We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Nice has to offer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #14 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best Nice has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

What a fantastic hotel! Recently revamped, this iconic establishment has kept its charm and remained an independent hotel. It does not lack personality, and that's why I believe there are mixed reviews.

The hotel very generously upgraded us to a Napoleon suite, which was absolutely amazing. Charming, spacious, and equipped with a marvelous 180 degree view from the balcony - and a lavish red bathroom - what's not to adore!

The hotel area came with the house cat (check the pictures), something you don't tend to see in chain hotels. This is good example of the personality of Le Negresco - they play by different rules. If you want "sure", Negresco might not be for you.
The hotel hosts a beautiful art gallery on the ground floor, after the lobby. Well worth a small tour.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hennessyparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    513
    230
    125
    115
See reviews for
314
1,175
85
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I am a seasoned traveler, and fortunately I've been able to vacation abroad at least twice a year in the last ten years or so. I usually rely on Tripadvisor's ratings when selecting a hotel, but I am glad I did not chose the hotel in Nice by that criteria. It was the highlight of a 17-night vacation trip from Barcelona to Nice.

For the same or lower price than some 2-star hotels with good ratings, I reserved 2 rooms (travelling with wife, mother and sister) for 4 nights in last October, thru the hotel's website.

Upon arrival, (free) valet parking was available. Can't remember similar service elsewhere in this price range. When checking in, a pleasant surprise, we had been upgraded to the executive floor. The young lady at the desk leaded us to the newly renovated floor, where huge and beautiful rooms were waiting for us. Another plus was the executive lounge where a wide variety of drinks (wine, liquors, you name it) and snacks were available for free, for the whole length of our stay.

Apart from the rooms, the public areas of the hotel (from the lobby grand rooms to the restaurants and even the floor corridors) are beautifully decorated and packed it art objects. It made us feel as if we were guests at a palace, not a hotel.

Adding to this, with the beautiful weather that we were lucky to enjoy in mid-October (I even went to beach in front of the hotel), this was certainly a stay everyone in my travelling group will remember fondly for a long time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francisco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

I am puzzled by the differing opinions about this hotel. We had a very good stay. The staff was helpful and accommodating, getting our room ready as quickly as possible for our early arrival from New york. The room itself was lovely, overlooking the Mediterranean. The only complaint was a rather noisy air conditioner. The location is great. One walks right out and is by the sea. Vallet parking is free and they are very prompt bringing the car. Early booking brings the rate down so be sure and do that. Maybe that is the secret to making the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiree72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Some years ago i decided to came to Nice for a first time.The question where to stay was answered very quickly.Ofcourse,in Negresco! Hotel -Legend! Easy booking and iam there.
First disappointment faced me infront hotel. No doorman! And i was hardly pushing my very heavy bag up several steps. Nobody came out to help with lugguage or even open the door. Even i find out the doorman inside hall doing nothing.Reception was absolutely empty for about 5 -7min,when someone from staff come back it was spend about 10 more minutes before they start to assist me. Hotel fabulous with a lot of paintings and antique decorations and sculptures. very clean. Rooms are big and nice designed.Bathroom looks like you jump from 5 star hotel to 2 star in 1sec.
Breakfast was poor.But its normal for France.
Another biggest disappointment was my launch in hotel restaurant La Rotonde. It was only group of 3 visitors when i come there.All other tables were free.So,i set and start to wait. I was very polite to wait 10min to get list of menu.Next 10 min i tried to catch attention of waitress. When i stop one of 2 waitress by the hand asking to serve me-her answer was- "Sorry,iam too busy now to serve you! I have my boss seating there and i need to serve him.You need to wait!" Imagine- i was pissed off!!!!! Nobody in my life let themself to treat customer in such rude way! I went directly to her boss and explain what i feel about their service.

Never ever again to this hotel! The disgusting dish hides itself under the beautiful wrapper of candy!!! :-((

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lana X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Negresco must be the most photographed building on the Promenade des Anglais, and it certainly is a sight, especially when lit up at night. I suspect we wound up in a few images when looking out of our balcony! The hotel has a very interesting and imposing main hall, full of art and dominated by a huge chandelier. The art sets the tone for the rest of the hotel, where each floor has a theme and is finished accordingly. This does make for a unique theme to the place and certainly makes a walk around your accommodation worthwhile.

We took an upgrade to a room with a sea view, worth it in my opinion to enjoy the view over the sea & Promenade. The room was of a decent size, if not exactly palatial. The en-suite included a large bath and was well sized overall.

The downside to the place was that it looked like the refresh hadn’t worked its way to our floor. The hallway carpet was approaching threadbare outside one room, the bathroom fittings were chipped in a couple of places and there was an air of ageing here and there.

In mitigation it’s worth bearing in mind the privately owned building is approaching its centenary and for example with the wardrobe I believe the age of the furniture is not a problem (still worked just fine), adding to the air of the place. Where it doesn’t work is the bathroom where a newer feel would be expected of a 5* hotel. The hall carpets appeared to be custom made by a noted designer, so spare panels won’t exactly be at the carpet store on the ring road... but these do need looking at. Inside the bedroom, the ambience was as expected with a luxurious French feel, deep carpets and a comfortable bed.

Finally, mention must go the food which was every bit as good as you would expect from a place with a good Michelin listing. The main restaurant, Le Chantecler, is superb but has a price tag to match the Michelin stars on the Cote d’Azur (tread carefully if going a la Carte); the Sunday lunch is the best value and was busy as a result (book in advance and then remember to confirm the day before). The smaller Le Rotonde also serves good food at a significantly more reasonable price – eating on the terrace in good weather is a pleasant way to end the day.

We would stay again without doubt, but it isn’t cheap and if your perfect hotel is all new with fittings of brushed chrome and brown leather furniture, then this won’t be for you. I was prepared to overlook the minor details for the character of the place and the superb location; with this in mind we loved it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BsidetheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Having seen the Negresco several times and having read many reviews we were not sure what to expect.
We arrived at the hotel around 1.30PM. There were 3 people in front of us checking in and 1 girl on the reception. Checked in after @20 minutes but were advised that our rooms weren't ready (as were the 2 people in front of us). They would take our bags but the room wouldn't be ready until 3.00PM as advertised. We had left home quite early with the intention of getting to the hotel, changing and having a quick wash before having lunch.As it was we had to stay unwashed in our (warm) travelling clothes as temperatures neared 27 deg. Found a shady bar with some breeze on the beach so not a major problem.
We went back to the hotel around 3.30pm - our room was ready and we were escorted to it. Room 359 was on the 3rd floor at the top of the stairs opposite the lift. Despite the location it was a surprisingly quiet area. We were told that our luggage would arrive shortly.After an hour it still hadn't arrive.Rang through to reception and it arrived shortly after.The room was much bigger than we'd anticipated with a large bathroom and separate toilet.All of the furnishings were period but not at the expense of cleanliness as on the whole everything was clean and dust free.
The room had a 'courtyard' view which in fact looked over the internal dome.The area was very quiet outside. The visible perimeter of the roof has planters placed around it although unfortunately these were unkempt and hadn't been cared for or planted in months/years. This would have added considerably to the overall vista.
The wardrobe was extremely spacious with lots of coat hanger. I know that the bed was original but it was very short and my feet hung over the bottom every night (I'm 5' 8).The shower was very good as were the towells and the robes although I though that the large sign warning of the penalty for 'misplacing' these was unnessecary.
The bathroom cosmetics were great but i have no idea why they've stuck with the original toilet paper - old fashioned squares of tracing paper! The shower did have either a lot of mould or mould staining on the grouting though this wasn't too noticable as it blended in with the marble tiles.
All of the communal flooring areas and corridoors are stunningly decorated albiet not to everone's taste.
We thought that 30 euros each for the breakfast buffet was a little expensive especially with so many great french cafes close by. We went for breakfast just once. I had an omlette of 10 euros which had egg shell in. My wife had fried egg and toast for 10 euros. The 'toast' was still white and barely warm, the egg was very running despite asking for it to be firm.It also contained egg shell.We were thinking about lunch at this restaurant but decided that if they couldn't manage an egg then we wouldn't bother.The staff in the breakfast room were quite nice though.The staff in general were also good on the whole.The maids were especially friendly.I did ask the consierge whether you needed to buy tickets in advance for the tram.He said that you didn't and that you pay the driver. You don't - you have to get the ticket from a machine located by the tram stops.We only found this out when we got onto the tram with several people to find no driver available.Obviously the consierge doesn't travel by tram.Try it - its great.
So in short a beautiful old iconic hotel,beautiful inside and out but could do with thinking about their customers if they are to remain top class

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We were just in the lobby this time araound but I have to say we were very impressed with how they are keeping the hotel clean and well maintained - which does NOT mean up to date. It means reupholstering (beautifully) the chairs and chaises keeping the ambience the way it should be. Love this place. The chandelier is amazing!! Highly recommend Chantecler to eat.- Pricey but the best service anywhere.

Pop in for a quick look around. Just pretend to belong and walk right in and have a walk about.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyJudyJudyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing