We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel with a true history”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #18 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Hotel Negresco is the best in Nice the "play" area of France. Situated on the famous "Les Anglais" looking at the sea it has one of the finest addesses France has to offer. I warn though that the airport in Nice is not a nice experience, it reminds me of the Wellington airport in New Zealand. The pilot has to 'dump' the plane down quick & hard. The hotel is surely old world with old world charm. Excellent service. The restaurant quite stunning if you wish to pay a very high price. We did eat at a Michelin one star restaurant in the mountains nearby that was better.. The rooms of course are stylish old world but very comfortable and quiet even though the traffic outside is very heavy being the route to Monacco & Italy. The price, too much for what you get. However of you want old world charm, manners & style then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Just ask the check in desk if you can get high up & catch the wonderful view. They all have a/c...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amadeaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,387)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Negresco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Hotel is located in an amazing location just across from The Promendade des Anglais. The suites and its views of the Bay are stunning. The Hotel is kept very clean and the rooms are immaculate. The Hotel is elegant and has amazing art work. We found that the one area where the Hotel needs to significantly improve is in connection with service and staff. We found the hotel staff in general arrogant, tired and not interested in their guests with only a handful of the staff being actually helpful or pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LHW108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Negresco post cruise for 3 nights which i chose on purpose due to its history and reputation.

Following an excellent buffet breakfast (the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were divine) outside on the terrace at La Rotonde, we busied ourself studying the exhibits in and around the "Grand Salon" and it is fair to say that the ground floor area of this hotel is simply beautiful and breathtaking.

The reception staff were excellent and had our room ready by 11.00 am (it should have been 3 pm)

Thats kind of where it really fell down.
Our room which was a courtyard view (internal room), was really tired, worn and really needed refurbishing, especially the bathroom with peeling paintwork above the shower, which was not powerful enough!
However, the biggest problem is the "air - con" with a unit that is also a museum piece!
If you have a room that is decorated in "flock / fabric (padded) wallpaper" in an area that is enjoying 90 degrees of heat, what you really need is adequate air - con....Sadly no!
But the room was a nice size with a comfortable bed and a TV with plenty of UK Channels.

I must also thank the front desk as i asked them if they could accommodate me with a DVD player and they delivered and connected it for me within a few hours at no charge. (DVD`s werent offered in our grade of room)

Its fair to say that this hotel is simply fascinating with marvellous pictures and artwork in every corridoor, but in all fairness, despite its history, grandeur and prominence, there is no excuse for shoddy paintwork, worn carpets and old fashion shower arrangements in a hotel that is a member of the "Leading Hotels of the World" group.

This was the first time we had holidayed in Nice and its not really a place that we would hurry back to, but our stay at the Negresco will live long in our memory.

Room Tip: Make sure you have adequate air con before you agree to your room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the place to stay in Nice, a museum hotel by the sea, the whole reason you'd come to this town. Never run out of little discoveries in the hotel, be it an artifact or some secret passage, the food is great, service exceptional, and the location is perfect. You feel part of the old charm as you stroll the hotel grounds, and it's special.

Room Tip: Promenade view, of course
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction7, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
The Negresco is celebrating the centennial, and have so much to offer, such as the centennial exhibition, historical painting, antique furniture know all around the world.
We look forward to welcome you!!

Pierre Bord, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We did not know what to expect, except that it was one of the oldest establishments in Nice. Our room faced the Promenade and overlooked the hotel's al fresco bistro. And it was remarkably sound proof.

Walking along the corridors was like walking through a museum. On the ground level was this huge circular hall with old photographs on the walls of a circular corridor, and modernist artworks and scuptures lining the hall. We weren't sure how to react or respond but we took a lot of pictures.

Service was excellent and quietly dignified but the bell hops look out of place in old fashioned period court uniforms and ethnic faces.

The ambience in the bar was informal, with a very happy hotel resident standing next to the jazz pianist, waving his hands and trying to sing.

We had a fantastic breakfast at the hotel but unfortunately their famous in-house restaurant was not open for dinner that Monday.

Overall, it was an interesting experience for us at the Negesco. We are still not sure what sort of image the hotel wants to project. Maybe she doesn't care. She is after all the "grandest old dame" in town ?

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the promenade would be excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction7, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we look forward to welcoming you once again!

Pierre Bord, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

At short notice we had to arrange a one night stay in Nice and since I thought I'd never be spending a night in a hotel there again (as we have a house 90 minutes away) I opted for the Negresco. We got a great deal including half a bottle of champagne, which we planned on enjoying after visiting my father in hospital and going for a meal in Vieux Nice (the old town).

Upon arriving, our car was swiftly picked up and parked and check-in went painlessly. We then made our way up to a very kitsch, but somehow still gorgeous, room and unloaded our things while having a giggle at the bronze plated taps in the bathroom. The room was airy and light and had a great partial view of the Promenade des Anglais and the sea. We enjoyed just being able to spend the evening luxuriating in the room and got up late the next day before having a nice breakfast on the terrace and checking out and leaving our luggage for later pick up. The only two minor disappointments were the fact they started clearing away the breakfast buffet ten minutes early so we had to be quick and load up a couple of plates to take outside; and, secondly, the check-out process was painfully slow.

Would we recommend it? Definitely. It's just one of those fun once in a lifetime experiences that we'll always have great memories of and if you want a romantic night or weekend in Nice this would be a great choice of hotel..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is like sleeping in a museum. As far as we could see from only one night, they are everything they appear to be! Excellent service, friendly staff and great beach/beach club. The bar is a must visit, and so are the restaurants! We had a problem with the aircon in our room, that was fixed in a flash!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANicolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Hotel West End
#38 of 204 in Nice
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $216 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing