We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spur of the moment surprise”
Review of La Belle Excuse - CLOSED

La Belle Excuse
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Musiciens
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A lovely spur of the moment surprise”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

OK I got it wrong again, I should have called ahead and fell victim to Nice off-season restaurants ~ these guys close when they want to!
Le Belle Excuse was nearby and Luc Salsedo was closed so we walked-in. Despite sitting outside (when the action was in-side), the service was warm and attentive. This is clearly a popular local restaurant. The plat de jour was good and great value. I had boiled calamari in a spicy sauce (tender and very tasty) and my companion had duck, which was juicy and enjoyed in a traditional mustard sauce.
I am sure that we will be back soon to experience an evening meal at this great find.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rothenburg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Creative and delicious food in a calm setting”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Very nice setting at this restaurant next to the Carlton Hotel. Starters, main courses and deserts were outstanding (both on the fish and on the meat side). The prices are very correct fot the delivered quality and the service is very attentive.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Motivita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Nice service, poor food”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

An interesting menu was the main reason for visiting this restaurant. And the location; at the wounderful Boulevard Victor Hugo. On the positive side: A modern, nice restaurant with light colours and good service. The problem was the food. The name of the starter was the only positive thing to say about the first course; Ananas creole. Why making a salad out of a lot of ingredients that do not match each other and without any finish at all?. The main course (risotto artichoke) had the same problem; an ordinary risotto and the artichokes were without taste. The desert was better, an innovative combination of creme brulee and chocolate fondant. However, the taste of the fondant was much to strong, so the creme brulee more or less "disappeared". 56 euro for three courses (one person) and to glasses of wine were at least 15-20 euro too much compeared with the quality of the food. A rather ordinary restaurant. As an other guest wrote; get a new chef!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oystein I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A pretty restaurant with nice food.”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had a lunch here, 15€ for two courses (dishes of the day) 4€ for a glass of rosé (average quality). Perhaps the dinner is more elaborate, the lunch was simple cooking. We had prosciutto and melon for starter, sea bream for main and tiramisu flavored ice cream for dessert. With lemon and some added salt&pepper the fish was tasty. Garnish salad was very nice due to it's good dressing. Otherwise the food was very basic, ok. If you want decent basic food in a clean and stylish restaurant, this is a good choice. We left with a happy feeling, the service had been nice.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 701 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Absolutely fabulous restaurant just away from the main streets. Food is excellent, service is perfect! French kitchen - properly!!)) 5!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Excuse also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing