We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury - at a price!”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #18 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Until we arrived and saw this hotel everywhere on postcards, fridge magnets, etc we did not realise how famous a landmark it is. Definitely a luxury hotel with a unique style of decoration (and from the number of portraits an owner who loves herself :) )

You can not criticise the service and friendliness of the staff , which as a first time visitor to France was an unexpected surprise as we expected them to be a bit 'stand offish').

Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Good location in mid position on the promenade and only 15 mins from the airport.

However, it was not worth £275 per night and 24€ for two coffee's is clearly unjustifiable. No tea making in the rooms (sorry a must for the English) and a shower where you had to keep your hand on the tap as the temperature kept going up and down. Wifi was down for two of the four days we spent there

Went to Monaco/Monte Carlo by train , which was easy and worth half a day. Old town area the best for shopping and restaurants.

Nice definitely worth a return but would not return to the negresco next time - it's a one off extravagance in my view.

Room Tip: You have to get a promenade view or what's the point and it needs to be higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roymark2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel breathes history and you truly feel like being part of it while staying at this beautiful historical landmark! Staff is friendly and helpful and Its simply beautiful. I love everything about this hotel, the bed is really comfortable and the room itself was big and spacious. We stayed in a full sea view room and it was divine. They even noticed while checking in that I my birthday was coming up so on my B-day I got a little plate of chocolates and macarons with birthday wishes from the hotel team delivered to our room! Thats topnotch points!!

The french riviera is expensive as a vacation spot and this hotel is no exception. Its expensive and luxurious as it should be If you wanna live the lifestyle of the rich and famous!

Enjoy!!

Mrs K

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear AnnaK3,

Thank you for posting this outstanding review about the Negresco Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you choose our property for spending your birthday.

You've just mentioned what we believe are our strengths: courtesy, professionalism, friendliness, comfortable rooms and the amenities offered for birthdays.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.

With my best personal regards,

Pierre BORD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have spent many holidays in and around Nice over the years and have always loved the look of the Negresco but not stayed there. This time, for my birthday we did - and it lived up completely to our expectations. We booked a standard room which looked onto the inner part of the hotel but as we weren't in the room for long during the day it didn't matter. It was also one of the biggest rooms we've ever stayed in in France, beautifully decorated with a large comfortable bed and the bathroom was also huge - very much as it must have been when it was first built but with updated fittings. We were encouraged by the check in staff to look around the hotel at all of the many hundreds of original pieces of art so we made sure we visited every floor and it was definitely worth doing. It was like having your own private art museum - which is precisely what the owner has! Each floor is different and the artworks reflect that floors theme.
We took breakfast in the Rotunda restaurant on two mornings. One, the full breakfast which was worth it even at 30 euros as we didn't eat much for the rest of the day until the evening, and another just a quick tea, coffee and pastries as we were off exploring. Service was very good and the selection was also very good.
If you want to stay at an iconic hotel, with plenty of history, and in a prime locationmake sure you stay here - it's fabulous!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noo-Noo-Nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Noo-Noo-Nine,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review following your recent stay at the Negresco Hotel. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in celebration of your birthday! We are delighted to learn that the our staff exceeded your expectations and please be assured we will communicate your compliments to them.

We very much hope to welcome you both back to the Negresco Hotel.

Sincerely yours,


Pierre BORD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

A beautiful, quirky hotel full of character. We stayed in room 409 which is described as having a partial sea view which was actually a great sea view and had a lovely small balcony to admire it from. The service was faultless. The bed huge and so comfortable, with snuggle slippers and dressing gown provided, and the shower was excellent. Even the hairdryer was superb despite previous reviews. We ate dinner in Le Rotonde which was superb too. The only small detractor was the extortionate mini bar (€8 for a can of coke). I would also have liked to be able to make a cup of tea in the room but can see why this isn't provided in such a top notch hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank OxfordBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear OxfordBecky,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Negresco Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for mentioning the faultless service received by our passionate staff, we will be delighted to share your kind words with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit in Nice.

Kindest regards,

Pierre BORD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I thought the hotel and the staff were lovely and charming. Rooms were old fashioned (but thats the charm) but clean and cosy. The hotel staff were so nice and helpful. The breakfast was yummy...the breakfast room was beautiful and my favourite part of the hotel. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazzaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear shazzaray,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive comment on the Negresco Hotel.
We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass along your kind words to our talents.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future and remain,

Yours sincerely,

Pierre BORD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were recommended by tripadvisor and our cabbie to stay here, what a mistake. The lobby is best part, but then it gets worse & the rooms are gross. Never as happy to leave a hotel as we were our final day here. The walls and floors are covered in stains, air is not at all clean, smoke and pollution and stale air permeate through vents. The tile in our "renovated" bathroom had grout full of mold and mildew. Waterdamage stains even on ceiling, walls and baseboards and doors are damaged and.scraped everywhere &may not have been repainted in over a decade. Carpets even had visible LARGE holes and threadbare spots. Bedding did not feel fresh, sheets.somewhat scratchy, comforter and wallpaper all around felt dirty. The crack between the 2 twins combined to make up our "king bed" was more noticeable than in other European hotels, and mattresses very hard. We were so uncomfortable the first night that we asked to see other rooms in the hotel to try to switch, but none we saw were better, &one was worse. No amenities such as pool, fitness center or spa. Stay somewhere else and just visit for an hour if you want to see the art, but walking through the halls expect the heat to be so cranked up (in spring!) that we felt nauseated and like passing out. Constant discomfort is the name of their game. Had to leave door to sea constantly open for fresh air in our room, bc even with street noise/pollution, still cleaner air than inside from antiquated vents(poorly situated right by bed). Old granny-ish lamps will burn you if on too long and smell of burnt old fabric from a garage sale. Bar was ok but nothing extraordinarily special, especially at $65 for 2 basic mixed drinks with average liquor &average bartender nit too eager to please. The singer who played piano was the best part of stay. We got good service from one person at the concierge, &poor service from 3 of them. Don't expect the front desk to be overly helpful, either; they say it's not their job to help much&send you to concierge. I wouldn't.stay here again at even a tenth the cost. Atrocious decor in our room, but I saw others not as bad. We had a junior suite with full sea view,and it was noisy and somewhat cramped. For the same price, go to Intercontinental Hyatt down street, much better(we went there in attempts to change hotels, but was too late). The Negresco staff, aside from one or 2 nice people, would not recommend anything around town for sights, historical areas/museums, or restaurants. The breakfast downstairs was worst of any hotel breakfast I've seen &the carousel carnival theme freaky and tacky, so we only went once during the week. We've been in about20 4&5star hotels this.spring throughout Europe, and this was the only hotel we haven't LOVED! All others I gave fantastic reviews(mostly in Amalfi coast and throughout Italy). Negreso deserves zero or one star. Better to go to an average place than here. I had a comparable stay at a cheap, dirty $30motel in New Mexico when driving across country years ago in a bind, but Negresco was maybe worse. Negresco is overrated and living off its past. We.felt ripped off.at Negresco and deceived &like they couldn't care less. Would never return or send anyone there unless they can learn to clean, renovate rooms, find functional air filters, and train staff better.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Cleanliness
14  Thank happywanderer20145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear happywanderer20145,

comparing our property to a 30$ motel in New Mexico, here is the answer you should expect.

From a gentleman,

Pierre BORD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Wonderful hotel, like being transported back to times when the hotel would do anything for you. A real experience which everyone should have. Only down sides were the extortionate prices in the bar and the rather tired and worn carpets on the stairs and in the bedroom. Our room was 306, a fantastic room, very large and comfortable, alas the miniature bar was turned off, resulting in none of the drinks being cold. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear foster27,

Thank you for choosing the Negresco Hotel for spending your stay in Nice. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We feel sorry about the turned off mini bar. Our room service staff could have replaced it right away if you mentionned it at your arrival in room 306. Regarding worn carpets, the Negresco hotel started refurbishing rooms and suites since March 2014. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With warmest wishes,

Pierre BORD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,206 reviews
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $206 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing