We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A drink in the bar”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #18 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A drink in the bar”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had read about the fantastic architecture of this hotel and whilst we were wandering around the ground floor were persuaded to have a drink in the bar downstairs.

The hotel is something different, and the décor is amazing, staff were efficient, but the whole place seemed rather quiet for the end of April. The gent's bog on the ground floor is worth a detour in itself, but not that private. The ladies is more mundane, but works efficiently. Drinks in the bar were expensive and run of the mill, although others seemed to have chosen better than we did.

A pleasant place to relax for a short period, and makes you think about returning for a longer sojourn

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isopahajussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    554
    251
    128
    132
See reviews for
347
1,283
92
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a great trip to Nice (the south of France was AMAZING) and Negresco was actually fantastic WHILE we were guests. The moment we stepped off the property and were no longer paying customers, they were far from hospitable. I left a very expensive item in the hotel room and contacted them via email from the U.S. in order to retrieve the item. I spoke with numerous different concierges' and my messages were often NOT passed along. My emails were NOT returned, and I took a number of steps in order to resolve this issue and simply have the item returned to me, all of which the hotel neglected to acknowledge. For a hotel that was SO customer oriented during our stay, it says a LOT about the establishment who treats customers this way who have the power to recommend and pass along positive regards. Unfortunate!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I booked this Hotel for an elderly relatives Birthday and wanted it to be a very special experience.
This Hotel did not disappoint- We were upgraded on arrival to a magnificent sea-view room. Every member of staff we encountered during our 5 days was helpful and genuinely concerned that we had all our needs met. I would definitely take time to look at all photos on the Hotels web site, as the grand decor with clashing coloured bedrooms, will not be to everyone's taste. It is rather like a Museum with works of art everywhere. This Hotel is VERY expensive, so ridiculous bar and breakfast prices apply. You do get free access to the private pebble beach across the road.

Room Tip: E-mail ahead and request a sea view room. Check room rates as they do differ considerably between we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed over for a weekend in April. Altough I have visit Nice quite sometime times, It was my first stay at the Negresco and must say it was a very nice experience to stay here and to discover its legend. The staff and service is excellent. The room is large and well equiped respecting its belle epoque style. We had a great breakfast outside on the promenade. In the evening a funky dj, brings the bar alive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenHeverlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had promised ourselves a stay at the Negresco for some time - and we weren't disappointed
with our accommodation - huge room ( felt like a suite ). However during our stay upgrades were being carried out on the lifts and TV system. Consequently we had a couple of days with no TV and had to walk up to our 5th floor on more than one occasion.
Courteous staff etc, but I can never understand why a hotel of this quality can't provide in room
coffee and tea making facilities, and an iron with board. One doesn't always want to use room service and the in house laundry.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the front if you want to watch a bit of life. The inside rooms are very quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharnbrookboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freuchie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We wonder who is in 409,we hope they are having a wonderful time,we did!! just home from a five day trip to Nice which we have visited on numeroius occasions,during our trips to le negresco cocktail bar in the past we have always said,lets treat ourselves and stay here! and we have,five days,bed and breakfast,a room with a beautiful view and a balcony too!!! we cannot speak highly enough of our trip,the staff were fantastic and very friendly,breakfast was a veritable feast,our room was quirky and unique,maid service was faultless,the art collection?,well it also is unparalleled for a hotel I would suggest,funky DJ on one night playing some cool sounds,another night a pianist entertaining us all with some tinkling of the ivories! all in all the negresco is totally unique in all respects,go on treat yourselves to a stay at this wonderful cote d`azure gem,we must not leave it as long this time.many thanks Le Negresco......

Room Tip: ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were in Nice and popped in to have a look because we were considering staying there in the future. However, we found the staff rather rude and condescending. We would not consider staying here after being made to feel unwelcome.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rkdc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear rkdc10t,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to read that this very first impression at the Negresco Hotel was a bad one. Due to several security issues in the past we do not let any visitors come in and visit without at least having a coffee at the Bar. A sign at the entrance is clearly explaining our rules. It is hard to understand why our staff members had such a behaviour if you explained the purpose of your visit. Please do not hesitate to contact my personal assistant, Mr Adrien MAJERANOWSKI on direction@lenegresco.com at your earliest convenience to discuss in detail.

Best regards,

Pierre BORD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing