We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite on the mark”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #75 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not quite on the mark”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Meridien Nice isn't bad, but it could be much better. Whoever designed the interior "look" certainly lives up to the old adage that hotel designers rarely live in their creations. The colours are dark and grim. Purple hallways with a neon look? Rooms painted in various shades of dark grey and black. Felt like I was in a stalag.

The staff were generally OK but perfunctory. I didn't get a sense of really mattering as a customer. It's the only major hotel I have stayed at where having mistakenly served myself the wrong coffee from the machine (the labelling on the machine was inaccurate) and returned it to the server untouched, I was still charged for it on the bill!

And costs are beyond outrageous. $20 equivalent to watch an in-room movie? C'Mon! And God help you if you touch anything in that miinibar. $30 equivalent for breakfast. Everything is literally double or triple the North American rate.

The hotel location is very good. The bed was very comfortable and the shower pressure good. Two important features for me. I had complimentary WiFi because of my SPG Gold status, but the outrageous charges for WiFi are a common complaint in other reviews I have read.
This could be a much better hotel, but right now, it's not up to SPG standards worldwide, especially at the prices they charge.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our location and it is a pleasure to know you appreciated the comfort of our signature Le Méridien Bed, created by the artist Nick Dine.
However, we regret that you did not appreciate the decoration of the hotel, which is modern and unique, exclusively designed for the hotel by the French designer, François Champsaur.

So glad that you were able to benefit from complimentary WiFi because of your SPG Gold status. However, due to several complaints about our WiFi charges, we addressed this issue and therefore free Wifi is now available in the lobby and a 30 minute complimentary WiFi session is available in each room.

In-room movies have various prices depending on the type of movie. The guest is informed of the prices on the TV screen beforehand and is required to confirm his agreement by entering various codes. We must stipulate that our prices are competitive on the French Riviera.

We do hope to be able to welcome you again on your next trip to Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    712
    458
    241
    148
See reviews for
345
845
83
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Besides the central location overlooking the beach, there was not much else that impressed us during our five day stay. Service in general was adequate but not great! Main entrance is on a side street and the lobby is on the first floor, somewhat strange for a deluxe rated hotel. Services are pricey, especially the slow internet connection! No private beach, and partner beach is also expensive.

Next time around, will try to reserve one of the boutique style hotels that we have spotted during our walks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank namrun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear namrun14
We were sincerely sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay and that you found services pricey.
However, Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby and there is also a 30 minute complimentary WiFi session available in each room.
Also, Le Méridien Nice has a special agreement with the Ruhl Private Beach, situated opposite the hotel, whereby hotel guests can enjoy discounted rates. There are however many free public beaches to be chosen from.
We sincerely do hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and that you’ll choose to stay with us again in the near future. If so, please feel free to contact the Guest Experience Team in order to assist with your booking arrangements.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice roof terrace but food was the biggest let down in the whole place. Got in late and ate in the rooftop restaurant. The food was just awful for France. Felt like a small provincial auberge (but that would have been better) with a bit of fatty steak and limited choice rather than sitting on the Med coastline. Yet breakfast was probably one of the best I've had and had one of the most attentive waiting teams I've had. May have jsut been unlucky (?). Anyway OK for business not somewhere I'd choose for a weekend break which is a shame because its a great location. Others seem to say the same thing though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear M L
So glad that you enjoyed the roof terrace and also a big thank you for mentioning the breakfast team.
Guest satisfaction is our priority and it is a delight to receive such an excellent review.
We do regret that you weren’t completely satisfied with the food and we do hope that you mentioned this to the rooftop restaurant team.
You don’t seem to think that a weekend break at Le Méridien Nice would be ideal, but I think you should know that we have been nominated Best Romantic Retreat Worldwide by our Starwood Preferred Guests!
Do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location bar none is the best across from the promenade. If your a Spg member, u often get free to very low cost upgrades. For 450 a night, I got a big room facing the beach with spectacular views! Food at breakfast needs some improvement like choosing from a menu vs eating buffet which is average to good but pricey at 22 euros a head. Dinner and drinks by the pool have phenomenal views but food quality and service is marginal and needs a wake up call. The front desk help are great and someone always answers the phone. I've stayed her twice and still enjoy it, but food ad service needs some attention. Overall, I recommend this place. Btw..the spa is great. Had a phenomenal massage today that put me out!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_McCarthy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Rob_McCarthy12345
Thank you for being part of our loyalty programme and for having chosen to stay at Le Méridien Nice
We are delighted that you were given an upgrade overlooking the Mediterranean with spectacular views. As you know, it is not always possible to give an upgrade so we’re glad that you appreciated it.
Thank you also for the tips regarding breakfast.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on a return trip to Europe.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in May 2013 and were very pleased with the room and with the service. We booked a Deluxe room (one category up from basic) because we had heard that the basic rooms were too small and some had not been renovated. Our room was just what we needed - recently renovated. The front desk staff acts as concierge and they were helpful in booking tours and restaurants.

Room Tip: A deluxe room is a good bet to have a renovated room and sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear pcas55
Thank you for the good review that you were kind enough to write on TripAdvisor
I am very happy to know how much you enjoyed your time at Le Meridien Nice and hope to see you again for your next stay in Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The room was okay, since there were three of us a cot was put in , making crowded room.
Most disappointed in the bar/restaurant on the roof. Beautiful view, terrible service....never
did get waited on. The downstairs restaurant was good for lunch. NO WIFI!!! McDonalds is attached on the street level ,so we had to go down there to get free WiFi. I would not stay
there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Suzanne W

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed the views from the rooftop bar/restaurant.

However, we are distressed to hear that the hotel didn’t meet your expectations on certain levels. This certainly does not reflect the usual quality of our service.
We do apologize that the restaurant staff was not helpful and didn’t give you the attention you deserved.

Free Wifi is available in the lobby and also a 30 minute complimentary WiFi session is available in each room

We sincerely do hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and that you’ll choose to stay with us again in the near future. If so, please feel free to contact the Guest Experience Team in order to assist with your booking arrangements.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Not the best looking hotel in Nice by any means but very comfortable and very adequate inside. Our deal included breakfast and onthat basis was very good value in the range of food options was fantastic. Room very nice and great rooftop bar and swimming pool. location is right on the front and close to the old town too

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backwell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Backwell5
Thank you for your review.
So glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location ideal, being only minutes from the old town, the pedestrian zone and overlooking the Mediterranean Sea
I am delighted that you appreciated the breakfast experience where we cater for all tastes. The buffet breakfast includes freshly squeezed orange juice and many other fruit juices; all sorts of various breads and even pancakes and pastries; delicious jams such as blueberry, cherry, raspberry, peach etc.; various fresh and dried fruit; a large cooked breakfast; fresh yoghurts and cream cheese; and last but not by any means least, Congi Chinese Soup.
Very much looking forward to welcoming you back at a future date.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Property: Le Meridien Nice
Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#36 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing