We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unique...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #14 of 213 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Always a great experience staying at this unique establishment. But we are in 2013 and it does need to keep up with the times i.e. proper wifi access (not the existing snails-pace) in the rooms and a decent shower screen that prevents flooding the bathroom floor!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    456
    200
    111
    110
See reviews for
281
1,041
76
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood co down
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife booked this for my birthday ( which wasn't acknowledged). It's a place she wanted to stay as its world renowned. The location is a long way walk(15-20 mins)from the old town. If we return ,well try nearer old town.
Our room 573 overlooked central rotunda ,so no view which we knew. It was comfortable an what ud expect of 5* hotel. Nice to see BBC 1 an 2 . As a treat we upgraded to side sea an maseena museum view room 409, at a reduced extra €50 per night, worth it. But if u want to sit in sun in afternoon book the other side . Again comfortable room, good nights sleep. Hair dryer very poor. Room bait hot as the bathroom towel rail boiling. Yes we asked for it to be turned down,no response. Service was a recurring problem.eg faulty room safe, request ice all required repeated calls to attend to..
But hey ,it was delightful place, the public areas are a must to see for those artistic minded.we frequently saw outsiders in the corridors taking photos...security must be a constant problem .
If u get a bad weather day u can spend it viewing all the stuff they have,magnificent ! All down to the lovely lady mrs augaur?who owns an lives on the inaccessible 6 floor,well done to u Madame !
Like most places in Nice , there s no pool , no area where u can relax on a lounger after a days outing.,so it's like being in a B an B. once ur up,u go out.
Yes it's expensive ( Michelin star restaurant , the relais bar eg brandy Alexander €17) but u would expect that.
The opposite beach the Neptune is the usual independent operation, no discount for Negresco clients (€20 a day)
Staff were generally well behaved an enjoyed my rubbish French attempts.
CHECK ur bill, it was wrong as usual in the hotels favour. When they reproduce a new bill CHECK it again as they added on something else we didn't avail of. After the 4 th bill they managed to approximate the correct amount,but I can't be sure...
When they organise a taxis ,agree with taxis man the trip cost as he's likely to fleece u.
Anyway it was a great trip an my wife remembered my birthday even if the hotel didn't.

Room Tip: Get side view for value,if ur poor , it's the rotunda view for u, the rich can have the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Yes, this hotel is old and "unique", so you can't go in expecting a shiny, sparking new hotel. The service was amazing and our room was comfortable, clean, beautiful, and had a nice view. No complaints about the bathroom. We spent a lot of time in Nice in the old town, and this is a bit of a further walk from the old town, so next time, we would consider hotels that are closer to the old town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbirds0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
486 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We don't regret that we'd chosen Negresco for our first travel to Nice. Not only becausethe hotel is ideally is located for walk studying of the historical center of the resort. Еhis very bright impression to live in hotel which itself is part of an interesting story of the French Riviera. It not just a hotel, it is a museum with collection of art and antiqs. Surely bypass all floors to look at numerous originals
of great painters, that decorate hotel's corridors. You will feel yourself a part of history or you will experience travel illusion on a time machine to 100 years ago

Room Tip: of course the best view is in the seaview rooms. but we've enjoyed silence and calm with innervi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mihhail i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

1. They don't guarantee the 15:00 check-in time - we were waiting for our room more than the official check-in time.
2. There is no coffee/tea in the room as expected from a 5 star hotel
3. There are no complementary mineral water in the room as expected from a 5 star hotel
4. The wi-fi in the room didn't work - poor reception. When I asked the reception desk for help with the wi-fi, the answer was "if it doesn't work, there is nothing I can do".
5. The bed blankets are the old itching type, that are not used anymore even in 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yair_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Nice, France. Although this was not our first trip there, it was our first stay at the Negresco. We have travelled the world over, however, the Negresco was a true find. We often thought about staying there, but thought it would be stuffy. Just the opposite. The hotel is the epitome of class, refinement and elegance. The staff could not have been more friendly, courteous, and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and the amenities are first class. We had a room with an ocean view and were extremely satisfied. The rooms are bright, clean and very inviting. We will definitely be returning to the Negresco in the future.

Room Tip: get a room with an ocean view. the view of the promenade along the Mediterranean was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDR1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything about this hotel is first-rate. It's filled with artwork from different genres, especially from 17th century France and modern jazz. Our English was limited, but everyone there was helpful and proficient in English. The location is excellent, right on the heart of the Promenade des Anglais, and there's a view of the ocean from the upper floors and even from the patio of the restaurant.

The floor we were on had recently been renovated, so it had modern bathrooms and a TV system that included channels in a handful of languages. The piano bar was fun, especially on Wednesday night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing