Seasons, and my room has all the feel of a Travelodge. The bed was average at best and there is no desk. Wifi is outrageously expensive.

All of this I suspect is testament to how overpriced the South of France can be during the summer. if you come then be warned.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BigginsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear BigginsBoy
Thank you for your feedback further to your recent business trip.
So glad that the team was able to give you an upgrade upon your arrival.

Le Méridien Nice faces the Promenade des Anglais and the seafront and has a large variety of rooms, all of which have double-glazing to reduce the noise level. However, the classic rooms overlooking the interior courtyard are especially appreciated for their tranquility.

Thank you for giving the team in general a special mention.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back at a future date.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights during a conference. Room was lovely, views over the bay spectacular, breakfast was good and wholesome, dinner in the terrace restaurant was good although the small clientele volumes restricted the extent of the menu (which was perfectly reasonable and the food quality good). Staff were polite and helpful rough out.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 204 in Nice
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Property: Le Meridien Nice
Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#37 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing