We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #70 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location was the reason I chose this hotel and it is beautiful and convenient to most of the major sights in Nice (the market, old town, the water/beaches). If the hotel was located elsewhere it would not be worth staying--you are paying a premium for the location. The room was nice and of a reasonable size. The staff was OK, but did not seem overly welcoming and often times it seemed like an inconvenience to help--for example, it was pouring rain and there was a basket full of umbrellas...I asked if I could borrow one for a few minutes (was just running across the street) and it was a hassle and they seemed to think I would run off with it (even after giving my room number). The parking garage under the hotel is not owned by the hotel and you have to take a separate elevator to the garage--even then it only goes to some of the floors. I had to get out, walk across the garage, and then take the stairs to my level. Seems like poor planning. There is an extra charge for internet service, parking, and breakfast. Overall, the hotel was fine for what I needed, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceytraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Traceytraveler17

We’re so glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you found the room to your liking.
However, I am sorry if you found the staff to be lacking in their welcome. Guest satisfaction is our priority and it is unacceptable that you did not feel welcomed at our property.

We have investigated the matter of the umbrellas and it would appear that you saw a basket of broken umbrellas brought back by guests.

There is an elevator to the underground public car park in the lobby area. Illuminated signs to the hotel elevator are strategically placed in the car park and we regret that you didn’t find the car park convenient.

There is an extra charge for internet for some of our guests, kindly note that complimentary in-room wifi internet access is available to guests who book an Executive Terrace room or a Junior Suite.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously, so that we may resolve any issues and we thank you for bringing them to our attention,

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    684
    430
    232
    140
See reviews for
322
811
79
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Nice right on the front, superbly comfortable rooms, views to die for. Breakfast very good, although glad I didn't have to pay myself! Would come again, just to people watch on the Promenade des Anglais

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxMountaineers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Manx Mountaineers,

So glad that you found the hotel an excellent place to stay at in Nice.
Do return soon.

Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

you are next to everything, in addition you get breathtaking view, roar from the waves( if big) and some noice from trafic on the promenade. you pay for location and view, this include food and drinks. all in all, price/performance is acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peergynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest from Bergen,

I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay at le Méridien Nice and wish to thank you for taking the time to leave a message on TripAdvisor.
I do hope to be able to welcome you back on a future trip to Nice.
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very dated. Specially the barhrooms. The wifi dosent work ( and its not free)
I was in my way to Cannes and decided to stay one night in Nice
A night i can survive surely but i bet there are better options.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aikyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Peergynt

I regret that your stay was not up to your expectations. Please accept our apologies.
From what I can gather from your comments, you stayed in one of our non-renovated classic rooms which would explain the “dated” appearance of the bathroom.
These rooms are currently undergoing renovation works, which are due to be completed before end of first quarter 2013.

We sincerely hope that you will not judge us on this particular experience and that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at a future date. If you so wish to plan a return trip, please contact the Guest Experience Team personally who will be more than happy to assist with your booking arrangements.

I sincerely do hope that this experience will not affect your confidence in our services and in Starwood Hotels & Resorts.
Once again please accept our apologies.
With best regards,

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

On the night of 14th October, we were both extremely exhausted by all that happened at the airport subsequent to our flight cancellation due to adverse weather conditions. After checking back in at Le Meridien, we decided to have a quick dinner on the 1st floor restaurant. My partner ended up with food poisoning, which we thought was caused by a badly cooked hamburger with half-raw meat served almost cold. He could not sleep as he was feeling very unwell, threw up several times and also had diarrhoea. He did not have breakfast the following morning but just a cup of tea. We asked the hotel if we could have a late check-out as my partner was feeling so unwell and needed some rest before we flew back home. The help did not come swiftly. After a few phone calls and some waiting, the hotel customer services eventually came back and asked if we needed a doctor, we said we did not need one but needed somewhere my partner could have a rest before we travelled to the airport. The answer from the hotel management was a blunt "no"; they also said that we needed to check out promptly because the hotel was fully booked. They also said that they had had no complaint from anyone else about their hamburgers and they could not give us any extension. After more negotiation, and after making clear to them again that they should have shown some responsibility as the food poising seemed to have been caused by a meal taken at their hotel, the hotel director agreed to let us stay in the room for another 2 hours but no longer; they kept insisting that no one else had ever complained about their hamburgers.

On checking out, we complained to the front desk about the poor treatment we were receiving,. No apologies were given, instead, the hotel staff made totally inappropriate remarks such as “did you wash your hands before dinner?” and “you know, in this country, we eat meat half-cooked.” We eventually let them know that we were in the medical profession and that my partner was actually a Professor of medicine and a surgeon himself so he should know when to wash his hands. The hotel front desk manager (or perhaps hotel director himself?) was particularly aggressive and rude, shouting at us and insinuated that we were making a fuss because we tried to avoid paying our dinner bill (which wasn’t that huge in anyway: a salade nicoise, a hamburger, one bottle of wine and one bottle of red wine). Eventually, after a rather lengthy dispute, they called the restaurant manager to come to take the role of scapegoat and offered to take charge of our drinks and my salad while we were waiting for our taxi for the airport. My partner did not have any food as he had serious nausea and stomach cramps, so he only drank one cup of tea and a lot of water to rehydrate himself. We were extremely concerned that he was not up for the trip back home, but he managed it.

My partner explained to the restaurant manager that it was a concern that the hotel management had displayed such a dismissive behaviour towards what could have been a serious case of food poisoning had this incident happened to an older and weaker person.

Room Tip: We will avoid this hotel at any price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest from London,
We are very distressed to read the severe allegations you have noted on this website.
As you are fully aware, your flight was cancelled on Sunday 14th .and you returned to the hotel for an extra night. We understand the fact that you were very upset about having to stay an extra night.
We were obliged to refuse your request for a late check-out on Monday 15th due to the fact that we were fully booked that evening.
It was only after this refusal that you mentioned stomach aches to our Guest Service Desk, who traces all calls, and that you needed to rest until 4 p.m.
We of course immediately offered to call a doctor for you or even suggested that you go to the local hospital for examination and tests. You declined both, insisting on staying until 4 p.m.
As a goodwill gesture, the Guest Service Desk confirmed that you could leave at 2 p.m.
You did however mention to the food and beverage manager upon departure that you weren’t aware of the source of your stomach ache and that you would probably have accepted a doctor if the hotel had paid for him.
Kindly note, the strictest and highest hygiene standards of all food and beverage are observed throughout all our outlets in the hotel.
Regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Le Meridien is in an excellent location on the seafront, but we found the dual carriageway in front can be noisy at times despite being on the 9th floor. We stayed in a deluxe room with large private terrace which was ideal for relaxing after sightseeing or having a chill out day. Food and drink prices were high end five star.The Rooftop Terrace restaurant menu had a dissapointing variety and choice, for this grade of hotel, but magnificent outlook. There were however very many restaurants in the vicinity and in the old town. The Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and restaurant staff mostly efficient, as were the cleaners. The bus for the airport stopped outside the hotel but from the airport a short distance away. However at 4 Euros as opposed to 70 Euros plus for a taxi (120 if a Mercedes) the bus was an attracrtive proposition. Centrally located, the bus and tram stops were about 10 minutes away as was the old town. Travelling was cheap with bus fares to Monaco and Menton 1Euro, a trip of 90 minutes along the coast.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms get the sun all day, however those facing East have morning sun and a more interest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paratanytarsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest from Maldon

So glad that you enjoyed our excellent location. Your room on the 9th floor overlooking the Mediterranean sea certainly has a beautifully large private terrace overlooking the Promenade des Anglais.

You are so right - the outlook from the rooftop terrace restaurant is absolutely magnificent. However, I was sorry to read that you found the menu variety and choice disappointing. In fact, we have reviewed our menu and our new winter menu is now available.

Thank you for giving the whole team a special mention. I’ll ensure that your words are passed on to them all.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Le Méridien Nice in the not too distant future
Very best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
143 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very good location - good starting point for the stay in Nice. The interior in the rooms are very colorful and nice. Furniture are very good designed. All over is clean. In the bathroom is a little bit noisy, but it is not a big problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear ElenaKZ

So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Nice.
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you again
Best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#51 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Property: Le Meridien Nice
Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#35 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA and Priceline so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing