We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Meridien - Sea front location”
Review of Le Meridien Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Nice
Ranked #83 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed June 13, 2012

If you want free Wi-Fi use the restaurant lounge on the first floor that sits nicely over the ground floor where a certain well known food chain is known for free Wi-Fi access. No problem getting connected to their router.
Breakfast is very good with a wide selection including fresh breads.
No tea/coffee making facility in room. They did give a daily voucher for coffee for two in the lounge although of course its free at breakfast.
Staff very friendly.
Rooms very comfortable.
TV reception watch-able but many stations poor reception. Wide choice of English channels including BBC1, ITV etc.
Very close to wide range of restaurants, shops etc
Walk to station
Beach just across road

Room Tip: I guess you get what you pay for and we were on a Grand Prix package with no choice of room. The hot...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary612466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,116)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Nice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 2,117 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here on after spending 10 days touring the high towns of Provence. This is a big commerical hotel that is WONDERFUL. Our room faced the Mediterranean, what a great view! We had a personal balcony that was 8-feet x 30-feet with two lounge chairs and round dinning table. You could lie in bed and watch the ships go by. After lots of small old charming hill town hotels this was the perfect end to our vacation. We loved the room so much we decided that lunch on the terrace was a must. Went out bought wine, cheese, bread and snacks. Returned to have a great lunch on our terrace, heaven.
Staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: Room on the top three floors have large terraces, try to get one facing the water.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_Anderson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear C_Anderson2012,
So glad that you appreciated your stay at Le Méridien Nice and for taking the time to post these excellent comments on this site.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
With my best regards
Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May 2012 and it is certainly past its use by date and I expect that is why the corridors are painted deep purple - so you can't see any dirt or how paint depraved the place is. We needed to call maintenance to repair a toilet, TV and bed side lights which did not come on for ten minutes after switching on and needed assistance getting into our room when the key did not work. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. On the good side the hotel is in a great location on the waterfront however we had a room looking onto the courtyard so cannot comment on the view or the level of noise.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Meggan H,
Firstly, thank you for posting your review on this website.
The hotel has been refurbished in 2010 and we regret to learn that the style and decoration did not match your expectations. I was sorry to read you did not like the hotel design, however I do hope you appreciated the other parts of your stay at Le Méridien Nice.
Thank you for contacting the Guest Service Desk for the technical issues. This desk is always ready to be of any assistance whatsoever.
Our classic rooms overlook the inner courtyard and are appreciated for their tranquility. However, may I suggest that you try one of our deluxe rooms with a large bay window overlooking the Mediterranean for a future stay.
You mentioned that there is no coffee maker in the room, kindly note that a voucher is available in every room for complimentary freshly brewed Illy coffee, Europe’s innovative, premium coffee brand, led by Andrea Illy, grandson of the founder of Illy Caffé. This voucher will be found in the Discovery Envelope placed on the bed.
Many thanks again for having stayed with us, and I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back if you choose Le Méridien.
If so, please do not hesitate to contact the Guest Experience Team directly in order to assist you with your reservation.
Best regards,

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We checked in to Nice for the last night two nights of our trip. The hotel's location is great being very close to the old Nice. There is a convenient parking lot if you are driving. (23 Euros/day). There is access from the parking lot directly to the hotel.

We reserved a partial sea view but what we got upgraded somehow. The gentleman who checked me in was so efficient. He gave me the keys and a map right away. I couldn't believe it. It was the fastest transaction I experienced in France. The view from the room was fantastic. Even from the shower we could see Promenade des Anglais. I loved it. (our room was on the corner 526)

We did not get free wifi although paid a pretty good price for the room. But I think the view made me forget everything. The room did not have a new feeling but it was good. Hallways looked very old so relatively speaking the room was fine. Bathroom was quite large.

Check out process was equally quick and painless. If I need to go back I would pick this hotel again and a get a corner room!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musti_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meridiennice, General Manager at Le Meridien Nice, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Musti_SF
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on this website.
I am glad that you enjoyed the panoramic view from your corner room..
The hotel’s location is indeed ideal, being within a short walking distance to the old town of Nice, yet opposite the beach and also just around the corner from the elegant pedestrian zone.
I am really delighted to read that the team exceeded your expectations from the time of your check-in until your check-out.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
With my best regards

Pablo Bandala
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is at a great central location. Prior to arriving at the Meridien in Nice we stayed at the Meridien in Monte Carlo which was superb. Unfortunatly the Nice Meridien has passed its prime a long time ago. The room we were given was very old. The check in service was not great, but at least we were offered an upgrade to a room with scaffolding in front of it which we kindly declined...

We also had problems with the in room Internet. I called reception and got connected with IT support but they never answered the phone. We used the internet of the local McDonald's instead and luckily a few hours later the Internet worked again.

We paid the same amount for our stay as in Monte Carlo, but the Nice hotel was sub standard. SPG Gold members can have a late check out if there is availability. We asked for it and we told we had to ask for it on the day we want to leave. We were first told that this was not possible, but then we were told that we could have a late check out if we paid 100 Euros extra...

Overall, avoid the hotel as it is nothing special with unfriendly service and completely overpriced. Either go for another hotel in Nice or have a look at the Meridien in Monte Carlo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Area-51-AKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here in Nice last year just before their renovations. This did not detract from the overall experience. The Room was good (i imagine better after the upgrade) we had the top floor over looking the city and it was fine, no noise, nice balcony, plenty of space.

As with all Le Meridien's we have been to around the world, the restaurant (at night) here did not disappoint. The food was excellent, the view was beautiful with all the lights and the water and the service was above standard. The restaurant for breakfast was ok, the food selection was good if a little cramped, the managers service was very attentive but the standard floor servers did not want to be there that morning.

It is right across from the beach, stroll to the old town and if you really need it whilst in France, there is a McDonalds downstairs.

I would definitely stay here again when we are passing through.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addisongreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights here. The hotel is very tired. The rooms need a complete overhaul. The first room we were in was so depressing. We went downstairs to switch rooms, paid extra for a ocean view, much nicer room, but still needed repairs in the bath, etc. The roof top restaurant/bar closes a little early when you would like a nightcap. The food is overpriced and marginal, at best. Overall the staff from the front desk to the restaurants were exceptional. Most of the staff were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms come with a great view. If outside noise from traffic and people on the street lat...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannaineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#38 of 204 in Nice
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nice

Address: 1 Promenade des Anglais, 06046 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nice
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#38 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $149 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At n°1 Promenade des Anglais, Le Méridien Nice is set in the perfect location, facing the sea, right in the centre of town. Featuring a a roof top terrace with the main restaurant "La Terrasse" offering a spectacular view and a taste of the Mediterranean and a heated swimming pool, the hotel also benefits from an indoor restaurants, "Le Colonial Café," in a relaxing lounge setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Nice Hotel Nice
Meridien Nice
Nice Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing