We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadence and arrogance”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #18 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our experience in this hotel couldn`t be worse. The hotel is a landmark in the city of Nice. Since I was a kid I was dreaming about the day I could stay at the hotel. However, the doorman and manager were extremely rude at your arrival. They did not want us to cross the lobby of the hotel to have a drink and meal at the restaurant, not even look at the windows of the shops offered inside the hotel. They said that they did not accpt visits. Visits? We are, first of all, clients! I was also insulted by a receptionist in the lobby after complaining about the treatment. The person who was in charge of the reception came after me outside the hotel to have a fight. I have never seen such a thing in my intire life. They did not know that in a few days we were planning to come and stay at the hotel after our cruise in the Mediterranean. I had my father and three other friends of his to witnessed such a horrible treatment. All of us were extremely offedended by the treatment. Finally we decided to stay in Cannes at the Ritz and our experience was perfect. I guess that it is a pitty for the Negresco Hotel, we decided to spend our money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don´t stay there. Stay in international chains of hotels, not in hotels owend by local firms in Fran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
16  Thank JoaoRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
The hotel is a private property and not a shopping center. At the request of our resident guests and for obvious privacy and security reasons, we do not allow visits as a museum can be visited; otherwise the hotel would be the most visited place in Nice. (When a cruise ship stops for a scale, you don’t find an open door policy for non- resident passengers…)
Of course, you are a potential guest; in this case our Guest Relation manager would have directed you towards one of our outlets with great pleasure or by giving you the requested information you were looking for.
The person in charge of the reception that day is our Front Office Manager, a young pregnant lady (as shows our video). How can someone accuse a well-educated person as we all, to have the intention to fight with a guest? We all have a lot of education and respect for our guests and our owner Ms. Augier. Nobody is insulted in our house, your words are false and disrespectful towards our whole property.
Sincerely,
Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 2,427 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel seems more in line with the seedy side of Las Vegas than a beachfront hotel on the French Riviera. The lobby was far too large, noisy, bright, and totally unwelcoming. The decor of the entire hotel was garish. The rooms were shabby and outdated. The carpet was so cheap, it seemed like merely the foam that is installed underneath real carpeting. In addition, it was so stained and worn, I felt perhaps I might catch some disease walking on it barefooted. I have never reviewed anything, simply not having the time nor the inclination. But this place was so godforesakenly heinous that I had to write this to warn all those who might be fooled into booking a room here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BAC9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry if our lobby is far too big, but our house is a centenary building and has all the characteristics of a historic monument.
We can certainly understand you did not like our hotel, described by others as “shabby chic”. However, we must say that your insulting and unfair comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel are unfortunately not acceptable. We feel it necessary to share this with other readers. It is always easier to write such comments anonymously.
Sincerely,
Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

From the over priced car pick up to the airport drop off the whole weekend was a disappontment. Second and last ever visit to this property. Sent comments to the hotel only to be totally ignored. Bad service, over priced, noisey sea view room with stained wall covering. Restuarant food ok but again over priced. Quirky hotel worth looking at and possibly visit it, but they need to sort it out before I would stay there again.
However just across the road is Neptune - excellent food and wine with good friendly service, well worth a visit for lunch.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wardy-gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your comment is very interesting. If you find that everything is overpriced, may we suggest you choose a hotel of another category.
We regret that during your stay, you did not contact us to give us your feedback as we strive to satisfy our customers on-site,
Sincerely,
Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel July 2st. Very disappointing. The hotel was beautiful inside, however it was unbelievable snooty. We stayed in a VRBO for a week and just needed a hotel room for one night before we went to Italy for two weeks. It was in the high 80s and low 90s yet the hotel would not allow anyone to come in the bar unless men had long pants on and women were dressed up. We had nice dress shorts on and shirts with collars and as soon as we entered they asked us to leave unless we had pants on. We then sat in the cafe and were treated rudely in there as well. Who wants to be on vacation and be treated like you are rif raf? In case they havn't noticed they are located just across from the beach and when its in the 90s and you have been at the beach you are not going to be dressed to the nines. If you want to grab a cocktail you should be able to do so. I wish they would have stated that this is a snobby hotel and unless you want to flaunt your money you are not welcome to stay. Not family friendly at all, in fact they act as if they hate kids. We asked them if there was a box to mail postcards and after ignoring us they finally said, "I suppose we could mail them for you." Seriously it costs enough money to stay there that mailing a postcard should not be so difficult for them. I will NEVER stay there again and would recommend only very, very self-righteous, snobby people stay there. We had friends who were staying in a VRBO and they wouldn't even let them enter the hotel to visit us. They said they had to have a reservation. Ridiculous.

Room Tip: Not for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tammi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We have taken note of your comments.
Regarding the dress code in our bar, applied after 7:30 p.m., it is at the request of the majority of our customers to be dressed in a minimum manor, a casual dress code
You will admit yourself that the place lends itself much more to a casual attire rather than beachwear. We regret to tell you that you confuse snobbery and good education.
Also, we find particularly insulting towards us, who have children, our numerous guests bringing their children and our staff that you claim that we hate children. This comment is shameful and we want to let you and other readers know. Regarding your postcards if our concept of service was not good it’s probably because you misunderstood it.

Sincerely,
Pierre Bord
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is really worth visiting, going thru every floor and enjoy it's impressive art collection. Location is absolutely great and employees were fantastic. I was disappointed with the rooms though, they are not really updated, fabric quality was poor, had some squeaky doors. We had two rooms but were only able to use one of the showers, there is no swimming pool.
The experience of living within a museum was great, the place is unique but sleep quality definitely does not correspond to a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is sadly very tired now and it shows almost everywhere . We had two superior rooms both of which showed some signs of renovation ( eg new curtains and soft furnishings - but not carpets ) but the fabric quality was poor , they were unlined and looked 'cheap' . Certainly not the thickly lined drapes we would expect of a 5 star hotel . The beds also had sheets and itchy wool blankets rather than modern duvets . The children found these particularly irritating. .
Both bathrooms were extremely dated despite again a fresh lick of paint but beyond some cheap looking shampoo , conditioner and body lotion there are no other toiletries / not even tissues on offer . Complimentary bottled water is not offered in the rooms either . The hairdryers were a relic in themselves !

The common areas atre gaudy in style and again tired looking despite signs of fresh paint ( literally) . Carpets and furnishings are also very dated in style and the overall effect in some places is jarring . My 14 year old described the carousel horses and general decor in the Rotonde restaurant as 'disturbed' and I'm not sure i disagree with her view .

More worryingly whilst eating dinner outside at the Rotonde a young boy (approx 10 yrs) approached our table and tried to steal my daughter's mobile phone. He had cleverly placed a piece of paper over the phone and begged us to read it while pointing at the bread basket and rubbing his stomach . Luckily she saw him reach underneath the paper for the phone and he ran off through the restaurant . We immediately informed the waiting staff who . although vaguely sympathetic , were neither interested nor particularly surprised . There was no sign of any security and my children were all very upset by the incident . Again not what we expect of a 5 star hotel .
The staff here seemed largely young and were on the whole very helpful indeed but this hotel is very tired and in desperate need of some serious investment in quality furnishings and fitments not just a superficial lick of paint here and there . It is certainly not worth what it is charging in terms of room rate .
As i sat outside the hotel and saw the frayed and worn flag of the ' Leading hotels of the world'
group flying exhaustedly in the breeze i thought to myself ' that says it all ' .

If you are interested in the style of the hotel as i was then go for a drink to the bar or the restaurant for dinner ( where you will see the best of it ) but i won't be wasting my money and staying here again .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Negresco is one of those iconic hotels I have wanted to stay in for years and it does not disappoint. Celebrating 100 years it had been renovated and what a great job they have done.

Each floor in the hotel is decorated differently and contains art and artefacts from its history.

The room was outstanding and comfortable.

The staff were approachable and helpful and not at all stuffy. The bar was wonderful with music in the evening and a haven to relax during the day.

We eat in the smaller restaurant where the quality was excellent and at a price equivalent to soem of the more mundane restaurants in Nice - quality and value.

Room Tip: A room with a view is best - but adds to the bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWilsonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,205 reviews
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $208 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing