We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classy all the way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #14 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“classy all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything about this hotel is first-rate. It's filled with artwork from different genres, especially from 17th century France and modern jazz. Our English was limited, but everyone there was helpful and proficient in English. The location is excellent, right on the heart of the Promenade des Anglais, and there's a view of the ocean from the upper floors and even from the patio of the restaurant.

The floor we were on had recently been renovated, so it had modern bathrooms and a TV system that included channels in a handful of languages. The piano bar was fun, especially on Wednesday night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    515
    230
    125
    115
See reviews for
316
1,176
85
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Nice during our wedding anniversary in May 2012 and were very much looking forward to staying at the Negresco for the first time. I had reserved a very nice room in advance with a view of the promenade and noted it was for our anniversary. The room we got was a museum piece and lovely, but the big downside came at night....to be specific: after 11pm. Our room on the 2nd floor, was right above the hotel Bar and the noise was astounding. Thank god we always travel with ear plugs and made use of them, but still "felt" the noise right below us late into the night. If you are seeking the right location and a grand hotel, this is the one. Just don't stay in a room above the bar. :-( We also dined at the hotel restaurant for breakfast one morning and found it to be a very poor value having dined at other hotels and getting way better value and selection for your money. Pass on the hotel's breakfast. Overall, felt let down due to our poor sleeping experience.

Room Tip: if you want to sleep at night, do not get stuck in the room right above the hotel Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Grand would be one word to describe Le Negresco. The foyer, reception rooms, cocktail lounge and even public bathrooms are quite grand and quirky at the same time. Take a step back in time to enjoy a couple of drinks late in the evening with live music knowing that you are in good company with many famous people having sat in the same place over the years.
Our rooms were very French and very grand. We had a suite at the front of the hotel with two balconies looking over the ocean and promenade. Spectacular. Dressing rooms and bathroom were also just beautiful. Block out electric blinds are fabulous for keeping noise levels low and the early morning sun out. Staff were wonderful in every area. Small problem with error in our booking (first name and address incorrect) but not a big problem. Our floor was the Napolean Floor, 4th floor and we had artwork by Salvadore Dali along our hallways. We stayed here with our 11 year old daughter.
Easy walk to train station and only 20 minutes from Monte Carlo by train. We were originally staying at Monte Carlo but booked out due to the grand prix. So glad we stayed at Nice instead. It's a wonderful place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited the Hotel Negresco on 17th May following a visit 2 years ago on our 10th Wedding Anniversary in which we booked a deluxe sea view room with breakfast. We had the most amazing experience in what is very unusual Palace Hotel. Our latest trip, however, did not meet our expectations in that our room on this occasion was very disappointing. We had booked a superior room and were told we had been upgraded to a partial sea view room. Unfortunately, the room had two very tiny single beds and when we asked why we had not been given the double room we had booked we were merely told that is what the agent had requested. I produced my booking voucher and nowhere on it did it mention a twin room. We spent the night in the tiny beds and the next day after a very uncomfortable night, were offered a lower grade room in which two single mattresses had been pushed together on a king sized frame creating a makeshift double bed. Another sleepless night for us both as the mattresses sloped towards the centre. The hotel has two restaurants and a bar. The Michellin starred restaurant - The Chantecler, which we visited last time was of a very high standard, however, La Rotunde, the second restaurant in which breakfast was served desperately needs some attention. The food is awful - scrambled eggs are like a wet stodge, the cold buffet food is very sad and the service, whilst very pleasant, is very hit and miss. However, the round restaurant has been fitted out like a carousel, complete with horses that rise and fall, it is very quirky. The staff without exception, are all extremely pleasant and try to be helpful even though they don't always get it right. The hotel bar is very good although very expensive but that is to be expected in Nice on the Cote d'Azure. The pianist, Nils, who played each night was good fun and definitely an asset; the bar staff were great. We used room service one night and it was very good quality food which was fresh and hot. The hotel itself is packed with art, including bronze sculptures and works by Matisse and photographs with the owner Mme Augier and Salvador Dali. There are mannequins dotted around which can be a little weird but it is all part of the quirkiness of it. It is one of the most interesting hotels at which I have ever stayed and would keep going back there but only if a Deluxe room with a sea view were available. Ninette P, West Midlands, UK

Room Tip: Higher floors are better rooms. Avoid twin bedded rooms - the beds are very narrow. Deluxe sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, Kent.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

There are many and mixed reviews of this hotel, which being so very very French is not surprising. To get the minor negatives out of the way, perhaps a hotel of such unashamed grandeur should not be judged by the quality of it's toilet paper and breakfasts, but alas they both fall woefully short of the mark and it is surprising that over time the management, who must be well aware of this, have done nothing about darning the hole in her stocking! La Rotonde where breakfast is taken is a veritable feast for the eyes, modelled on a fairground carousel, but little else. Crowded, uncomfortable, and lamentable food with little choice befits more a cheap one star B and B than a five star hotel. At 30 euros a bash it is very poor value and they will be pleased to relieve you of some more euro's should you wish to go to the dizzy heights of ordering an omelette. The carpet in the main lift, a joy in every other way, was spoilt by the filthiest carpet I have seen in a hotel of any standard in many a long year.
That said, we found the rest of the experience very enjoyable. Our room, as part of a package en route to the Monaco Grand Prix, was not on the front overlooking the Promenade des Anglais, but into a rather dreary central atrium of little charm. This though has the distinct advantage of being perfectly quiet and peaceful. Having had a balcony room at the Westminster Hotel nearby we can attest to the wonderful views, but should you want some air at night then the six lanes of racetrack immediately below will not afford you much sleep...the choice is yours.
The size of our room for France was very large, well appointed, newly refurbished with marble bathroom and twin washbasins. Quirky has been used in relation to this hotel before and the decor from room to room certainly bears this out and the pushbutton mechanical light switches took a while to master. Beds large and comfy, if a little ornate.
All the public rooms are just splendidly beautiful. I suspect they have been newly refurbished for the centenary of the hotel. It is not surprising that many non residents and tour groups come into the hotel just to take in the amazing opulence of these rooms. Not to be missed also are the corridors, stacked with priceless treasures on every floor but all tastefully presented and the public toilets they are again something to gasp at the sheer splendour and artistry in their construction.
Our pockets were not deep enough to eat at the two star Michelin restaurant, but Nice is well served with restaurants of quality nearby at reasonable prices considering you are on the Cote d'Azur.
So there you have it, a really special hotel like no other and a pleasure to spend time away from the corporate styes of most five star chain hotels, so do go and try a short stay here, you won't forget it in a hurry.

Room Tip: Personally I would save some money to get a good nights sleep and pay less for an interior room. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pelicanproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Eight members of our family stayed at this hotel and we were not disappointed. This our first time to travel together and because of this amazing experience we are now planning future travels together. Fantastic location, gracious and accommodating staff, a boutique hotel that just sparks your imagination. Meeting the owner was an added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmaritess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

So many reviews of the Negresco but I would just say that the service we had was great, the hotel room was great, the place is worth visiting just to look around the interior really. The bed was v comfortable and unusually for France I think, the pillows were too. The only thing that let it down was the breakfast. 30 euros pp for a buffet breakfast that wasn't particularly good, along with cold coffee and cold bacon & eggs for him. The fruit salad wasn't up to much either. What a shame, we thought we spend the 60 euros for a waiter served special breakfast but never mind, it was fun to stay there anyway. HE was delighted at seeing the England manager in the foyer and the Ferrari's queued up outside!

Room Tip: it's worth paying for the partial sea view rooms at the very least
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moorlander a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing