We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best pizza !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Amoureux

Les Amoureux
Ranked #4 of 1,866 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris, France
2 reviews
“The best pizza !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

No trip to nice is complete without pizza at les amoureux. Be sure to make reservations because they are always full. On tuesday night while every other restaurant was empty, they were full with people waiting . Well worth the wait!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindamcpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    233
    60
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
2 reviews
“Owner is a Pizza lover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good pizza made of good and fresh ingredients, owner who is the pizzaiolo is a real pizza lover. We have tested the smoked Mozarella cheese, sooo good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fabrice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Nice, but….”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Restaurants serving pizza are seriously a dime a dozen here in Nice, however those serving a well-made pie are few and far between. The pizza here is definitely better than most; to be honest it is GOOD for Nice.

To begin with, forget about walking in! We tried 4 different nights (weekday nights!!!) to get a table, but the place was always booked full. It was completely futile to pass by hoping for a table, so after the first time we also tried calling. NADA. Always either no response or no space. Finally, after our 4th try, we got a reservation!!!! Yay!

The menu is quite extensive, featuring various antipasti, dolci and of course, pizza. We skipped the antipasti to have room for the pizza. Being adventurous, we both decided on the ….Margherita! (Kidding, this is the way I judge the quality of a pizza, going with the simplest pizza) The wait was absolutely excruciating! The small restaurant was a little more than half full and we waited about 45 minutes for our pizzas. Crazy since anyone who knows pizza knows that a woodburing oven spits them out in 3-4 minutes. (A wait like that in Naples and we would have already been outta there!) The pizzas arrive and they are good. Good, but not great. They are pretty thick and unfortunately the sauce is rather insipid. The quality of the ingredients seems to be good though.

(N.B.: It seems for the ladies, they serve a heart shaped pizza. Seriously? The dough got all bunched up so the sauce/dough/cheese ratio was off. Yeah its only a small portion of the pizza, but I guess I prefer a round pizza to the "cute-factor" heart.)

The menu is filled with crazy variations of pizzas, with an emphasis on typical Neapolitan ingredients. The margherita cost 9-10 euro, non-traditional pizzas' prices went up to about 15 euro if I remember correctly. So, yeah, if you are comparing it to a pizzeria in Naples, the prices are through the roof, but compared to other pizza places in Nice, they price is the same, if not cheaper than some establishments.

The owner was quite nice; he spent a good chunk of time talking to us and telling jokes. The interior of the restaurant is super small. It is decorated with various Napoli-abilia. Simple, but effective. Makes you feel like you are in Naples when you've got Diego looking down on you from old newspaper clippings. :)

If you can get in and are hungry for a rather authentic pizza, this is the place to go in Nice. Having said that, I don't think Id personally go out of my way and go through the hassle to reserve here again unless I am really desperate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spekyweky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Excellent Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was recently in Nice and asked around for the best Italien pizza in town.
No doubt about it. This place, while simple in appearance, has wonderful food and service.
That's all I need. For the few that might not have given a rave review I assume it's because they are not used to the real Italian way of clumsily throwing some cheese and basil on it.
Sweet smiles and great pizza and no pretension.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jhager3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lucky to Live Near Les Amoureux !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A little over two years ago I wrote my first TA review ever after visiting Les Amoureux as a tourist. I now have the great fortune to not only live in Nice but just a very short distance from this absolutely fantastic restaurant. My local French and Italian friends and I eat here at least once a week and the pizza seems to get better and better. Last night I brought to Italian-American visitors from NYC to try it and they concurred it was the best pizza they had ever tasted. Bravo Ivan and Monica!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NiceGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Amoureux also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Amoureux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing