We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel, that needs renovation”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #18 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in Negresco 2nd time. The location is right on the Promenade des Anglais with a beautiful view. Only a short walk from the Place de Masena and other downtown areas. The hotel itself is a classic marvel with lots of history and class. Rooms are very elegant and colorful, but a bit shabby. I think hotel needs renovation.

It was a bit unclear how to book a table for two at Le Chantecler restaurant. Service was good, but food was disappointing.

It was a lovely place, but a bit boring.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rimma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Rimma2013,

Thank you for your recent comment following your stay at the Negresco.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at the Chantecler. I would very much like to have further details on what made it disappointing.

The property is indeed shabby but we would add "chic" to the comment, which is our aim. We are however slowly renovating our rooms but in keeping with the current theme.

Please do contact us to give us further details to your stay.

Kind regards,

Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms are very comfortable and large with or without view of the sea. Bathrooms are large and oldy worldy. It's refreshing to stay somewhere where it's the opposite to modern or even contemporary and the art on the wall is... actually art. If in Nice stay at least for us it's the place to stay. They have inter-connecting rooms for families.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montmorencytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Montmorencytraveller ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.We are happy to hear that the efforts put in our by our owner Mme Augirer to ensure the Negresco is unlike any other is what makes it the place for you!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Nice.

Kind regards,

Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to many hotels around the world but the priceless art, warm welcome and personal touches that the owner, Madame Augier, has added make this my pick as the absolute best hotel on the planet.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Athena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Athéna,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are thrilled to hear that the many years of work and Love Mme Augier put into this hotel pleased you so much.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a weekend at this remarkable hotel, First the location right on the Promenade des Anglais with a beautiful view. Only a short walk from the Place de Masena and other downtown areas. The hotel itself is a classic marvel with lots of history and class. Rooms are very elegant and colorful. Staff are professional, extremely helpful and welcoming. The restaurant is just great with a nice view and of course excellent food and wine. The Negresco hotel is not cheap but definitely worth every penny!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naguib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Naguib,

Thank you for your comment and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Negresco. We hoe to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay at Hotel Negresco to cap our European sojourn. It lived up to expectations and more. The location is unsurpassed and the art collection speaks for itself. Staff were charming, friendly and efficient - on check in, we were taken to our room and introduced to the facilities. A table for two at Le Chantecler restaurant provided a memorable experience. We enjoyed learning about the Negresco's history and journey through different owners over the years. A terrace lunch on a sun drenched day capped a fantastic stay. Totally unique.

Room Tip: Our garden view room overlooked the gardens of the Matisse museum and also enjoyed a lovely view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Pat,

Thank you for your message and comments on the Negresco. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and decor our owner Madame Augier has expressed throughout the building.

We hope that should you be back in the South of France in the future you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband & I are in our mid-60s with no kids & enjoy staying in nice hotels. Last May we took a French art cruise which began in Monaco. It takes us a while to get used to jet lag, so first we arrived early & stayed 3 nites at the famous Negresco Hotel on the Promenade des Anglais in Nice. I think we got an Internet rate, but it was a splurge & worth it, however we were cursed with drizzly weather through out our tour. We rented a cute red mini SUV (Picasso model) at the airport & easily found our hotel. The valet parking was simple & so was check-in. The hotel exuded the old-fashioned glamour of the 1950s & early 60s. Our room was large with a sideways view of the sea from our French balcony. Room decor needed some updating & the fabrics didn't quite match, but it was OK. Bathroom & dressing room were nice. They have a beautiful Eiffel glass dome over the main salon.

First thing we did was get some lunch from their more casual restaurant. I think it's called the Carrosel. It's the same place one goes for breakfast. It had booths arranged in a circle with carrosel horses. We chose to dine outside overlooking the beach, but it was hard to see because of a privacy wall. And what did we eat? Salad Nicoise of course. The hotel also had an award winning fine dining restaurant, but I can't remember its name. Weather was dull, overcast & sometimes cold & rainy for the next few days.

2nd day we drove to Grasse planning to eat in a nice restaurant & then visit the perfumeries. However we got lost & drove around for about 2 hours until we found the restaurant. Restaurant was excellent when we finally got there & even allowed well-behaved dogs. Thank goodness for cell phones so we could call them. We drove home along the coast & bought some pastry from a bakery for dinner. South of France is a lot more crowded & congested than one might expect.

3rd day we drove thru small towns on the coast & saw where the yachts were tied up. We avoided Cannes because the film festival was on. We stopped in a village where Picasso used to have his pottery designs made & bought some small pieces. On the way back to Nice we had delicious sole mueniere at an outdoor cafe in Antibes in the old part of town. Lots of cute little shops in Antibes. So now we're looking forward to a return trip to the Riviera in the future.

The next day the weather improved, so we walked along the Nice beachfront for a while, then departed to join our tour in Monaco. If you're used to sandy US beaches you may be in for a shock because the Nice beach has huge pebbles. For those of you who travel on a budget, I think with careful planning you can find ways to save money. For example, Rick Steves has a more inexpensive tour. But you you should at least have a look inside the Negresco to understand old-time glamour.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherrychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Sherrychicago,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience on the Negresco but also the area.
You managed to enjoy many areas of our region and we thank you for selecting the Negresco as a base point during your time on the Cote d'Azur.

We hope that should you return in the future you will once again select our old Lady as your home away from home for your days on the Cote d'Azur.

Kind regards,

Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is a work of art. If it were a picture you would hang it on your wall. If you are looking for a hotel that is the equivalent of wall paper don't stay at the Negresco; you will be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank UkRandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,205 reviews
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $208 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing