We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic hotel”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #18 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is really worth visiting, going thru every floor and enjoy it's impressive art collection. Location is absolutely great and employees were fantastic. I was disappointed with the rooms though, they are not really updated, fabric quality was poor, had some squeaky doors. We had two rooms but were only able to use one of the showers, there is no swimming pool.
The experience of living within a museum was great, the place is unique but sleep quality definitely does not correspond to a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,387)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Negresco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is sadly very tired now and it shows almost everywhere . We had two superior rooms both of which showed some signs of renovation ( eg new curtains and soft furnishings - but not carpets ) but the fabric quality was poor , they were unlined and looked 'cheap' . Certainly not the thickly lined drapes we would expect of a 5 star hotel . The beds also had sheets and itchy wool blankets rather than modern duvets . The children found these particularly irritating. .
Both bathrooms were extremely dated despite again a fresh lick of paint but beyond some cheap looking shampoo , conditioner and body lotion there are no other toiletries / not even tissues on offer . Complimentary bottled water is not offered in the rooms either . The hairdryers were a relic in themselves !

The common areas atre gaudy in style and again tired looking despite signs of fresh paint ( literally) . Carpets and furnishings are also very dated in style and the overall effect in some places is jarring . My 14 year old described the carousel horses and general decor in the Rotonde restaurant as 'disturbed' and I'm not sure i disagree with her view .

More worryingly whilst eating dinner outside at the Rotonde a young boy (approx 10 yrs) approached our table and tried to steal my daughter's mobile phone. He had cleverly placed a piece of paper over the phone and begged us to read it while pointing at the bread basket and rubbing his stomach . Luckily she saw him reach underneath the paper for the phone and he ran off through the restaurant . We immediately informed the waiting staff who . although vaguely sympathetic , were neither interested nor particularly surprised . There was no sign of any security and my children were all very upset by the incident . Again not what we expect of a 5 star hotel .
The staff here seemed largely young and were on the whole very helpful indeed but this hotel is very tired and in desperate need of some serious investment in quality furnishings and fitments not just a superficial lick of paint here and there . It is certainly not worth what it is charging in terms of room rate .
As i sat outside the hotel and saw the frayed and worn flag of the ' Leading hotels of the world'
group flying exhaustedly in the breeze i thought to myself ' that says it all ' .

If you are interested in the style of the hotel as i was then go for a drink to the bar or the restaurant for dinner ( where you will see the best of it ) but i won't be wasting my money and staying here again .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Negresco is one of those iconic hotels I have wanted to stay in for years and it does not disappoint. Celebrating 100 years it had been renovated and what a great job they have done.

Each floor in the hotel is decorated differently and contains art and artefacts from its history.

The room was outstanding and comfortable.

The staff were approachable and helpful and not at all stuffy. The bar was wonderful with music in the evening and a haven to relax during the day.

We eat in the smaller restaurant where the quality was excellent and at a price equivalent to soem of the more mundane restaurants in Nice - quality and value.

Room Tip: A room with a view is best - but adds to the bill.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWilsonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Iconic hotel on the promenade. Worth a visit just to look at the art however if you plan to have a drink you need to ensure you are smartly dressed - gentlemen must wear full length trousers but a tie or jacket is not necessary.

There isn't a lot of atmosphere and for a beer and a glass of wine it was 32 euros. They do serve nibbles with it but unfortunately ours were stale.

It is a wonderful hotel to pop into as part of your Grand Tour but it's not the sort of place to
stay all evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is incredible! The walls are decked with the most amazing art I have ever seen and just the building alone was amazing. We stayed here at the end of a week in the South of France and I wish we had stayed longer. The room was beautiful, the service was comfortable and the food brilliant. I love that this hotel is still owned by the same lady since the 1940s and we were lucky to see her dining in the restaurant. If you are looking for a special place to stay in Nice this is it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here again this year as we loved it the year before. We had booked partial sea and Musée Masséna gardens views. It was as lovely as before if not more. We were given the same room as before and whether by accident or by design it was still a lovely touch! The only problem I have is the price of breakfast which costs thirty euros per person per day and i find it hard to justify sixty euros per day for three days and unfortunately for me my girlfriend refuses to have breakfast anywhere else in Nice but la Rotonde which is very charming.

Overall, I love and love this hotel. staff are professional, the hotel is easy to get to and we will be coming back next year!

Room Tip: sea view or partial sea view rooms are a must! Awesome
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbgood76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my wife for 6 nights.
This year is 100th anniversary for this hotel.
We can see many information and explanation on history and background of this hotel.
And we were there on 14th July, it was Bastille day.
We could enjoy special light up for that day, with tricolole color.
The facility is old, but it has been keeping clean.
We enjoyed conversation with bells, concierges, and front guys.
All of them are very friendly, even for my broken French.
I would like to recommend to go to two restaurants in this hotel and bar.
Main dining looks very classical French restaurant, but you can enjoy new-generation of French.
La Rotonde, casual one, is very interesting, it is like a carousel.

Room Tip: Each room has different interior. You should requests your favorite and preference.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank デモン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Hotel West End
#38 of 204 in Nice
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $216 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing